We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad and Good!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Homestead

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Homestead to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Homestead
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 South Homestead Boulevard (US 1), Homestead, FL 33030   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Homestead
Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Bad and Good!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2005

Stayed here during springbreak and ended up paying $110/night. Breakfast was a joke and so is the hotel. Think medeival England in a dungeon. Nice staff and it was quiet. Will never stay here again.
They call the hotel gateway to the keys. I would call it a turist trap.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    36
    42
    46
    48
See reviews for
41
55
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2005

We paid $55/nite including taxes and breakfast...what can you expect? Yes, the breakfast nook is hard to find and not very clean (really need to wash the tables after each morning) but pretty average foods (juice, coffee, cereal, toast, muffins, pastry, bagels) for a continental breakfast and perfect for our busy, noisy boys. I felt fine walking in just rising without showering and "proper". The hotel has quite a relaxed atmosphere. The garden area was a bonus with the kids...they could run around outside while we planned our day. The hotel is very central to the Keys, Everglades, and Miami...we found everything within a very reasonable distance. Also a Wal-Mart and Outlet Mall right up the street. The staff? I thought they were all fine. Some more friendly than others, but all helpful when I asked questions or to borrow items. They remembered us after a couple days and asked how our day trips had been. The room...fine, but the bedding was not as clean as I would have liked. Still, beds weren't sagging, there was a fridge and microwave and closet space. The rooms really could use a thorough cleaning.
If you are looking for a cheap place to crash exploring the Miami area, this is a good choice. If you're looking for luxury, better plan to spend a lot more and search elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2005

This was a terrible start to our holiday in Florida spending even one night at this place was a bad mistake. Thankfully this was the only place we would never visit again and has made us vow that no matter how tired and exhausted we feel we would continue our journey rather than stay at another Days Inn Motel. It was horrible.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
189 hotel reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
775 helpful votes 775 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2005

I used this hotel twice for a starting point towards the Keys after landing at Miami. I did get a great rate (42 $), but that was probably the only thing great besides the location about this hotel. The front desk was not very friendly, we had a trouble with our door lock that wouldn't open and they were not very interested in solving the situation. The rooms need renovation! The hotel is noisy. The continental breakfast is very poor and not particularly tasty. Well, but for 42$ on the doormat of Florida Keys I could not have expected much more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2004

The Days Inn at Homestead, Florida was one of the most unpleasant hotel experiences I've had, starting with the conversation I had trying to get directions to the hotel and finishing with our "continental breakfast". The entire place needs scraped and painted, the ice machine barely works (1 for the entire hotel), there were bugs in our room and a nearly overflowing toilet. I had to remind the staff of my AAA discount at check-in, and again at check-out. The breakfast was in an unlit portion of a bar, and consisted of little more than bread and water. This property looks like it was once a very nice place, and could be restored to that condition again with a little effort. But the staff definitely needs some work on their customer service skills. I got the feeling they really didn't care how satisfied we were or weren't. Very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2003

The hotel staff upon check in were friendly and polite and suggested an excellent seafood restaurant close to the hotel.

Given that this hotel has been completely refurbished in the last two years the decor and cleanliness leaves a little to be desired. There were stains on the carpets and bedding and didn't meet standards of cleanliness that we had find in other chain hotels in Florida.

The hotel was quite noisy and we were woken up several times during the night by other guests, cars driving round the car park etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Homestead

Address: 51 South Homestead Boulevard (US 1), Homestead, FL 33030
Location: United States > Florida > Homestead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Homestead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Homestead 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Homestead Hotel Homestead
Homestead Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.