We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chisos Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Bend National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chisos Mountain Lodge
Save
You added Chisos Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Basin Rural Station, Big Bend National Park, TX 79834   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel offers clean and pleasant accommodations. It has a nice rustic "lodge" feel, and the rooms are pretty spacious. The service is good and there's a nice gift shop on the premises. I can't imagine staying anywhere else but here if I was touring Big Bend.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    164
    61
    18
    4
See reviews for
99
157
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We visited Big Bend several years ago and were unable to book a room at this lodge but on our return last year we were not disappointed and stayed two nights and did enjoy our stay - it really is in the most glorious situation, but I think it is actually on the expensive side for the facilities offered, which I do realise are meant to be "rustic" and I guess "rustic" does not come cheap these days. However, the food in the restaurant was good and the staff very pleasant and helpful. We would probably stay again if we returned to Big Bend - if we could afford it!

Room Tip: Do not choose the furthest away lodge rooms if you have any physical problems, the room we had had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamako, Mali
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

If this were a motel beside the interstate it would not be anything special but the location is unbeatable. It is fairly central if you are spending a couple of days in the park and the views from some of the rooms are remarkable. The food in the restaurant was better than expected and pretty decent value considering they have a captive market.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is one of my favorite national parks. You have to be laid back and willing to explore to really get the flavor of the park. The Chisos Mtn Lodge is the only game in town but it has a magnificent setting. Great place to base your park travels from.

Room Tip: The "A" bldg looks out over the "Window" with nothing to block the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We visited Big Bend several years ago and were unable to book a room at this lodge but on our return last year we were not disappointed and stayed two nights and did enjoy our stay - it really is in the most glorious situation, but I think it is actually on the expensive side for the facilities offered, which I do realise are meant to be "rustic" and I guess "rustic" does not come cheap these days. However, the food in the restaurant was good and the staff very pleasant and helpful. We would probably stay again if we returned to Big Bend - if we could afford it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

In some parks you can get very reasonable lodging. This is not the case here. The room was twice as expensive as our room in Terlingua. The room was nice but not twice as nice as our other room. Parking was tough because the visitor center is in the same area as well as the start of trails. We finally got a decent place to park. The room was quiet. It could be joined to the next room, if needed. It was nice being in the park but it wasn't needed. The park is big but easy to traverse if you stay outside the park. You can get anywhere in a reasonable amount of time. Look at your options and only stay here if you want luxury in your national park visit. They do not keep a waiting list, so if they are full, you just have to check back to find an opening. We booked early and tax rates changed - so we had $0.13 credit. We wanted to donate it to the park but were told we had to take credit on our credit card. Seems inefficient. We had internet but only sporadically.

Room Tip: We were in D1. Internet very flaky and some sites I could never access. Big room. Tree out the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We just spent Christmas week in Big Bend National Park and stayed at the Chisos Lodge which is the only hotel accommodations in this huge park. The Lodge is nothing fancy but very comfortable and was quite ample for our family. Be aware that there is no cell phone service in the parks and there are no TV's in the rooms - which was fine with us. Fortunately, our room did have WiFi which made our child happy! The rooms have a nice size small refrigerator/freezer, microwave and coffee pot. We were able to have breakfast in the room and pack a picnic lunch for our daily hikes. Beds were reasonably comfortable. Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. Our room had a great view of Casa Grande - can't complain. You go to Big Bend to be outside not in your hotel room so we felt this hotel met our needs and was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chisos Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chisos Mountain Lodge

Address: Basin Rural Station, Big Bend National Park, TX 79834
Location: United States > Texas > Big Bend National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Big Bend National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chisos Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the last frontier of Texas, Big Bend National Park encompasses over 800,000 acres of breathtaking desert landscape. Here you'll find the uniquely located Chisos Mountains Lodge, offering comfortable accommodations and friendly Texas hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chisos Mountain Hotel Big Bend National Park
Chisos Mountain Lodge Big Bend National Park, Texas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chisos Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.