We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Redland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Hotel Redland to your Saves list
The Hotel Redland
5 S. Flagler Avenue, Homestead, FL 33030   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Homestead
North, South Carolina
1 review
“not the best”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

i personally believe that this hotel is unsanitary. the major of our towels had holes, sheets didn't smell fresh at all, unlike every other hotel there's absolutely no laundry facility to do self laundry, you should consider it, you can surely afford it.. not the best hotel in homestead...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen07141953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We found the hotel when we stopped in their restaurant on our way south and booked in for the night on our way back north. In contrast to some other reviews, we found our room and common areas to be clean and full of various antiques to remind us of the hotel's age (1904?). A broken lamp in our room was quickly replaced, the bed was comfortable and the linens good.
Yes, it is quirky, but a refreshing change from the cookie cutter chains. It is also a wonderful place to stay if you are planning to visit the eastern part of the Everglades (which we were).
We will stay there again when we travel south.
We also found the breakfast more than 'basic' including juice, coffee, cereals, fruit, several different breads, jams, butter, etc.

Room Tip: We opted for a "balcony' room on the back of the hotel because we feared noise on the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyjackathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
222 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We chose the Redland as the alternative to the many boring chain hotels that line US1 and quirky is the best way to describe it, as others have.

We enjoyed staying here but the place could do with a good deep clean. Our room and the public areas all needed attention.

We enjoyed talking with locals in the bar and the staff were lovely. The food was just about adequate and there is a basic breakfast included in the room rate.

This is an interesting historic hotel and with a little attention could be a real gem.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spineynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Place was only moderately clean, nothing horrible but lots of room for attention to detail. The most unbelievable thing was that the sheets on the bed were thread-bare -- not completely through with holes but darned close. REALLY? -- you can't afford decent sheets for the price of the room?? We decided to eat in the restaurant, "waitress" completely forgot 1/2 of my order (soup) (which she also forgot at the next table), then got my main order wrong (sweet potato fries rather than just the sweet potato), and the rest of the food was mediocre at best. Location is not the best, but we knew that. Still, this place has potential, it's just not well managed and the staff is certainly not the cream of the crop. I'd suggest paying a little more and staying elsewhere unless you can tolerate above or there are no other choices (like sleeping in the car).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteBarb_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at The Hotel Redland, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
The is the first time in our two years in operation that I have had to respond to such a review! I waited to speak with staff and get the facts before responding! From the moment you walked in to the Hotel you were rude and demeaning. Absolutely nothing satisfied you.. Our bartender gave you the red wine you ordered and you did not like it! She then offered you a free beer in its place. You were extremely rude to the server, she did forget your soup and offered you a free desert to make you happy! The person who was so rude was the female guest not the male, he was pleasant. He did order sweet potato fries, the order was checked and confirmed. You waited until the completion of the meal to mention the fries. Our server still apologized and offered you something complimentary. Our server bent over backwards to make you happy and you left her 3 pennies. Never has this happened in her life!
We do not have threadbare sheets, and our hotel is very clean! We close every Monday and half a day Sunday for deep cleaning!
You also mention for the price you paid.. our rates are some of the most reasonable in town.
I spend my days striving to make our guests happy, sometimes that is just not possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We booked a night here because other reviews sounded interesting. We like a change from the big-name chain hotels now and then.

When we arrived we got off to a rough start. It was about 4PM Sunday and we couldn't find an open entrance door anywhere. When we called the hotel we got a recorded message from its restaurant which was closed. This gave us a cell phone number to call. When we did we talked to Mark, the hotel manager who explained that the entrance was in the rear of the hotel. Once we figured that out things got better in a hurry.

The hotel itself is very nice, its old but well cared for. The room was clean and nice, everything worked well, and we had a nice shared balcony where we met some other travelers and several cats who wander around the property. We spent some time talking about the hotel's long history with Mark who was very friendly and courteous.

The restaurant in the hotel was very pretty and it gets good reviews, unfortunately it was not open while we were there so we couldn't check it out.

There was a buffet breakfast that was OK but nothing special.

Room Tip: The hotel entrance is in the rear, park there and look for the "entrance" sign, what looks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Great stay. Food reminds me of going to Grandmothers for an awesome Sunday lunch.
Located in the middle of two National Parks. Great B&B that has been updated bit has kept its 109 history intact. The owner is very helpful and available. Great find.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mickoonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed 2 nights over New Years and appreciated finding this reasonably priced hotel so close to the Everglades. The decor is definitely Great Aunt Gladys fabulous, clean and homey. Mark kindly allowed us to borrow 2 collapsible chairs we found for our day trip to Key West. Breakfast was a basic and satisfactory continental breakfast.

Our only two very nitpicky observations:
The wifi connection was intermittent at best at night when I imagine all the guests were online at the same time. We ended up just connecting our laptop to my phone for tethered internet when we wanted to watch a Netflix before bed.
The only thing we felt this hotel lacked that a chain hotel provides is a pay washer/dryer. There were several very close by but at the end of the day we didn't feel like spending the time at a laundromat. A small laundry room would be a great amenity.

Overall we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we were to return to the Everglades!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homestead
1.0 mi away
Floridian Hotel
Floridian Hotel
#4 of 16 in Homestead
3.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Miami Homestead
Courtyard Miami Homestead
#1 of 16 in Homestead
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 12 in Florida City
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Redland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Redland

Address: 5 S. Flagler Avenue, Homestead, FL 33030
Location: United States > Florida > Homestead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Homestead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Redland is an Historic hotel, built in 1904 it is the oldest building in The City of Homestead. We have 12 rooms 11 are located on the 2nd floor, the only hadicap room we have is located on the first floor. located inside the hotel on the first floor is a restaurant and bar called The Whistle Stop Restaurant. We are centraly located between The everglades National Park, The Florida Keys, and Biscayne National Park. This makes our place the perfect spot to stay as you explore South Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Hotel Redland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redland Hotel Homestead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing