We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orchid lovers dream! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of R.F. Orchids

R.F. Orchids
28100 SW 182 Avenue, Homestead, FL 33030-1804
305-245-4570
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Shopping in Homestead
Attraction details
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Orchid lovers dream! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

A lovely stop in the growers district of Homestead. As an orchid grower and lover, this farm brought overwhelming joy to me! We only had time to visit for an hour, so didn't get to tour the private garden on the property. ...but the greenhouses were filled with so many varieties of orchids and other tropical plants that it would take all day to see everything. Prices are reasonable for orchids not available in my part of the southeast. A picture takers dream.. Part of a little agricultural tour of unique places in Homestead. Got to take home a lovely living memento of my trip to south Florida and the Keys.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Free to visit, but not sure you will resist buying an orchid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Whenever I go to the Redlands, about twice a year, I make sure to stop and eat my picnic in their garden. There is a picnic table in the shade and when we're done we go around the garden, wonderfully cared for with bamboos, tropical foliage, fountains and statues. We leave the orchids for the end and depending on the time of the year, they may have more flowers to see. Great opportunity to take pictures, both in the garden and shop. I always end up buying one more orchid, although I only get those on sale since the prices are on the high end. They also give you free lemonade which is very welcome in the heat.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill, Ontario
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“All little slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place was well worth the stop. We went late in the day and were just about the only people there. The orchids inside the green houses were beautiful, and watching them create an arrangement in the shop was cool. The outside grounds were amazing and we wandered around until closing time. Also some cool birds on site too. If we are ever in the area again, we will certainly drop in.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Worthy of all the superlatives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

R.F. Orchids is a veritable wonderland of orchids. I first visited this amazing place in the early 1990s...it was all but obliterated by Hurricane Andrew in August, 1992...but to see it today you'd never know. I visited this past weekend and...WOW...I had forgotten how stunning this place is. You pull off the road into a jungle-like setting worthy of a theme park. You feel your blood pressure going down just being here. Upon entering, there's a little bridge, a talkative cockatoo (I think?) and an outdoor display area and a separate indoor sales area. More than likely, one of the staff will offer you an iced fruit juice of some sort. The staff here is excellent; you can tell they know they work in an amazing place. There are several huge greenhouses full of orchids, a dizzying array of every color and size imaginable. Although I'm an orchid novice, I DO know that this place is owned by Bob Fuchs, who is a bit of a superstar in the orchid business, having created new plants and won numerous awards. He and R.F. are also mentioned in the book, "The Orchid Thief". R.F. Orchids would be a nice stop on your way down to or from the Keys. I found the prices to be quite good, the more pedestrian variety orchids were on par pricewise with retailers everywhere. The difference here, is of course the tropical setting, the knowledgeable staff, and the visual feast of the place itself. I can't recommend R.F. Orchids strongly enough, especially if you're a nature lover. However, I don't think this is probably the best choice with children, especially with the delicacy of some of the plants.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

R.F. Orchids was absolutely lovely!!! They had such a wide variety of orchids! I did not know there were so many different types! I would love to go back again!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R.F. Orchids also viewed

 

Been to R.F. Orchids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage R.F. Orchids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.