We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Options to please everyone, nothing truly outstanding” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fabulous 50's Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fabulous 50's Diner
1325 Trinity Dr, Los Alamos, NM 87544
505-663-1113
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 41 Restaurants in Los Alamos
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Options to please everyone, nothing truly outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I go to this diner about once a month and try something different every time. I still haven't had anything I really wanted to try again, except maybe the barbeque. The burgers are good, the brisket is better, but most of the sides are average. It looks like a diner but mercifully doesn't have 50s doowop music or anything. The ice cream bar has a good selection and I like their shakes. The best thing about this place is the variety of the menu. They have New Mexican, BBQ, American, steak, fried foods, and a salad bar that isn't half bad, if a little shabby to look at. Apparently they also have free wifi though I've never used it. It seems like a good family place, with plenty of options for picky eaters (i.e. kids).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summerfield, NC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“not much Fabulous about this”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

the place was cheap cafe decor and poor service. We were the only people there (very late lunch). The food was decent for the price, but would not go back

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Large Menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very busy during lunch. Wide variety on the menu. Avoid the fried stuff - seems to be pre-packaged and not very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Above average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Got seated immediatley, and order/drinks taken. Food was warm, and tasty. This establishment has character and more food then I could eat, while also the service staff were engaging and fun. This place to relax after work or just take the family is a pleasant experience! I will be headed here again, as I had a nice evening out!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, CA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Not horrible for Los alamos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Fabulous 50's diner, Los alamos

Located behind the hill diner by the VFW.
Context: Sunday at 1 pm
Service: there were two servers for the room of about twenty tables and they were steady but not too busy. Our server was friendly and efficient and answered our questions, including telling us that the Mac and cheese was Kraft.
Atmosphere: a large, kind of dirty room with a little salad bar. Feels like a fast food place. Has a large ice cream counter. 
Food: menu is huge and of the five things we ordered, all were mediocre at best. Lots of fried choices most choices come from the freezer. Not the place for fresh food. Salad bar dominated by bacos and iceberg lettuce. BBQ sauce on the table. Best thing about the place is the hard serve ice cream. My onion rings were soggy and cold inside as if they weren't fully cooked.  

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fabulous 50's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Fabulous 50's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fabulous 50's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.