We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otahuna Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Otahuna Lodge to your Saves list
Otahuna Lodge
224 Rhodes Road, Tai Tapu 7672, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Nevis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We just finished a month traveling New Zealand and Otahuna Lodge was one of the highlights of our stay. From the outside the lodge itself is so picturesque we just knew it was something special. Miles & Hall have lovingly restored century old building so upon entering you seem to step back in time and feel like you are the guest of honor visiting a dear friend's country estate.

I don't write reviews very often but Otahuna is so impressive I just had to add my comments which echo everything said by others. We stayed in the Rhodes Suite for two nights and couldn't have been more comfortable. The weather was damp and cool the afternoon we arrived so being able to sit in front of a crackling fire an relax while sipping tea helped us unwind from the day's travel.

The first night Chef Ben prepared a sumptuous dinner with excellent wine pairings that the "other" Ben served to us in the private and intimate setting of the Library. For our second dinner we opted to dine in the "Turret Room" and had an equally enjoyable meal.

Everything about the lodge is first rate and the staff could not do enough for us. We would go back to Otahuna in a heartbeat. Like some of the other reviewers we have traveled all over the world and have stayed at many places that are consistently rated among the best in the world. Simply put Otahuna is in that class and ranks at the top with the best of them.

If you are contemplating staying at Otahuna - think no more. Just make your reservation. Take it from me, it just doesn't get any better!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

It is now a week after my stay at Otahuna, and I am still raving to my friends and family, about what a wonderful experience I have had.
From the moment I arrived, the "team" made me feel like I had arrived home. Miles and Hall have created a truly wonderful location, that is way beyond a place of accommodation. Adrienne and Ben's attention to detail is amazing, without being the slightest bit intimidating, as I have experienced in some places I have stayed overseas.
Thanks to Executive Chef Jimmy and his team in the kitchen, my clothes felt quite tight, as I drove down the driveway, and said farewell. Your passion for your wonderful creations had my mouth watering, as you introduced each course. The wine matchings took me on a wonderful journey also.
The Otahuna Team, have the ability to deliver much more than a Host/Guest relationship, with those that come to stay. You leave feeling like you are part of a new "family".
I can't wait to create an opportunity to go and stay again. Thank you all so much!!
Tony Quayle

Room Tip: If you like morning sun in your room, ask the staff which side of the lodge they would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Without doubt the biggest WOW of our lives. We have both travelled the world and stayed in some amazing places but nowhere that we’ve stayed has come close to the uniqueness and opulent splendour that we experienced during our recent stay at Otahuna. It was unbelievably magical.
We chose the location for our wedding “on line” and then visited the Lodge to make enquiries as to the viability and availability for what we wanted and from that very first visit we felt like family but treated like royalty. We were welcomed as though we were regular guests. Nothing was a problem and it was so easy to work our way through the details from beginning to end.
If we thought our first visit to the Lodge to make those arrangements was the ultimate we weren’t expecting what came next when the time finally came for us to go and stay for the duration of our wedding and honeymoon.
We were welcomed with open arms on arrival by Hall, Miles, Adrienne and Ben. From that moment onwards we didn’t have a care in the world. Absolutely everything was taken care of.
We cannot speak more highly of Adrienne and Ben, whose true professionalism and attention to detail was way beyond any expectation. The same to be said of Chef Jimmy in putting together the most exquisite creations across all of the degustation dinners we experienced during our stay. The wedding degustation dinner was absolutely divine. Jimmy is world class.
We could go on and talk all the superlatives that others have mentioned on this site and it still wouldn’t be enough to describe Otahuna.
We absolutely thoroughly recommend Otahuna Lodge as a must stay property for anybody looking for that very special place. Without doubt we will certainly return.
John & Judy Tacon

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The lodge would have to be totally recommended as a wonderful, relaxing experience. Our suite the Botanical, was fantastically comfortable and the in house touches amazing from turndown time when a chocolate grape each was left, fresh baking, an in house story, the evening's five course menu typed up, fresh water jugs and glasses - everything to enhance comfort. The meals were lovely and of an amazing standard and interesting to have each menu explained so lovingly. The garden tour with Miles was a must do also. Enjoyable pre-drinks and canapes in the drawing room with the owners and other guests a pleasant activity. The breakfasts were delicious also and of a very high standard. Great to have ingredients grown on the property. All staff were interested in your comfort and made us feel very welcome. Happy memories will remain.

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms would be just as comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

From the moment my partner and I were met by our driver at the Christchurch Airport, we knew we were destined for one of the most spectacular vacations we could possibly imagine. We were visting New Zealand for the first time, and had only heard stories of how unbelievable a country it was, but everything about our visit to NZ and Otahuna Lodge exceeded our wildest expectations. En route to the Lodge, our driver shared a bit of history and made us feel like we going to visit family. As we pulled up the long gravel driveway, and caught our first glimpse of the century-old lodge, we were sure we had made the right decision on selecting Otahuna Lodge. The owners, Hall Cannon and Miles Refo, greeted us on arrival, along with other staff members.

