We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondeful Tour.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fruit & Spice Park

Fruit & Spice Park
24801 SW. 187th Ave., Homestead, FL 33031
305-247-5727
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Attractions in Homestead
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Ottawa, Kansas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wondeful Tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you stop here make sure you take the hour tour. We were fortunate to have Roger as our tour guide. Learned so much from him about the many fruit trees and bushes growing in the park.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    42
    17
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tavernier, FL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very interesting and unique park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent and afternoon walking this fascinating park looking at the multitude of fruit tree and learning a lot about them. A good experience for those interested in fruit and horticulture. We will go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were told upon entering that we could taste anything as long as it was on the ground. This made the whole trip much more interesting. We walked through the gardens in no particular order and saw lots of interesting plants and fruits. There were also plenty of wildlife lizards and frogs. We gladly spent several hours wandering around looking for all the names of the plants.

Afterwards there is a Cafe (Mango Cafe) attached that makes great sandwiches (lobster roll is great) and key lime pie.

This was our favorite part of the day, since we went to a few other attractions in the area on the same day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great way to spend and afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We toured 4 stops of the "Historic Redland Tropical Trail"/Homestead and have graded them as follows:
Bonsai Garden - D (free to tour)
Fruit and Spice Park - A ($8 pre person includes tram tour)
R.F. Orchids - A (free to tour)
Schnebly Winery - D ($7 for "tour", $10 for tasting)

This was a great find and the highlight of our day! To get to this area you drive through dense orchards of tropical fruits and road side vendors. The area is dotted with luxury homes and simple worker's residences. The park has adequate parking with some shade. You enter through a gift shop and approach the attended counter with an array of picked and cut tropical fruit for free tasting, all from the park. You can eat anything within the park that you recognize that has fallen off the trees. But, you are not supposed to pick off the trees or take out of the park. There is plenty of ripe fruit practically falling into your hands. Jackfruit galore, star fruit was in season and well and a few sugar apples. Sadly, no longun or lychee at this time of year.

The fee is $7 to walk the 37 acres, which feel much larger. There is a map available and the trees are sectioned for the different areas of the world origin. It is always hot - but was not buggy. No mosquito bites! Plan to spend at least 2 hours. Clean bathrooms near the picnic area that were air conditioned. Although we did not go in - there is a cafe on the property.

This is a Miami-Dade county park and feel maintained. A must see!

Tours:
Guided tours are conducted everyday at 11am, 1:30pm and 3pm. Special tours can be arranged at convenient times for schools, clubs, and any special interest groups, from preschoolers to golden years groups.

Park admission:
is $8.00 per adult, $2.00 per child 6- 11, and children under 6 are free. Picnic facilities are available.

Open 7 days a week, Hours are from 9am to 5pm. Except Christmas.
Miami-Dade parks provides quality and diverse cultural and recreational experiences for persons with disabilities.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very cool place to wander and sample”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We arrived at the Park just after 9am. During our visit we only ran into two other visitors, so it was pretty cool to have the park to ourselves. We sampled a few fruits in the visitor's center/entrance (an old one room school house from the early 1900's!) and set out on our own.

Though it was hot and humid, we had a great time searching for "downed" fruits; we found lots of fresh bananas, star fruit, coconuts, a sugar apple, cherimoya, papayas (sadly, not ripe), and some others I can't remember. And this was before we went back to the visitors center!

Next time I'd bring a small knife, lots of water, some dish towels and a hat. This is definitely somewhere we'll return to in the future.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fruit & Spice Park also viewed

 

Been to Fruit & Spice Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fruit & Spice Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.