We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coral snorkel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biscayne National Park

Biscayne National Park
9700 SW 328 Street, Homestead, FL 33033
305-230-7275
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$45*
and up
Miami City Tour including Bayside and Biscayne...
Attraction details
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
445 reviews
345 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great coral snorkel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The vast majority of the park is under water so you need to snorkel if you come. Not only do you get to experience a wonderful reef, you get out on the water to see much of the park. We went to a nice patch reef off Elliot Key in 8-12 feet of water. Unlike Pennecamp the day before, this is in open water. Still no problem with waves and current. As for the snorkel itself, beautiful,colorful coral is everywhere including brain, fan, staghorn and more. Of all the snorkels I have done in various parts of Florida, this was the best, healthiest coral I had seen. There were several fish but they were small and not as diverse as Pennecamp or Key West. However, the best part for me was no barracudas. The other good thing is the best coral is right around the mooring site. Due to the east wind the current really took you over the coral. This was a really impressive place to go. While not as many fish, I did see a beautiful queen angel fish which I had never seen before. I highly recommend this activity.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    36
    15
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not much to do on your own”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The "Underwater" is an important part of the name. We went there just to spend the day near the water and go snorkeling but you can't really do this from the shore.
So if you are going there plan to get on one of their boats (glass bottom boat was broken on our visit, so maybe call ahead) or rent kayaks.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Must-See in the Miami area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

This less visited park has great facilities with boat trips, kayak rentals, and great things to see and do. We didn't allow enough time and will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Hidden National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a gem that many often over look because of the remote location but it is highly worth the visit. The staff is very helpful and friendly. It's not far from the Homestead Raceway a must see if you are in South Florida. You can experience so much more about the aquatic life of our world.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful national park.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place. People who worked here were helpful and informative. Seemed to really enjoy their lives. Snorkeling was very nice as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biscayne National Park also viewed

 

Been to Biscayne National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biscayne National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.