We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night 3 of 5 Day “Low Budget” Road Trip on I-10” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2615 IH-10 East, Beaumont, TX 77702 (Formerly Howard Johnson Beaumont)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 hotels in Beaumont
Green Valley
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Night 3 of 5 Day “Low Budget” Road Trip on I-10”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We’re headed east to visit family in FL. Our overnight choices were slanted toward decent TA ratings, with a breakfast and a “out the door price” under $60 using senior and loyalty discounts. CLEAN, basic accommodations with just a bit of creature comfort and shelter from the elements to recover for the next day’s travels will suffice. We rolled the dice about a week in advance for the entire east bound leg.
How did this place fill the bill? On budget! Very clean! The newest and nicest property on our trip to date and no major condition issues with our room. The bed was comfortable and there were no noise issues; another good night’s sleep. There was a skimpy assortment of continental type fare but the fruit looked like it had been out for a week and the bread items were all uncovered which was not too appetizing. Waffles seem to be almost universal and not too special after day 1.
The staff was friendly and quickly rectified a snafu when our first room assignment was not cleaned yet or was still occupied. The Wi-Fi signal was good.
It would be very helpful if there would be some effort by the location to make east bound travelers aware that the east bound I-10 ramp is about 10 feet from where you exit their lot. I would guess a high percentage of guests miss this ramp and the street then dead ends so you have to fish your way around and loop back west and give it another try. Not the way to start your day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    5
    7
    7
See reviews for
8
15
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheelersburg, Ohio, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I found the desk clerk very helpful and eager to please. We had a king suite with desk and love seat that gave us everything we needed for an overnight stay. It was a little hard to find mostly because we aren't used to the one-way freeway service road design. There were two major roads that split and curved so keeping track of which direction we were going was tough. Meant we didn't want to leave to find food and there aren't any restaurants in walking distance. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable with pleasant site landscaping. Good value for area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

One could not ask for any better service, business like professional desk clerk. My stay was very enjoyable. I will more than likely use this establishment again in the future, should I be required to stay over during trips.....

thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We made an overnight trip to Beaumont to visit family. We were looking for a mid priced hotel since we would be spending very little time in the room. We booked a room with two queen beds. The room was larger then many in comparable hotels. It was clean and comfortable. My husband tried the free breakfast and found it to be typical of this type of property. We were pleased with the value that we got for the price that we paid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful; I couldn't have asked for more. I left behind at the hotel an expensive iPad keyboard and sleeve. They contacted me and I was already hundreds of miles away. I asked if they would be willing to mail it to me and I'd be happy to pay for the charges - they could add it to my credit card. They did mail it to me and at this time I haven't been charged. I'm still more than happy to reimburse them for their time and expense to do this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites

Address: 2615 IH-10 East, Beaumont, TX 77702 (Formerly Howard Johnson Beaumont)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Beaumont
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 hotels in Beaumont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE breakfast, WI-FI (and ethernet in the room), HBO, USA Today, 24-hr business center and fitness center! All suites have fold-out couches. We are PET FRIENDLY (with a small pet fee). Centrally located, near Hwy 69/96/287 and IH-10 interchange, 5 miles from Lamar University and Exxon-Mobile Refinery. Our JACUZZI SUITES feature large jacuzzi tubs, 32" flat panel TV's, and an extra-plush, pillowtop mattress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Beaumont Hotel Beaumont
Beaumont Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.