We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Place, clean and inexpensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Midtown Motel

Save Saved
You added Midtown Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Midtown Motel
215 E 3rd St, La Junta, CO 81050   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in La Junta
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok Place, clean and inexpensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night. The lawn outside the office is neat as a pin. My room was small but adequate, and the amenities were no-frills. The gentleman at the desk was pleasant, but the room had a smell that seemed to indicate they tried hard to cover something, like too much air freshener. As others have noted, the AC is loud, but overall a decent stay. I'd much rather spend my money with a locally owned property than a chain any day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    26
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
19
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Junta, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've stayed at Midtown for years when we come thru western Colorado. It is clean, simply decorated, and modestly priced. Peaceful and pleasant. Recent remodelling is an added plus. The staff & ownership are friendly & helpful. Flat screen TV with DirectTV, comfy recliner, microwave & mini-refrig, lamps well-placed for reading, very comfortable bed. I never have to worry about whether it is truly clean. I feel very safe here also. We will continue to return to Midtown as one of our favorite motels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Family owned great little property. Well maintained, friendly staff. Wife and I went up 4th and 5th of July to see Bent's Fort. She is a history buff and the period costumes, performances were superlative. Well worth the time and trip. Room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Plenty of TV available through Directv. Didn't watch much thought because we were there for each other. I am an HVAC tech by living and the AC was great! Has a remote control to operate it. Nice touch. Recliners were comfortable and conducive to reading. Lamps were well placed. Comfortable bed with clean linens two normal sized firm pillows. Noticed room was heated be baseboard hydronic heat (hot water boiler) which is very comfortable heat in this part of the country, not drafty. Makes for a cozy room. I will bring us back here some time this winter. The room doesn't have some of the amenities that all the luxury places throughout the country has like refrigerator, iron, etc but it does have a hair dryer, microwave, ice machines 2 or 3 I think I saw. Nice tub and shower combo with plenty of hot water, and a sink with a large mirror and space around the sink. There was a radio/clock, two nightstands and a long deep shelf next to the sink for suitcases which also doubled as a place to hang up clothes, The whole layout of the room was very convenient. Boss Hogg Saloon and Copper Kitchen great meals!

Room Tip: Upstairs next to the office convenient to ice, parking and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Needing a place to stay one night while on the road, we picked Midtown Motel after reading the reviews. I'm not sure if I stayed in the same motel that was reviewed, but I was really disappointed. Yes, I knew it was "inexpensive" (total $63.50), so wasn't expecting much, and basically that's what I got. We had asked for a king, but after being told there were none available, we chose a queen room. I doubt very much the bed we had could qualify as a queen, however, it was clean - as was the room in general. The problem came when we decided to go to bed. There are bright lights shining at each door on the outside - good for security - bad for sleeping. The "drapes" were very thin, cheap curtains that did nothing to block out the light. It was basically like trying to sleep with the lights on. I know Wal-Mart sells light blocking curtains for about $10 - that's all it would take to make a BIG difference in someone's night sleep. The other issue we had were the electrical outlets. There were 2 outlets in the room, but each only had 1 plug that worked. There was a power strip on the desk with every plug filled, so it was impossible to charge our phones. The other 1 plug in the working outlet was used for the lamp above the bed. During my many awake hours, I had horrible thoughts of the room exploding into flames from the over-used outlets. I would probably rate this even lower, but as said before, it was clean, however, if a good night's sleep is what you're needing, I would recommend another motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here while traveling late and on a budget. As with most small-town motels we were skeptical at first. We arrived late with no reservation. The parking lot was full. The front desk clerk (possibly owner) was prompt, friendly, and check in was quick. This is an older style "highway" motel, but the room was very clean. The bed was firm but good. It is not a plush motel by any means, but if you're looking for a economical place to sleep that's clean and free from worries, this will do. The rate was $55+ tax. There are other chain motels in town for twice as much, but this fit the bill quite well.
We gave this an above average because for a small town place, and compared to others, it was a pleasant surprise. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed 2 weeks here and the Manager, John went over and above the call of duty to make sure
my stay was accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable and quite and everyone was helpful. I would highly recommend this motel. This was my second year to stay here and service has been great both times.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed with a group of friends and they didnt think this place was that good. I thought it was ok, comfortable bed and standard facilities for a US room. Ive stayed in worse places in the UK where i live. One of the walls in the room was not decorated but other than that it was clean and a decent enough place. All in all its not bad for a one night stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Midtown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtown Motel

Address: 215 E 3rd St, La Junta, CO 81050
Location: United States > Colorado > La Junta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in La Junta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended by Frommer's Travel Guide and Voted La Junta's Best Hotel. Clean, comfortable and courteous. Enjoy a quiet night's sleep at the Midtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Midtown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Motel La Junta
Midtown Hotel La Junta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midtown Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.