Once inside, the magnificent interior took our breath away. As we looked back outside across the front lawn, and as our car pulled away, we noticed a staff member raking the gravel back to perfection. This attention to detail was only the beginning of what would be a wonderful stay.

We had picked the Rhodes Suite (one of the seven suites at the Lodge, making for a very private stay) and were blown away when we walked into the room. The room was more spectacular than even the photos on the website. Beautifully appointed with one of the most comfortable beds we've slept in anywhere. The sheets must have been about a million thread counts. There was a separate foyer, and then amazing bath - completed with DOUBLE SHOWER with the world's largest rain shower heads, and the bathroom floor had radiant heat. This along with Penhaligon bath products and a full size tub, and double sinks made us never want to leave the bath. The room had a terrace with a view of the property and the valley beyond - the perfect place to enjoy of first glasses of local Sauvignon Blanc.

Each evening, one of the owners joined us and the other guests in the Drawing Room for pre-dinner cocktails, with wonderful hors d'oeurves prepared by the Lodge's chef. Dinner is then one of the ultimate experiences of Otahuna Lodge. Meals are all made with local New Zealand produce and many ingredients come from the Otahuna Gardens. We were able to choose where we wanted to dine each night - from a private turret in our room to other unique locations in the lodge, including the wonderfully opulent formal Victorian era Dining Room. The meal is a five-course degustation of the Chef's choosing and it never disappointed. (the chef checked with us each morning to make sure there were no concerns with anything he was preparing that night). Cocktails, dinner, and the wine pairings suggested by the Chef, that left our palates clamoring for more, are all included. The extremely attentive and knowledgable servers provide just enough detail about the food and wine before each course.

Just in case we were still a little hungry before turning in, a jar of chocolate miniature brownies was waiting by the perfectly turned down bed.

After going to bed thinking we might never need to eat again, somehow each morning we were back at the breakfast table for the delicious morning offerings of fresh juices, coffee, homemade baked goods, and anything else we might want, including eggs made to order.

Needing to work off some of the fabulous meals, we swam in the precisely heated pool. When we wanted to go for a bike ride, there were two bikes waiting for us out front of the Lodge. We toured the property's magnificent gardens.

And if all this wasn't enough for an unbelievable vacation, we heeded the owners' advice and took a private helicopter ride over the South Island - we watched as the bright red helicopter landed on the front lawn, and whisked us away - descending into gorges with crystal blue waters and landing on top of the mountain where Hobbits once wandered. The owners arranged for a wine-tasting lunch at the incredible Pegasus vineyard (where we of course had to order a case of wine to be sent home). We did make a bit of a scene landing our red chopper on the vineyard's restaurant's lawn, but heck isn't that what renting a helicopter is all about!!

We have stayed in hotels and lodges all over the world, and never felt so at home as we did at Otahuna Lodge. The attention to detail is unsurpassed anywhere. It's a bit far from home in NY, but we cannot wait to return to our home away from home at Otahuna Lodge.

Room Tip: All of the suites are amazing, but we loved the Rhodes Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

From the moment we drove up the long sweeping driveway and were greeted at the front door like long lost friends we knew we had arrived at a very special place.

The Otahuna Lodge team made us feel very welcome and we were shown to our Verandah Suite with it's stunning views over the garden to snow capped mountains in the distance.

The place oozes ambience and words are difficult to find to describe the lodge building with its most wonderful original artwork, period furniture and outstanding library.

The food, oh the food, it was superb - 5 courses each evening with matching wines - life doesn't get any better. But it does. Breakfast, be it the freshly squeezed juices, home made bread, their own muesli, hot dishes cooked to perfection, the list goes on. Just a wonderful way to start the day.

The garden. What a beautiful place, from landscaped terraces, majestic trees to flower beds and a vegetable plot and not a weed in sight !!!

I could name the Otahuna Lodge team individually but this place reflects the efforts of many. A team that works tirelessly to ensure your stay is perfect in every way.

We arrived as guests and left as friends of the Lodge family.

Thank you. It was our pleasure to meet everyone of you and our time together will always be with us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

An idyllic location. Hosts were amazing; nothing was too much trouble. Food was out of this world with 5 courses carefully prepared and a different dining location every night to take advantage of the various beauty spots around the lodge and its grounds. Recommend this place whole-heartedly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Otahuna Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otahuna Lodge

Address: 224 Rhodes Road, Tai Tapu 7672, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Tai Tapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tai Tapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otahuna Lodge is an intimate, exclusive retreat set in an 1895 Victorian mansion. The seven generous suites retain grand architectural features from the 19th century such as open fireplaces, carved inglenooks and stained glass windows. The spectacular 115-year old gardens stretch over 30 acres and feature many themed areas including an organic kitchen garden and orchard which supply more than 100 kinds of vegetable, fruit and nut to the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Otahuna Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otahuna Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otahuna Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.