We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Farms B&B Farm Stay

Paradise Farms B&B Farm Stay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homestead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Farms B&B Farm Stay
19801 SW 318 Street, Homestead, FL 33030   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just returned from this B&B and I have to say people were very nice but the facility is very dated and in run down condition. Screen doors had holes that were repaired with duct tape.
Pool was not clean. Additionally the Homestead area is unfortunately not very nice either.
Several bright spots were the Schnebly winery which was very good for wine and beer tastings and the Ernest Coe Everglades area which is run by terrific Park Rangers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This B&B was such an unexpected surprise! We absolutely loved it. Where to start......first with a farm tour, including edible flowers. We stayed in the guest house and we loved the openess of it. Gabriele is a wonderful host and we so looked forward to the morning breakfast and chatting with her and fellow guests. The food was all healthy and the micro greens are out of this world good. The coffee was incredible.

We enjoyed the tropical setting around the breakfast table and the natural pool was relaxing to hang out by to read or drink wine. (nearby Schnebly winery). While this is an ecelectic experience and this place might not be for everyone, it happened to be one of our most relaxing and enjoyable stays.

This was perfectly located for an Everglades vacation, five miles from the park entrance. Also close to Robert Is Here, which is handy to pick up healthy snacks for spending the day in the park. Closeby to Homestead for restaurants.

Thanks to Gabriele, Rebecca and Tom for your hospitality and for making our stay a true pleasure! We learned a lot about the farm, the local area and food during our stay. Great info and conversation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a wonderful find. Our stay was different from any other B&B we had experienced. We so enjoyed the peaceful energy of the farm- we arrived tired and stressed and as Gabriele showed us around the stress melted away. We loved being amongst the lush tropical growth and walking around. The breakfasts were great and Gabriele was an excellent host. We love camping in the summer in Europe so staying in a wooden bungalow amongst the trees was the perfect experience for us. We were able to visit the southern section of the Everglades and saw abundant wildlife and we were able to explore the Keys during our stay. We would love to return and stay here again - it is a very special place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Paradise Farms is a working organic, fruit, and edible flower farm. We had an absolutely great stay. Highlights included sampling fresh ripe starfruit from the trees and arugula right from the vegetable bed (it was past avocado time and mangos were just blooming...at different times of year, you'd have that instead) and drinking wine with fellow guests in the garden pavilion late into the night. Charming owner. Breakfast in the garden by the pool under the trees. A ton more memorable than chain hotels and motels, which is what you'll otherwise find in the area.

However, don't come here with wrong expectations. This is not a fancy boutique hotel. The two less expensive rooms are smack dab in the middle of the land. They're not large. And you either use a composting toilet or walk across the farm - with a flashlight - to the office to use the full bathroom. Entertainment is sitting outside under the stars (there is wifi).

If - like us - you're perfectly happy to camp while travelling, just didn't feel like schlepping your camping gear down from wherever you came from, and want to really experience outdoor and rural Florida, it's a wonderful place and one you'll remember. If you're looking for Miami Beach on the cheap, or a no-surprises anonymous hotel/motel room, this ain't it (though the more expensive room in the lower level of the house is less camping-like).

Room Tip: Zen is probably best room. The downstairs room in the house is the most conventional/boring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vero beach, fl
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

While conveniently situated shooting distance from Miami this lush tropical setting takes you to a place that you would have to replicate by flying to Costa Rica

Be amazed by the inventive gardening , bee keeping , and mushroom caverns procreating a plethora of varieties

. Owner Gabriele knows all the treking paths, Tom will prepare you organic juices or smoothies. Breakfast with just picked fruits and farm made flower teas organic coffee and I could go on.

You Eco cabin is surrounded by a tropical wonderland if you want to de-stress and nurture body and soul come here

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris, france
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This is definitely for those of us seeking eco-friendly lodging off the beaten path: set in a sizeable organic farm (lush tropical green setting),

Paradise Farms walk the talk and strive to minimize their eco-impact.

The owners and employees are all very sweet and helpful. Breakfast is accompanied by fruits grown on the farm and the table is set next to their natural swiming pool (opens in springtime).

Paradise Farms are conveniently located approximately 5 miles from the Eastern Everglades National Parak Entrance and a great place to stop on the way to the Keys (though not set-up to host young children).

If you come and stay, make sure and eat at the Chefs on the Run restaurant in Homestead 320 SW Ave): it is run by an engaging young couple whose menu is made up of food based on locally sourced products.

Have eco-fun :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradise Farms B&B Farm Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Farms B&B Farm Stay

Address: 19801 SW 318 Street, Homestead, FL 33030
Location: United States > Florida > Homestead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty lodging in Homestead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Farms B&B Farm Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Paradise Farms B&B Farm Stay to your Saves list