We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal in Saskatchewan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Red Market Cafe

Little Red Market Cafe
17 2nd Ave E, Mortlach, Saskatchewan, Canada
+1 306-355-2201
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Mortlach
Restaurant details
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Saskatchewan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The food in this restaurant is five-star! I recently moved back to Saskatchewan after living in Vancouver, and this meal was the best I've had and comparable to any big-city restaurant. We had the cheese plate, salad, veal shank, duck breast and creme brulee. Every bite was delicious. Even the saskatoon scone that came with the salad was unbelievable (as well as the brown butter!) We spent 2 hours in the cute little courtyard savouring our meal and enjoying the plants and warm weather. The owner/host Bridie is attentive, friendly and ensures you feel comfortable and ensures everything is perfect.

HIGHLY recommend the duck breast and the cheese plate (has a fig jam you will not believe!)

And the bonus - it's 5* dining at a mid-range price point. Entrees at $15 that would easily cost $30 at a city restaurant.

We were in Moose Jaw for the week-end, but this restaurant is destination dining and worth the drive from anywhere! Do not miss it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This little cafe is absolutely amazing! The food is so good and you wouldn't expect it from a little cafe in mortlach. The hostess/server is such a wonderful entertaining person, she will make you feel so comfortable in her little cafe. The duck and the lamb is to die for as well as all the desserts, the chef is amazing! But the honey buzz bomb dessert is a favourite! It's a must stop, but make sure to reserve a table because it busy! A testament to how good it really is.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Wow a gem off the highway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Had the Clint Eastwood chicken sand with real roast chicken, bacon, strong cheese arugula and tomatoes. Comes with cole slaw and beans (nicely spicy home made)

All on in house sour dough bread

Make the journey, 20 min from the Jaw?

Service is as good as the cooking

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Back to the future in beautiful downtown Mortlach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

What a great find! This little old building houses a cozy little cafe with a short but thoughtful menu. It was lunch today (and we'll be back for the supper cuisine), and we went back to the future with The Mad Dog Tannen Philly cheese steak sandwich and the Clint Eastwood roasted chicken sandwich. The Mad Dog was served open faced with beef, mushrooms, red green and yellow peppers, red onions and jack cheese drenched in a delicious sauce; a wonderful interpretation. The Clint was so hug, my wife could only eat half, and had to take the rest home. both came with unusual sides: coleslaw and baked beans; Huh! Not quite stuffed enough, we shared a pear tart tatin; yummy! Bridie (not Birdie) is a wonderful host. If she can't coax a smile out of you, you'd better change your meds! Can't wait to go for supper (reservations recommended).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful country cafe well worth the drive!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were off to Moose Jaw spa and wanted a good place to eat! By chance we found the small town of Mortlach and the Little Red Market Cafe! If you like small, quaint, welcoming hosts and good food you are in luck. We had sourdough sandwiches. 'The Clint Eastwood' and 'The Wolf' both were great mine was stuffed full of roasted chicken, sausage, tomato, bacon, mushrooms and peppers; very good! For desert my wife had a homemade scone stuffed with real vanilla ice cream, and finished with some whipped cream, strawberry reduction and a drizzle of local honey. Just a cute homey place in the middle of the prairies. We already reserved to go back for an evening meal! I will try the braised lamb shank, pan seared duck breast or the halibut.

Just glad this place popped up. As a foodie I am always looking for unique and honest food. This is it and I hope they keep it up!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Red Market Cafe also viewed

 
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Little Red Market Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Red Market Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.