We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Redland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Homestead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hotel Redland
5 S. Flagler Avenue, Homestead, FL 33030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Homestead
bethesda, md
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Gracious host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Mark was thoughtful and helpful in many ways. First, as our overall trip plans changed, he moved our reservation three times. My husband has a mobility problem that affects his balance, so we chose the ground floor ADA room. The access was excellent and Mark allowed us to park our popup camper inside the private fenced parking area. The shower had grab bars and plenty of room for a wheelchair, but my husband uses a walking stick and has trouble standing. When I mentioned the problem to Mark, he immediately went out and purchased a shower chair. We enjoyed our two day stay and a dinner at the Whistle Stop. We loved the Fruit and Spice Park and the fruit milkshakes at Robert Is Here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    18
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
40
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Located in the heart of the "old" part of Homestead, at the intersection of going and gone is a hotel that goes unnoticed. Don't make the mistake of not noticing. Charming with a tiny bit of run down, The Hotel Redland offers quiet, warm accommodations for visitors who shy away from the "box hotels". The secure parking lot behind the hotel welcomes the patrons to step inside to register. Once inside, the owners and staff are friendly and even paced. One gets confused, if the hotel is a hotel or a B&B? Once checked in, the room was found clean and EXTREMELY QUIET - all three nights were undisturbed by outside noise.

The one thing that sets The Hotel Redland apart from its competition is its inside dining, the Whistlestop Cafe. We ate two of the three nights we stayed and wished we had eaten there the third night. From the chicken and dumplings to the key lime pie (the crust lined in dark chocolate), the food was outstanding. A full bar compliments the dining, as well as the courteous, friendly staff. Don't expect quick, pre-made food. Enjoy the experience, the staff and the patrons from afar while waiting for the home cooked food to fill your tummy. Then settle down for a quiet night's sleep.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

i personally believe that this hotel is unsanitary. the major of our towels had holes, sheets didn't smell fresh at all, unlike every other hotel there's absolutely no laundry facility to do self laundry, you should consider it, you can surely afford it.. not the best hotel in homestead...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We found the hotel when we stopped in their restaurant on our way south and booked in for the night on our way back north. In contrast to some other reviews, we found our room and common areas to be clean and full of various antiques to remind us of the hotel's age (1904?). A broken lamp in our room was quickly replaced, the bed was comfortable and the linens good.
Yes, it is quirky, but a refreshing change from the cookie cutter chains. It is also a wonderful place to stay if you are planning to visit the eastern part of the Everglades (which we were).
We will stay there again when we travel south.
We also found the breakfast more than 'basic' including juice, coffee, cereals, fruit, several different breads, jams, butter, etc.

Room Tip: We opted for a "balcony' room on the back of the hotel because we feared noise on the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
201 hotel reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
417 helpful votes 417 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We chose the Redland as the alternative to the many boring chain hotels that line US1 and quirky is the best way to describe it, as others have.

We enjoyed staying here but the place could do with a good deep clean. Our room and the public areas all needed attention.

We enjoyed talking with locals in the bar and the staff were lovely. The food was just about adequate and there is a basic breakfast included in the room rate.

This is an interesting historic hotel and with a little attention could be a real gem.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Place was only moderately clean, nothing horrible but lots of room for attention to detail. The most unbelievable thing was that the sheets on the bed were thread-bare -- not completely through with holes but darned close. REALLY? -- you can't afford decent sheets for the price of the room?? We decided to eat in the restaurant, "waitress" completely forgot 1/2 of my order (soup) (which she also forgot at the next table), then got my main order wrong (sweet potato fries rather than just the sweet potato), and the rest of the food was mediocre at best. Location is not the best, but we knew that. Still, this place has potential, it's just not well managed and the staff is certainly not the cream of the crop. I'd suggest paying a little more and staying elsewhere unless you can tolerate above or there are no other choices (like sleeping in the car).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at The Hotel Redland, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
The is the first time in our two years in operation that I have had to respond to such a review! I waited to speak with staff and get the facts before responding! From the moment you walked in to the Hotel you were rude and demeaning. Absolutely nothing satisfied you.. Our bartender gave you the red wine you ordered and you did not like it! She then offered you a free beer in its place. You were extremely rude to the server, she did forget your soup and offered you a free desert to make you happy! The person who was so rude was the female guest not the male, he was pleasant. He did order sweet potato fries, the order was checked and confirmed. You waited until the completion of the meal to mention the fries. Our server still apologized and offered you something complimentary. Our server bent over backwards to make you happy and you left her 3 pennies. Never has this happened in her life!
We do not have threadbare sheets, and our hotel is very clean! We close every Monday and half a day Sunday for deep cleaning!
You also mention for the price you paid.. our rates are some of the most reasonable in town.
I spend my days striving to make our guests happy, sometimes that is just not possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We booked a night here because other reviews sounded interesting. We like a change from the big-name chain hotels now and then.

When we arrived we got off to a rough start. It was about 4PM Sunday and we couldn't find an open entrance door anywhere. When we called the hotel we got a recorded message from its restaurant which was closed. This gave us a cell phone number to call. When we did we talked to Mark, the hotel manager who explained that the entrance was in the rear of the hotel. Once we figured that out things got better in a hurry.

The hotel itself is very nice, its old but well cared for. The room was clean and nice, everything worked well, and we had a nice shared balcony where we met some other travelers and several cats who wander around the property. We spent some time talking about the hotel's long history with Mark who was very friendly and courteous.

The restaurant in the hotel was very pretty and it gets good reviews, unfortunately it was not open while we were there so we couldn't check it out.

There was a buffet breakfast that was OK but nothing special.

Room Tip: The hotel entrance is in the rear, park there and look for the "entrance" sign, what looks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Redland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Redland

Address: 5 S. Flagler Avenue, Homestead, FL 33030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Homestead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Homestead
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Redland is an Historic hotel, built in 1904 it is the oldest building in The City of Homestead. We have 12 rooms 11 are located on the 2nd floor, the only hadicap room we have is located on the first floor. located inside the hotel on the first floor is a restaurant and bar called The Whistle Stop Restaurant. We are centraly located between The everglades National Park, The Florida Keys, and Biscayne National Park. This makes our place the perfect spot to stay as you explore South Florida. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Redland Hotel Homestead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Redland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Hotel Redland to your Saves list