We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Midtown Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Midtown Motel to your Saves list
Midtown Motel
215 E 3rd St, La Junta, CO 81050   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in La Junta
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

After searching for a motel in the Las Animas - La Junta, Colorado area, I have finally found a place to stay every month when we are in town. My husband is very picky and he gave this motel a thumbs up. Excellent price, quiet, relaxing, great staff; friendly but professional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    30
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
19
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Truchas, New Mexico
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is an older motel off the highway that is very well taken care of--very, very clean --and a friendly owner at the desk. Have stayed there overnight traveling between Taos and Minnesota four times. It is very Quiet so you can rest from a day on the road. Quiet and Clean a rare find for those on a tight budget or Social Security. Breakfast is a charming breakfast place within walking distance, called the Copper Kettle, and dinner is Boss Hawg at the highway. The town has great antique stores. I'm impressed with the help that take care of the place--it's immaculate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Reasonably priced, clean, comfortable. Close to downtown but not far from US Hwy 50. I enjoy this locally owned place as opposed to the chain motels directly on the highway. The motel is 2-story with rooms opening to the outside, overlooking the parking lot.There are a few somewhat larger rooms with king beds and either a sofa or recliner, which is the type of room I have booked each time I've overnighted at the Midtown. My room had somewhat dated wood paneling, but it was still pleasant. The bed and furniture are comfortable and in very good condition. The bath is small and no-frills, but clean and perfectly adequate. There's prompt and plentiful hot water in the tub shower, and towels/linens are of good quality. Rooms have mini-fridge, coffeemaker, microwave, flat-screen TV, and Wi-Fi included (good signal quality). I especially like the location, just a few blocks east of downtown and a couple of blocks from the local Fox Cinema. It's easy to walk down 3rd Street and find something to eat or see a movie, and prices in La Junta are very low compared to what I'm used to. Lucy's Tacos is an excellent taco stand with a wide variety of authentic Mexican food, very close to the motel, and I was surprised to see they're open early, even on Sundays, so that's become my breakfast place of choice. I get a breakfast burrito and take it back to the room. A short drive east on 3rd Street from the motel is Hogs Breath Saloon, a decent local barbecue place. In the relative context of small town eateries, I've found it to be a good choice for dinner. The motel management asks for a lot of information upon checking in. It seems like a bit of overkill, but I roll with it, and the next time I stop there they have the data on file and know which room I prefer.

Room Tip: With a few exceptions the ground floor rooms have parking spaces in front of them. If this makes a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed overnight, visiting family. Staff was quite friendly and helpful. Our room was ground floor and near the office and ice machine, but not at all noisy, as I had expected. A lot of pipeline workers are apparently staying here and elsewhere in La Junta, but they were pretty quiet and considerate as they left early in the AM for their shifts, I guess.
The central location is hard to beat. The rooms are simple and practical. This is our second stay, after a four-year lapse, and we would stay here yet again, next time we visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night. The lawn outside the office is neat as a pin. My room was small but adequate, and the amenities were no-frills. The gentleman at the desk was pleasant, but the room had a smell that seemed to indicate they tried hard to cover something, like too much air freshener. As others have noted, the AC is loud, but overall a decent stay. I'd much rather spend my money with a locally owned property than a chain any day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Junta, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've stayed at Midtown for years when we come thru western Colorado. It is clean, simply decorated, and modestly priced. Peaceful and pleasant. Recent remodelling is an added plus. The staff & ownership are friendly & helpful. Flat screen TV with DirectTV, comfy recliner, microwave & mini-refrig, lamps well-placed for reading, very comfortable bed. I never have to worry about whether it is truly clean. I feel very safe here also. We will continue to return to Midtown as one of our favorite motels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Family owned great little property. Well maintained, friendly staff. Wife and I went up 4th and 5th of July to see Bent's Fort. She is a history buff and the period costumes, performances were superlative. Well worth the time and trip. Room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Plenty of TV available through Directv. Didn't watch much thought because we were there for each other. I am an HVAC tech by living and the AC was great! Has a remote control to operate it. Nice touch. Recliners were comfortable and conducive to reading. Lamps were well placed. Comfortable bed with clean linens two normal sized firm pillows. Noticed room was heated be baseboard hydronic heat (hot water boiler) which is very comfortable heat in this part of the country, not drafty. Makes for a cozy room. I will bring us back here some time this winter. The room doesn't have some of the amenities that all the luxury places throughout the country has like refrigerator, iron, etc but it does have a hair dryer, microwave, ice machines 2 or 3 I think I saw. Nice tub and shower combo with plenty of hot water, and a sink with a large mirror and space around the sink. There was a radio/clock, two nightstands and a long deep shelf next to the sink for suitcases which also doubled as a place to hang up clothes, The whole layout of the room was very convenient. Boss Hogg Saloon and Copper Kitchen great meals!

Room Tip: Upstairs next to the office convenient to ice, parking and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Midtown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtown Motel

Address: 215 E 3rd St, La Junta, CO 81050
Location: United States > Colorado > La Junta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in La Junta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended by Frommer's Travel Guide and Voted La Junta's Best Hotel. Clean, comfortable and courteous. Enjoy a quiet night's sleep at the Midtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Midtown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Motel La Junta
Midtown Hotel La Junta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midtown Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.