We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Interlude” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Badlands Budget Host Inn

Save Saved
You added Badlands Budget Host Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Badlands Budget Host Inn
900 SD Hwy. 377, Interior, SD 57750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Mini Fridge in all rooms
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Interior
Calgary
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Interlude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

The Badlands Budget Host Inn is a modest establishment but the rooms are as clean as can be and the owners are very courteous.

It's wonderful to sit outside your room in the evening after a day of sightseeing in the Badlands National Park, just gazing at the distant hills, listening to the silence, reading a book.

The price is very low for the region in summer and the motel has the only outdoor swimming pool for the park and immediiate adjacant area.

It was a great 2 day interlude on a much longer trip!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    35
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
40
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Arrived at 1:30 am with no reservation. At first I was leary because it had no tv and no phone. When we awoke the next morning and saw the view it soon made no difference about the tv or phone. The people were fantastic and they even let us smoke in the room. The room was big and clean and I could not ask for more. What was supposed to be a one night stay turned into 4 and we will be back again next year. Even without the phone or tv I would give this place the highest of ratings.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We were heading back to Illinois from SD and were just going to drive thru the Badlands. We decided to Stay overnight if we could find a place to stay. I checked the travel book and came across this place and made a call. They said they had a room and said they were nothing fancy but clean and friendly. Our room #19 was VERY large and clean. The above ground pool was great for the kids to take a dip. We brought our bikes and the area to ride in was wonderful. We had such a nice day we requested an extra night and they were able to let us keep our room. Every room was booked we met very nice families who all shared the same feelings we did. Low price, beautiful location, fun pool, nice place to get a home cooked meal and a very friendly staff. We would stay there again and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south dakota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

My parents stayed a week at the budget host. They were looking for someplace clean. they were very satisfied with their room. The hotel is very basic. No telephone, no tv. They have a cafe attached that they say stayed busy all the time they were there.
They were pleased with the staffs helpfulness and the quiet of the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

In my many years traveling on a student budget I have come to know and love the 1 star hotel. What I expect from a 1 star hotel is: 1) a clean room/bathroom; 2) a decent bed; 3) somewhat safe location; 4) a heating/cooling system that heats and cools. All four of those things equals above average. Anything else is extra.

My room at the Badlands Budget Host was relatively clean. The lamp shades were still sporting their original plastic coverings which included specimens of the dead fly variety (stuck in the plastic folds). The bathroom was clean, but there was so much lime or corrosion deposited on the tub fixtures that it took me a few minutes to dislodge the little switch to turn the water from the tub to the shower.

The bed was pretty bad. The mattress was squeaky and old. There was no mattress pad (that I can recall... if there was, it certainly wasn't notable). The sheets were typical 1 star sheets-- about 44 thread count. Pillows were old. I used my own.

The room was hot when I got in to it. The room AC (installed in the wall) was old, but I cranked it up to full blast and it cooled off relatively quickly.

The location, though, was pretty great. The hotel is located at the south entrance of the park and looks out over a spectacular landscape. There is no town to speak of (Interior has a population of around 60), so it's not a place to go to for a good night out. I saw a spectacular sunset in the park and then watched the stars which were captivating. It's a safe location if for no other reason than the town is tiny and the people are friendly. I left my car full of my most precious possessions (with me for a cross country move) and did not bat an eyelash.

The hotel is a family run place and the minimal dining area (they serve breakfast and dinner) is plastered with letters to the owners thanking them for wonderful experiences. While my experience was pretty basic, I can imagine having a truly memorable experience at the place. Also of note, no TVs, phones or radios in the place. Swimming pool is an above ground pool which is surrounded by a deck. The place also has a camp ground abutting it.

If I was returning to the Badlands and not camping, I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

This motel is in the middle of the "badlands" and was impressed with the scenery. The motel had NO phone, TV or heat !

The price was moderate, but considering that the floor squeaked and the toliet was not securely bolted to the floor........
wouldn't stay there again!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — overall condition of the room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Nebraska
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

We stayed in a camping cabin at the Badlands Budget Host Inn and Campground. It was very basic: 2 twin bunk beds, an A/C window unit, a chair, and a couple of electrical outlets. They do not provide linens, so be sure to bring your own.

However, we paid $29.95, plus tax, so the price was hard to beat. The location was also hard to beat if you are traveling to the Badlands, as it is located just a mile or two south of the park.

The bathroom/shower facilities were not the greatest. There were just 2 shower stalls each for the men and the women. We elected to shower during the early evening, so we didn't have to wait, but I imagine that if you waited until later (or until morning), there may have been some waiting involved.

There is a small eating area in the main building, and they were offering a $3.95 all-you-can-eat pancake breakfast. They claim the sour dough starter used for the batter was the same concoction used over 100 years ago in the pioneer days. It was a pretty good way to start the day, especially given your lack of options in that area that time of morning. Other than the Budget Host, the only other place you can get breakfast anywhere close is the restaurant inside the Badlands. For dinner, you can either eat in the Badlands (they serve up a pretty good Indian Taco) or at a bar in Interior that serves up burgers and pizza.


  • Liked — It's just south of the Badlands...you can't stay any closer unless you stay in the park.
  • Disliked — The shower/bathroom facilities.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Badlands Budget Host Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badlands Budget Host Inn

Address: 900 SD Hwy. 377, Interior, SD 57750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Interior
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Interior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel & campground 1 mile south of Badlands National Park. Store & restaurant serving breakfast 7-9 daily. Swimming pool and close to small western town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Badlands Budget Host Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badlands Budget Host Hotel Interior

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badlands Budget Host Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.