We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were expecting much better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2855 N.E. 9th Street, Homestead, FL 33033   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Homestead
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“We were expecting much better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

As a well travelled family of four we were surprised when our TomTom took us to a gated community some distance down the same street - this was addressed by asking the local sheriff who put us right and suggested ditching the satnav (not a bad idea this time around). On arrivak there was plenty of car parking onsite at the hotel. Smooth booking in process for our two night stay however we were surprised when the receptionist advised us there were no evening meals available (when asked) and we were signposted next door to the sister hotel that had a café setup ... not what we were expecting so we went elsewhere to have a better dining experience. Maybe we missed this detail on their website? I sense a missed opportunity with a full hotel of people going elsewhere to dine - sister hotels café was virtually empty. Room was well appointed with two queen beds however this was let down by poor sleep quality of a noisy air conditioning system and a fan in the bathroom that seem to have a mind of itself going off through out the nights we stayed. Our 2nd night was hotter with the air conditioning off - this enable us to have a better nights sleep. Issues were raised with the receptionist on departure.

Breakfast on both mornings was excellent. The swimming pool at the hotel looked great however time didn't allow us to take the plunge.

Hotel was chosen due to proximity to Key West and was perfect for its location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnHomestead, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the level of quality that you are accustomed to receive from us. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    135
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
130
153
18
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Lion, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed one night here on our way to the Florida Keys. We couldn't have been more pleased with the choice! My wife and I, along with our two kids, ages 8 and 11, stayed the night. We had spent about 8 hours on the road that day, and this was a nice break. The hotel was extremely clean and up to date. The room was extremely clean and the beds were very comfortable. Nice big bathroom. The pool area was one of the best hotel pools we have been too. It was big and the kids played there for an hour or so. They have a ton of tables and chairs around the pool as well. They have free coffee and hot cocoa at all times in the lobby. They have a nice fitness area. The morning breakfast is free, and it is a huge spread! Great value! This was a perfect stay...no complaints!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnHomestead, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing your positive comments with us. I will make sure to share your review with the rest of our team. We look forward to your return the next time you are in Homestead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel was secure and the staff professional. My room smelled clean and all was in good order. The bed was comfortable, with very clean sheets and pillows. The A/C worked great. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnHomestead, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us and leave us a wonderful rating, we are glad you found our hotel to be great, secure and with a friendly staff, that you enjoy the usual amenities that we have at this property, I will make sure to share your review with the rest of our team and we look forward to your quick return. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pooler ga
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

clean and comfortable rooms, nice pool, good breakfast. will stay here again when in the area. the staff were all very friendly and helpful. located close to attractions and shopping. breakfast staff was attentive and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnHomestead, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us. We appreciate you taking the time out to inform us with your satisfaction of your recent experience. I will share the comments with our team. We look forward to your return the next time you are in Homestead. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We decided to stop off here before we visited the Keys the following day. What a find! So much so we went back for another night!

The hotel looks lovely from the outside, with FREE parking & an impressive lobby. The receptionist who checked us in one the first night looked a little stern, but she told us all we needed to know about our stay. On the second visit the receptionist was really friendly & remembered us staying the other night! : )

The first night we stayed in room 223. It’s a pretty exceptional room – clean, spacious, lovely décor. We really liked the novel use of having plug sockets on the base of the lamps! As UK travellers we have those ‘lovely’, bulky travel adapters to use & the fact they didn’t have to hang off a wall socket meant that there was no issue with the adapters falling off the wall & being damaged.

The bathroom was huge with plenty of towels & lots of space if we both wanted to use it at the same time.

The room also had a fridge, air con, & an alarm clock. FREE wifi was available & it was nice & fast!

The hotel had a huge swimming pool for the guests to use. We saw this when we went down for the FREE breakfast the following day as some guests chose to eat outside. The breakfast they supply is great – lots of choice & well stocked!

The only con in our room was that the plug mechanism was broken on the bathroom sink. Thankfully, I’m quite savvy in fixing things & my boyfriend is an engineer so we were able to manually open & close the plug after a quick peek under the sink.

Our additional night was pretty much the same, although our sink in this room was fine. The receptionist who checked us in on 26th May, approx 8pm, who had long dark curly hair, was great! She was really friendly & even helped us out with first aid when my boyfriend received a nasty bite.

The hospital is based pretty much next door to the hotel & there are 24/7 chemists across the road so if you do fall ill, do it here! : )

Overall, a great hotel with some great little complimentary cookies & tea/coffee in the lobby on tap as well! : )

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnHomestead, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leave us a wonderful rating, we are glad you found our hotel to be great, friendly staff and that you enjoy the usual amenities that we have at this property. I will make sure to share your review with the rest of our team and we look forward to your quick return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

It seemed to me Homestead is where people going to the Keys stay for the night before pushing off to the islands the next day. And it also seemed to me, Hampton Inn is the hotel where these travelers stay. Well, I was one of these travelers and this hotel is the perfect place as a jump off point. The lobby is clean and the front desk staff are very professional. My bed was comfortable and the bathroom was larger than expected. The rate does come with a free breakfast buffet and amenities also include an outdoor pool. and lanai. My only small criticism was they ran out of cookies and they didn't plan to bake any more that night. One would think that if they advertised free cookies for their guests, then they should make sure to bake enough for all. Other that this slight misstep, I consider this a very good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnHomestead, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us. We appreciate you taking the time out to inform us with your satisfaction of your recent experience, you are 100% right this hotel is the hotel where any person traveling to the keys would stay because the location of the hotel is very convenient, the hotel facilities are always looking like new and comfortable, our fantastic outdoor pool and we have a spectacular breakfast, we will share the comments with about our team and we are going to make sure that next time we have that fantastic cookies awaiting for your family. We look forward to your return the next time you are in Homestead. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Everything appeared to be neat and clean. We did not have time to check out the amenities but quality of sleep in the room, hotel front desk and lobby as well as complimentary breakfast was good. I would reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnHomestead, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you found our hotel to be great and thank you for sharing your positive comments with us. I will share the comments with about our team. We look forward to your return the next time you are in Homestead. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead Hotel Homestead
Hampton Inn And Suites Miami-South-Homestead
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead Hotel
Address: 2855 N.E. 9th Street, Homestead, FL 33033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Homestead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Homestead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in Homestead Florida by staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites. Located moments from Everglades National Park, this hotel features 126 rooms that will surpass your greatest expectations. Relax and enjoy our luxurious bedding package along with 32 inch flat screen TV’s and free high-speed internet connection in every room. Wake up to a refreshing hot breakfast every morning complimentary with your stay. Never miss a workout on your stay and then relax pool side and soak up the Florida sunshine. Bring your clubs and enjoy a round of golf at Homestead's Redland Golf & Country Club, a fun and challenging public course located just minutes from the Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead. There are various attractions to visit such as Biscayne National Park, Miami Metro Zoo, Homestead-Miami Speedway, and many more. Book your room today and let our friendly staff attend to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.