We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chisos Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Bend National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chisos Mountain Lodge
Save
You added Chisos Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Basin Rural Station, Big Bend National Park, TX 79834   |  
Hotel amenities
Oaxaca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The room was great with air conditioning, coffee machine, refrigerator, microwave and thankfully, no television. There was a smal convenient store by the hotel and at the reception there was a nice restaurant.

The place was quiet, we went to bed early were ready for our hike bright and early the next morning..

Room Tip: Get the second floor units, if you are on the first floor, you can hear the people walking or stampi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    162
    60
    18
    4
See reviews for
95
157
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the Casa Grande rooms. The room was large, clean and the view from the balcony was amazing, especially the sunset. The only downside was the bathroom was very small, no room for two people.

Restaurant and shop was close, staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEAGUE CITY, TEXAS
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was our first time in Big Bend. We were there for 3 nights and 4 days 7/25-7/28/13. Stayed in A4 2nd story room with a great view of the Window and the trails. Got a 2 double bed room because I didn't think the wife and I (with my being 6'3" 250) would both fit on a double bed. I was correct and we slept in separate beds. I had no problem with the no tv or phone in room. Nor with the wifi being spotty at best. But my wife did. We had a neighbor that decided to smoke a cigar on the balcony next to us making us go in for one night. The walls are paper thin. Being on the grounds made travel in the park very easy. We may camp next time only because its $34 plus tax a day versus the $127 plus tax we paid per day. Store closes early. Restaurant closes at 8pm and is okay but pricey. Front desk closes at 9pm. It may sound like we didn't like it but we had a great time! We will be bring family next time!

Room Tip: The A building had the best view of the Window and trails.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed one night in the lodge type room (there are also hotel type rooms and cabins). We liked the room and the nice balcony. I recommend staying on the second floor. Ground level is between first and second floor so you have stairs regardless of what level you are on so why not stay on the second floor and have a private balcony. We were in building B but recommend building A as it faces "The Window" (the gap between the mountains where the sunsets).

Room Tip: See notes above. We also scouted out the cabins for a return visit. #103 seems to have the best vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilgore, Texas
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you are wanting to get away from the world and just enjoy God's beautiful creations this is the place to go. Secluded high up in the mountains is this rustic place that gives you a chance to relax or hike and enjoy nature at its best. The staff at the lodge are friendly and anxious to help. The room was clean and comfortable, nothing fancy. Cannot say enough about the food in the restaurant, it was fantastic. We expected fast food sort of stuff and instead found fabulous meals at affordable prices. The country store was stocked well and friendly staff. We especially enjoyed being able to watch the sunsets and sunrises at the overlook. It seems like you are just right next to the stars and clouds. It was fantastic.

Room Tip: Be sure and stay in one of the units with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We've been to many national parks, and this one has been the best experience by far. The Lodge accomodations were very nice. The bed was comfortable, The room was clean, the housekeeping service was good, and even the housekeeper struck up a conversation and gave us some sightseeing tips. The restaurant on-site serves good food and the wait staff is friendly. The Lodge is located in the center of the park, making it very easy to get to all points in the park, and a number of trailheads start right behind the lodge as well, making evening walks possible. The sunsets are spectacular every night, and on a clear night one can see many stars. The area is very remote. There is no TV, no cell phones, no land line phones, but they do have wireless Internet.

As compared to other national parks, this one is not crowded, but just as interesting. Staying at the Lodge makes all of it readily accessible. It's pretty apparent to us that the entire staff here is trained to make your stay a pleasant one, and they succeeded.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a double down by the trailheads. It was July and cool every morning. From Chisos min we were centrally located ad went North, East and West to experience the park. We entered from I-10/Alpine and left through Marathon/US90. The views from the Basin are wonderful, and there are enough trails close by you don't really need to explore the whole park if your so inclined.

The rooms are very clean and recently renovated. The restaurant is surprisingly good with a lot of variety from steaks, to pastas, to hamburgers and salads.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chisos Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chisos Mountain Lodge

Address: Basin Rural Station, Big Bend National Park, TX 79834
Location: United States > Texas > Big Bend National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Big Bend National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chisos Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the last frontier of Texas, Big Bend National Park encompasses over 800,000 acres of breathtaking desert landscape. Here you'll find the uniquely located Chisos Mountains Lodge, offering comfortable accommodations and friendly Texas hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chisos Mountain Hotel Big Bend National Park
Chisos Mountain Lodge Big Bend National Park, Texas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chisos Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.