We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Redland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Redland to your Saves list
The Hotel Redland
5 S. Flagler Avenue, Homestead, FL 33030   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Homestead
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We booked a room at The Redland because of its proximity to Everglades N.P. We were a little put off by the neighborhood, but the off-street parking was reassuring. The hotel is clean, quiet and charming as it is decorated with many historical artifacts and is the oldest buildings in the area. It was the very best value of any of the five places we stayed on our 11 day trip to Florida.
The host, Mark Bell, goes out of his way to create a B and B feel in his comfortable,ten room hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    23
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
54
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We spent last week end there and had a very nice stay. Everyone there was very nice and always ask if we needed anything. The room was clean and comfortable and had a homey feel. We ate dinner there one night and it was good (home cooking). I would stay there agin if in the area.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda, md
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Mark was thoughtful and helpful in many ways. First, as our overall trip plans changed, he moved our reservation three times. My husband has a mobility problem that affects his balance, so we chose the ground floor ADA room. The access was excellent and Mark allowed us to park our popup camper inside the private fenced parking area. The shower had grab bars and plenty of room for a wheelchair, but my husband uses a walking stick and has trouble standing. When I mentioned the problem to Mark, he immediately went out and purchased a shower chair. We enjoyed our two day stay and a dinner at the Whistle Stop. We loved the Fruit and Spice Park and the fruit milkshakes at Robert Is Here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Located in the heart of the "old" part of Homestead, at the intersection of going and gone is a hotel that goes unnoticed. Don't make the mistake of not noticing. Charming with a tiny bit of run down, The Hotel Redland offers quiet, warm accommodations for visitors who shy away from the "box hotels". The secure parking lot behind the hotel welcomes the patrons to step inside to register. Once inside, the owners and staff are friendly and even paced. One gets confused, if the hotel is a hotel or a B&B? Once checked in, the room was found clean and EXTREMELY QUIET - all three nights were undisturbed by outside noise.

The one thing that sets The Hotel Redland apart from its competition is its inside dining, the Whistlestop Cafe. We ate two of the three nights we stayed and wished we had eaten there the third night. From the chicken and dumplings to the key lime pie (the crust lined in dark chocolate), the food was outstanding. A full bar compliments the dining, as well as the courteous, friendly staff. Don't expect quick, pre-made food. Enjoy the experience, the staff and the patrons from afar while waiting for the home cooked food to fill your tummy. Then settle down for a quiet night's sleep.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

i personally believe that this hotel is unsanitary. the major of our towels had holes, sheets didn't smell fresh at all, unlike every other hotel there's absolutely no laundry facility to do self laundry, you should consider it, you can surely afford it.. not the best hotel in homestead...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We found the hotel when we stopped in their restaurant on our way south and booked in for the night on our way back north. In contrast to some other reviews, we found our room and common areas to be clean and full of various antiques to remind us of the hotel's age (1904?). A broken lamp in our room was quickly replaced, the bed was comfortable and the linens good.
Yes, it is quirky, but a refreshing change from the cookie cutter chains. It is also a wonderful place to stay if you are planning to visit the eastern part of the Everglades (which we were).
We will stay there again when we travel south.
We also found the breakfast more than 'basic' including juice, coffee, cereals, fruit, several different breads, jams, butter, etc.

Room Tip: We opted for a "balcony' room on the back of the hotel because we feared noise on the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
225 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We chose the Redland as the alternative to the many boring chain hotels that line US1 and quirky is the best way to describe it, as others have.

We enjoyed staying here but the place could do with a good deep clean. Our room and the public areas all needed attention.

We enjoyed talking with locals in the bar and the staff were lovely. The food was just about adequate and there is a basic breakfast included in the room rate.

This is an interesting historic hotel and with a little attention could be a real gem.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homestead
1.0 mi away
Floridian Hotel
Floridian Hotel
#4 of 16 in Homestead
3.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
2.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Homestead
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
2.4 mi away
Value Place Homestead - Miami
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Redland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Redland

Address: 5 S. Flagler Avenue, Homestead, FL 33030
Location: United States > Florida > Homestead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Homestead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Redland is an Historic hotel, built in 1904 it is the oldest building in The City of Homestead. We have 12 rooms 11 are located on the 2nd floor, the only hadicap room we have is located on the first floor. located inside the hotel on the first floor is a restaurant and bar called The Whistle Stop Restaurant. We are centraly located between The everglades National Park, The Florida Keys, and Biscayne National Park. This makes our place the perfect spot to stay as you explore South Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Redland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redland Hotel Homestead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Redland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.