We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of R.F. Orchids

R.F. Orchids
28100 SW 182 Avenue, Homestead, FL 33030-1804
305-245-4570
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 shopping in Homestead
Type: Specialty Shops
Attraction Details
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

R.F. Orchids was absolutely lovely!!! They had such a wide variety of orchids! I did not know there were so many different types! I would love to go back again!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach, FL
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
“RF Orchids, Inc- An Orchid Wonderland - “The Best of the Best””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

You do not need to an expert on orchids to appreciate the striking beauty of the extraordinary exotic varieties growing in this nursery. I want to state right up front that I know very little about the technical side of growing orchids or even the formal names of the different varieties. We were simply in Homestead, FL and headed for lunch. It was a bit early so we decided to stop in here for perhaps a half hour to admire the flowers. We were amazed at what we saw. They have the larg4est selection of growing orchids.

As soon as we entered the gates, we knew that we would see something special. In front of the commercial entrance is a beautifully landscaped area. We saw some Seminole Indian Chickee Huts encircled with potted plants. We decided to explore this lovely area later although I quickly snapped a few photos. The area is available for private wedding and corporate events. What a beautiful setting! As we approached the store, we had to stop and admire the caged tropical birds. Ivy particularly grabbed our attention. There was a sign warning us not to put our finger in the cage. There was also a lovely small waterfall, a delicate-looking bridge, Asian statues, dolphins and tropical plants at the entrance. I had to stop and take more pictures. I knew right away that this would not be a half hour visit.

There was plenty to see and admire inside the shop. For sale were plants, seedlings, pottery, baskets, books, gift cards, garden décor and gift items. There is a clean attractive-looking restroom in the back. After a quick cold drink, we took a self-tour of the grounds. The greenhouses are quite big, very clean and orderly. Obviously much work goes into making sure that the seedlings and plants are healthy, disease-free receiving the correct amount of light, temperature, air circulation, water, fertilizer and growing mixture. The staff was hard at work inside. No one bothered us or stopped us from photographing everything. We were careful not to disturb any of the flowers, plants or birds for that matter. We roamed around and the knowledgeable staff was very polite to us. Besides the gorgeous orchids and other tropical plants, there were many whimsical statues, garden décor items all artistically arranged and displayed.

An hour later, we were all still admiring the beautiful specimens. Not only did we see their awarding-winning Vandas, which are their passion and specialty but many other species as well such as Cattleyas, Mericlones and Dendrobiums to name a few. The current best seller is Crestwood “Tomorrow’s Star.” This orchid has waxy ivory stars with a white tip. A new orchid is the Rhynchostylis Coelestis - an orchid with two stems and a profusion of blue and white flowers and a darker blue lip. The beautiful orchids are boldly colored and many have very intricate patterns. My husband admired one orchid so much that he insisted on buying it for me. We, however, would be out the rest of the afternoon. We did not think the plant would survive left in a hot car so we had to leave the plant. Maybe we will be back another time to bring one home with us.

The business started back in 1970 when Robert Fuchs opened the doors of RF Orchid to the public. Bob, as he is called by friends, is the president of his company and the RF in the company‘s name. The land on which the nursery stands was part of his grandparent’s (Fred & Louise Fuchs) homestead. His partner, Michael Coronado started working in the nursery when he was just 13 years old. When Bob retired from teaching and incorporated his business in 1985, Michael became Vice President in charge of growing and hybridizing. Besides traveling worldwide learning the latest trends and techniques in growing orchids, participating in shows and conferences, Mike especially enjoys designing private orchid gardens. Bob lectures, writes books and articles and participates or judges dozens of orchid shows worldwide. Bob and his company have won over 1,000 prestigious awards plus numerous medals, trophies and other recognitions.

RF Orchids has been in business for over 50 years but not everything has gone smoothly for the business. In 1990, a thief stole $97,000 worth of orchids. A book, Orchid Thief, later followed by a movie, Adaptation was based on the crime. Hurricane Andrew then devastated the greenhouses in 1992. Bob had to rebuild from scratch. Now the company is stronger than ever. Bob and Mike have come back from adversity. They live in a beautiful home adjacent to the nursery and you can take a tour of their private gardens on the weekends at 11 am and 3 pm no reservations necessary. I hope to return one day and do just that.

If you are near Homestead and wish to see the most beautiful blooming orchids and tropical plants, stop in at RF Orchids. The nursery hours are Tuesday - Sunday from 9 am-5 pm. There is no charge to visit the nursery. I guarantee that you will come away as I did with a new appreciation for the exquisite beauty of orchids.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing free place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is an orchid farm open to visitors. I've never seen such variety of flowers in one place and it was amazing. You can wander around as much as you like in the greenhouses and the display area. They also have supplies and flowers for sale.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I love the orchids and everything associated with Fuchs. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. I buy lots of orchids but really am no expert but don't need to be because all the workers there know everything. They bring you nice cold juice and give advice on purchases and never rush you. Landscaping is awesome!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
126 attraction reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“A feast for the eyes, relaxing and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stopped by this orchid nursery and had a great time. Beautiful grounds even before you enter the orchid area. In fact they have a very nice pavilion that they rent for weddings and events.
The greenhouses are full of blooming orchids. The plants vary from very small to rather large orchids. The blooms are just beautiful with a rainbow of colors represented. They also have a good assortment of orchid pots (clay and plastic) and a variety of tools.
Prices vary from $10 to well over a hundred dollars and they can ship what you purchase (weather permitting). Some good sales when we were there, got a couple of nice small orchids for $15 each.
The staff very helpful and they offered us fruit flavored water and chocolates while we were there.
A beautiful place, some sofas to seat and relax. The nicest bathrooms I have seen in a commercial building, they had beautiful orchids in the bathrooms.
I would return even if I don't buy any plants.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R.F. Orchids also viewed

 

Been to R.F. Orchids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage R.F. Orchids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added R.F. Orchids to your Saves list