We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, Great people.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Badlands Budget Host Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Badlands Budget Host Inn to your Saves list
Badlands Budget Host Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 SD Hwy. 377, Interior, SD 57750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fall Escape
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Interior
Greenville, SC
1 review
“Great view, Great people.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Since we were in the Badlands for the view, we didn't want to spend a lot on a room, but we do want clean, comfortable accommodations. This place was great. There was no TV or phone in the room, but they had free WiFi. Our view here was the best of any place we stayed. If you want luxury, this isn't the place. If you want clean rooms, and friendly people, this Budget Host Inn is for you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    44
    38
    9
    8
See reviews for
54
38
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Had to beat the location by the south gate of the Badlands NP. The rooms were clean but very bland and lacked some of the most basic amenities. The room rate was very spendy and I would look for another location should I return to the area

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

This hotel was so immaculate I couldn't believe it. Everything actually sparkled. I haven't written a review before, but this place really was exceptional. The owners were as nice as could be, and the low price was also pleasant. It's not a corporate style motel, and it was simply furnished. Great location to the park. A large serving of pancakes for breakfast. and a stew in the evening -- both were OK. We tried the restaurant up the road at Cedar Pass Lodge, and it was so bad we walked out. I was surprised at the value of this motel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Arrived after dark. The key was in our room and lites on. Room small but very clean. Had a nice talk with staff next morning. Very friendly and informative. Great view next morning.
Sunrise over the badlands. I would give it 5 stars but the door to the room stuck.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
81 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

The Badlands Budget Host Inn is a modest establishment but the rooms are as clean as can be and the owners are very courteous.

It's wonderful to sit outside your room in the evening after a day of sightseeing in the Badlands National Park, just gazing at the distant hills, listening to the silence, reading a book.

The price is very low for the region in summer and the motel has the only outdoor swimming pool for the park and immediiate adjacant area.

It was a great 2 day interlude on a much longer trip!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Arrived at 1:30 am with no reservation. At first I was leary because it had no tv and no phone. When we awoke the next morning and saw the view it soon made no difference about the tv or phone. The people were fantastic and they even let us smoke in the room. The room was big and clean and I could not ask for more. What was supposed to be a one night stay turned into 4 and we will be back again next year. Even without the phone or tv I would give this place the highest of ratings.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We were heading back to Illinois from SD and were just going to drive thru the Badlands. We decided to Stay overnight if we could find a place to stay. I checked the travel book and came across this place and made a call. They said they had a room and said they were nothing fancy but clean and friendly. Our room #19 was VERY large and clean. The above ground pool was great for the kids to take a dip. We brought our bikes and the area to ride in was wonderful. We had such a nice day we requested an extra night and they were able to let us keep our room. Every room was booked we met very nice families who all shared the same feelings we did. Low price, beautiful location, fun pool, nice place to get a home cooked meal and a very friendly staff. We would stay there again and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interior
22.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plains Motel
22.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
0.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#5 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
22.4 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
22.0 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badlands Budget Host Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badlands Budget Host Inn

Address: 900 SD Hwy. 377, Interior, SD 57750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Interior
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Interior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Badlands Budget Host Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel & campground 1 mile south of Badlands National Park. Store & restaurant serving breakfast 7-9 daily. Swimming pool and close to small western town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Badlands Budget Host Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badlands Budget Host Hotel Interior

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badlands Budget Host Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.