We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good friendly service can't make up for tasteless bland food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Paraiso Family Mexican Restaurant

El Paraiso Family Mexican Restaurant
112 S Main St, Gunnison, CO 81230-2333
970-641-4957
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 46 Restaurants in Gunnison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Email them at elparaisofamilymexicanrestaurant@hotmail.com Best meal we had in Gunnison; great food, prices and service Gunnison
Restaurant details
Description: Email them at elparaisofamilymexicanrestaurant@hotmail.com Best meal we had in Gunnison; great food, prices and service Gunnison
Colorado
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good friendly service can't make up for tasteless bland food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The staff is always very friendly and smiling, but the food is simply mush with no flavor. It is always cooked technically well and the portions are nice. The food seems fresh as the restaurant is often busy, but there is virtually no salt and no spice, something that should be easy for Mexican food. I'm not a crazy spicy food nut either, I mainly like my spice mild to medium, but not non-existant. I NEVER add salt to restaurant food. I hadn't EVER used a salt shaker until I went to El Paraiso, but without a little help, the tortilla soup was as bland as warm water. The staff will leave you smiling, and if you like your Mexican food nice and bland, this may be the place for you, but anybody who likes flavor will be sorely disappointed. That said, the decor and patio are charming.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crested Butte, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Gunnison!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

There aren't a lot of restaurants in Gunnison that we go to but we keep going back to El Paraiso b/c the food is consistently good, the staff is awesome, and in the summer they have a great outdoor seating area. Its not too expensive and they have great drink specials during happy hour.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

There is a plethora of Mexican restaurants in Gunnison, and we visited several. However, we found this one to be the standout in terms of food quality, and especially pricing and service. Reynoldo was outstanding!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice Little Restaurant in Gunnison”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This was an "okay" Mexican Restaurant. I've certainly had better, but this is pretty good for a mountain town. I would eat here again, but it's nothing to write home about. Pretty generic menu.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Mexican food in town!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

The staff is always welcoming and very prompt! Love the mango margaritas and sitting out on their brand new patio! If it's chilly just take a seat in one of their cozy booths! And don't pass up their chicken tortilla soup, best I ever had!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Paraiso Family Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Paraiso Family Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Paraiso Family Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.