We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Work” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Keys Gate Golf Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Keys Gate Golf Club
2300 SE Palm Drive, Homestead, FL 33035
1-305-230-0362
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 7 Activities in Homestead
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Attraction details
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Needs Work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I played this course recently and must say I was a little disappointed. The course was in pretty rough shape. The price was cheap and yet still overpriced for the condition of the course. Hopefully the management will read this and work at making major improvements.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    0
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tavernier, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ok for the money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I'm not an avid golfer, just a casual player, but I've played nice courses. I play here from time to time with some friends from the Upper Keys. The greens and fairways are riddled with sand fill from divots, but the course plays well enough. The rest of the amenities I've used are in good shape. The young man in the pro shop seems nice enough, but when its busy he's not enough to handle it alone.

The snack bar is a mess. The girl behind the counter for lunch seems surprised every time It fills up for lunch. She's nice, but I'd guess she doesn't come from an F&B background. We always wait and it's never very good; but a guy's gotta eat (you can't bring anything in with you). Eat a big breakfast if you can and stop somewhere else for lunch if you're only playing 18.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Needs work”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Very little grass on fairway and greens, very poor playable, not worth the money even at 20 dollars I paid 45 because it was a holiday. I should have asked for my money back. It is in the worst shape I have seen in 10 years. Won't go back for a long time.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Needs Maintenance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had not played Keys Gate in a while and because their rates (green fees) are the lowest around thought I'd give it a try. I now understand why. Came away pretty disappointed with the all around condition of the course. Although there has been a lot of rain in South Florida lately the greens were very dry and patchy, fairways were in decent shape but had numerous bare spots and some of the tee boxes were literally bare of grass. This course has a great layout and could be a great place to play but a golfer, novice or advanced, doesn't want to see greenside bunkers with more weeds than sand. I understand that management has changed but if the new managers want return business I'd suggest they invest some cash in maintenance.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A nice well maintained and playable golf course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Keys Gate has been around for many years and it remains a nice course that can be challenging but also playable if you are an average golfer. We played twice during our visit in February 2013. Miami had not had any rain for 3 months so the course was stressed. But most of the greens were well green and the landscaping looked good and the water features had plenty of water! The surrounding houses are well maintained, the carts are clean and in good shape and the course comfort stations are very nice. The staff are all very nice and friendly. The restaurant is looking a little dated but the snack we had was good and the service was great.
The Homestead national guard has a base near by and it was fun to watch the planes practice touch and goes. The race track is also nearby and Homestead has really grown so there are lots of restaurants and shopping nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keys Gate Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Keys Gate Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keys Gate Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.