We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hike for everyone” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Emory Peak

Emory Peak
Big Bend National Park, TX
Improve this listing
Type: Mountains
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The highest peak in the park at 7,835 feet.
Boerne, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not a hike for everyone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This hike is 11 miles roundtrip and you need to be in good shape to attempt it.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    3
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SLC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

It was a long hike to our campsite but the view was breathtaking!

Went camping for two nights so make sure you research and prepare enough water when you do decide to go backpacking/camping.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Another fantastic Big Bend adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Hiking up to Emory Peak is something I have done since I was 4 years old. then, with my parents and now with my husband I have always found this trail to be the perfect balance of peaceful and challenging.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Misleadingly easy hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

I wanted to add my own review of this hike because I thought some of the info on the internet was misleading.

The hike before you have to climb the last section is pretty easy, is very well marked and you will have shadow until 11 am while in the Pinnacles trail (before you turn to Emory Peak) because the mountain blocks the sun. Also the temperature is not nearly as bad as in the lower areas of Big Bend.

Once you get to the top, there is 25-30 ft section which is close to vertical and you will need to find your own way up. If this was a piece of rock in a gym I'd climb it without thinking twice, but the 600 ft cliffs on either side makes it VERY vertigo inducing and pretty dangerous to be honest.

In my opinion, if they are going to provide a nice easy trail to the top, might as well make the last section safe and add footholds, a rail or something. I don't think it would be too much of an intrusion to nature given the toilets, the nice trail, and the restaurant and lodge nearby.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Hike to the top of Big Bend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

If you are able, definitely hike to the top of Big Bend, to the summit of Emory Peak. The hike is 8.6 miles roundtrip with 2500 ft of elevation gain which makes it a moderately strenuous hike. The hike starts near the Visitor Center at the Chisos Basin and follows the Pinnacles Trail until it splits off about 3 miles into the hike. The last part of the hike involves some rock climbing up 20-30 ft of rock face to reach the true summit. The view at the top is a spectacular 360 panorama seeing everything within Big Bend, and with the south view looking deep into Mexico - a nice reward for the effort.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emory Peak also viewed

Big Bend National Park, TX
Big Bend National Park, TX
 
Big Bend National Park, TX
Big Bend National Park, TX
 

Been to Emory Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emory Peak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Emory Peak to your Saves list