We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel Redland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Redland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Homestead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hotel Redland
Save Saved
You added The Hotel Redland to your Saves list
5 S. Flagler Avenue, Homestead, FL 33030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Homestead
Sigourney, Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel Redland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a great historic hotel with lots of history. So much better than chain hotels, the owner is happy to help and share stories of his hotel and the area. He suggested places to go to and eat. Very quiet neighborhood not far from the main road and the Everglades National Park and Coral Castle. Clean Room, Internet Access, Refrigerator,TV and patio. Terrific place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at The Hotel Redland, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm so thrilled you enjoyed your stay,
We aim to please and I hope you can come back and visit us again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    18
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
40
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rowhedge, Essex
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Booked this hotel based on TA reviews and it deserves it's high ranking. So much better than a chain hotel, more like an old fashioned homely B&B with an interested, on site owner who goes the extra mile. My husband was unwell upon our arrival and I was immediately offered assistance to unpack our car. Our room was clean and comfortable, the air con quiet. We ate in on our first night, the food was really 'home cooked' the chicken soup was so good my husband started to feel better soon after.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back overlooking the car park, they are probably quieter, although the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at The Hotel Redland, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
I'm so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us,
I happy you loved the food so much! we pride ourselves in good home cooking!!
I hope you will come back and visit us again!!
Our chicken soup is better than penicillin :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We found this lovely hotel on Trip Advisor and booked it based upon the great reviews we read and we are very glad that we did. We were met by the owner, Mark, who took us to our room and later spent time to explain the history of this fine old hotel. If you are looking for a "cookie cutter" motel then this place is not for you, The room was clean and comfortable with television, telephone and a small apt. size refridgerator much like a modern hotel but at the same time exuded character only found in a bed and breakfast or historic hotel from a by gone era. The location of the hotel in the historic downtown and proximity to the Everglades Park via back roads iwere added bonuses. If we are ever to revisit Homestead we will look no further than this pleasant establishment.

Room Tip: Room 201 at the rear with patio door to balcony is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I just needed a quiet place to stay on my way to the keys. This place was perfect. It had a quaint feel like a bed and breakfast.
Clean and comfortable with a historic touch. The owner was very personable. This was just what I needed after staying in the big name hotels. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We reserved this hotel after reading the reviews, and it is everything they say. Mark, the owner checked us in and then walked upstairs with us to our room to ensure we were acquainted with the AC, the door locks, the rear entrance and balcony, etc. and that everything was satisfactory.
That's a first for us and we do a lot of traveling. We've never had an owner, manager, or anyone go that much above and beyond.
It is a very comfortable, well decorated, quaint hotel built in 1904.
We had a light fare in the Bar/Dinning Room before retiring and afterwards Mark answered our questions about some of the local history. He is very knowledgeable and friendly. We are here for 2 nights, and I am sure we will be coming back. It would be nice to sit on the front porch and enjoy nice conversation.

Room Tip: We asked for one of the rooms with a balcony. Our room has a rear entrance out to the balcony, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This historic hotel has a quaint feel and is in a quiet location. The room was well lit and had good AC and a fan over the bed. There was a large mini-fridge with freezer and a small table with two hard chairs. The common balcony was not appealing. We noticed little things that bothered us: no kleenex, no hand lotion, a stain on the sheets, no cups, no bath mat, a squeaky bathroom door that springs shut so that the bathroom gets very hot. The bed was fairly comfortable. The shower head was adequate and there was plenty of hot water. We had a good home-cooked dinner at the downstairs restaurant at a reasonable price, but we were disappointed in the key lime pie (not at all tart). There was a limited free continental breakfast of cold cereal, toast, and good fresh fruit.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This stop was a pleasant change from the Holiday Inn type hotels possessing history and individuality with an excellent host and good restaurant and bar attached. Unfortunately our room was a little noisy from an air conditioning unit nearby and a hairdryer and kettle would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Redland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Redland

Address: 5 S. Flagler Avenue, Homestead, FL 33030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Homestead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Homestead
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Redland is an Historic hotel, built in 1904 it is the oldest building in The City of Homestead. We have 12 rooms 11 are located on the 2nd floor, the only hadicap room we have is located on the first floor. located inside the hotel on the first floor is a restaurant and bar called The Whistle Stop Restaurant. We are centraly located between The everglades National Park, The Florida Keys, and Biscayne National Park. This makes our place the perfect spot to stay as you explore South Florida. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Redland Hotel Homestead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Redland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.