We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can stand the smell and taste of drinks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Corral Buffet and Grill

Golden Corral Buffet and Grill
33525 S Dixie Hwy, Homestead, FL 33034
305 246 8699
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 144 Restaurants in Homestead
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Midlothian,t
Level Contributor
145 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“If you can stand the smell and taste of drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stopped in here late afternoon of the 5th of June
As we walked in the door a really bad smell hit us in the face. It smelled kind of like raw sewage or similar. We saw a lot of people eating and the longer we were there the duller the smell got to the point it was bearable
We order un sweet tea and get sweet, which was exchanged and it was even worse than the sweet. We then ordered sodas and they were some better but even they had the taste of the smell in the building. We thought the whole town may be this way due to water table or it was the ice. The food was ok and may be more of our not living in the area so meals are made differently
We get back to the motel and I get water and ice and both are perfectly fine had no problem at all
Something in the restaurant is the problem
I would not go back and try again here is the reasons and why a poor review
A local motel has a deal with a lot of the nearby eating places that will give you a 10 to 20 % discount on your meal, not Golden Corral
They are really getting expensive even for seniors
The bad smell, the bad drink taste and the wait time to get a steak
Waitress could not keep track of refills had to constantly ask her over and over
Just be cautious if the smell is bad it will be in the drink as well

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    27
    17
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian,t
Level Contributor
145 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“If you can get past the smell and bad drinks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stopped in here on 5th of June 2014
As we walked in there was a very noticeable odor ,it slowly died to a dull smell after a bit but never completely went away
We ordered unsweet tea and got sweet instead ,tried it any way and if you like sweet tea it was just right. The mistake was telling the girl it should have been un sweet. She was very nice and exchanged with us the unsweet was terrible
We get a table and tell the waitress to bring us a soda .That was not much better they had a bad taste as well but we were able to get them down with a meal
The waitress was slow to come around but very friendly
The wife ordered a coffee at the end of her meal to go along with a dessert. We are still waiting on it . Her tip went down to a smaller amount
We really thought it may have just been the water for the area as some towns have bad water
We get back to our motel and tried the water there as well as the ice and both were fine
I am not sure what the smell was but it and the taste of the drinks go hand in hand
The food was ok but not great ,again the smell played a big part
I just have a feeling this is not an isolated incident.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

For a family of 6 this is the place to go! Breakfast was fantastic. Everyone can choose what they like! Plenty of options at this buffet style restaurant. Loved the biscuits and gravy. The cost was reasonable. Bathrooms need to be cleaner. Restaurant's carpet could use a cleaning. Breakfast only available on the weekends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“golden corral is golden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

the food is inexpensive and there is a tremendous variety of meats, salads, vegetables and desserts. Everyone should be able to find something here to eat. It is al presented nicely as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Standard Golden Corral”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

It is a chain restaurant buffet. Good food and plenty of it. It use to cost 9 or 10 dollars. Now it is $16 plus and that's with a senior citizen discount. It served its purpose of a meal after a long days travel.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral Buffet and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Golden Corral Buffet and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Corral Buffet and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.