We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Know what you are buying when you reserve this hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Step Back Inn

Step Back Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aztec
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Step Back Inn
Save
You added Step Back Inn to your Saves list
103 W. Aztec Blvd., Aztec, NM 87410   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Aztec
North Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
530 reviews 530 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
367 helpful votes 367 helpful votes
“Know what you are buying when you reserve this hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Remember when you went to your grandmothers or aunts house and it wasn't that much fun? Relive those times at the Step Back Inn. The location is good for visiting Aztec Ruins and Salmon Ruins, but for a more comfortable night (with more amenities), you might want to stay someplace else.

I had room 27 which had one queen size bed but otherwise sparsely furnished. There was no desk, no luggage rack (or surface to put luggage on, except for the floor), no in-room coffee/tea setup, no internet connection (they had wi-fi, but it was very slow) and no breakfast. Another guest gave me her luggage rack to use. They do have coffee/tea and rolls in the lobby in the mornings, but no rolls were available the first morning we were there. They do not service rooms on Sundays. And I’m sorry to say that the front desk staff is cranky.

If you want a cozy,homey Victorian decor, stay here. But if you need decent standard hotel amenities, you might want to choose another place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
15
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

My daughter and I drove from Denver to Aztec to see our extended family for a short visit. The Step Back Inn was very comfortably decorated and especially clean. The staff made us feel right at home as if we had known them for some time from the time we entered the lobby until we left at the end of our stay. They have a very comfortable eating area for the continental breakfast and many shadow boxes on the walls showing times from the past. that were very interesting. The continental breakfast was special as they heat pecan rolls when you are ready to eat and had juice and coffee available all the time. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated with very comfortable beds. Loved our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIO RANCHO
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Clean & comfortable. Friendly staff & eager to please. Very good value for the $68.00 room rate. Close to the Animas River Blues Festival at Riverside Park. About a mile from the World Heritage Center Aztec Ruins. Across the street from a Safeway grocery store that also had a Starbucks. Aztec Restrauant on the next block had a delicious steak and egg breakfast for $6.95. Hotel has homemade cinammon rolls complimentary but you have to ask the desk clerk for them. Coffee, juice available in the morning and tea and lemonade in the afternoon. Hugh balcony upstairs with table and chairs. They probably need to replace their towels and linens soon, and the room we were in could probably stand to have the shower head replaced for those needing more water pressure, but we would definitely recommend it, and would stay there again ourself.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, TX
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

A well-located, quiet, clean motel with a great staff. The homemade cinnamon rolls for breakfast are great. I have been a frequent visitor to Aztec & Farmington for ~20 years.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

We tried the Step Back Inn on the return leg of a trip from Albuquerque to Canyonlands. It's an oddity in some ways, combining an old west look with a fairly generic motel construction, but we were quite impressed overall. Staff was very helpful with things like finding a place in Aztec to print our boarding passes for the flight out the next day (in Aztec's nearby lovely public library). Breakfast is very simple, i.e. powdered cream for your coffee, but the rooms are comfortable, clean, and everything worked well. Some of the construction quality isn't first rate but only as that relates to finish carpentry. The rooms are very comfortably furnished and quiet, and the vintage photos on the wall give a fascinating history of the area.

Overall, we rate this above average compared to average small town motel. It's family-owned, and that shows. I'd pick it over the big chains in Farmington (which we tried on the outbound leg), but you have to want its charm and personality over the bland sameness that you'd get there.

Icing on the cake for us is that I accidently left a memory card from my camera in the room with half of the pictures of our vacation. They located it easily and sent it to us.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We called to reserve a room here and told them we would hold it with a credit card but wanted to pay cash when we arrived, we were told we would have to leave a $100.00 deposit. I told them we had stayed there numerous times and never tore up anything, we are christian people and just mainly would be slepping there because we spend the daytime hours with our children sightseeing and etc. But these people were very rude and said that does not matter, so we have never stayed there anymore.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

My husband and I attended the Blues Festival. He checked in and put our things in the room and then walked back to the festival. We didn't get back to the room until after 11:00pm. When he turned down the bed, there was pubic hair and a huge blood stain. The other bed in the room was harder than a piece of plywood. The front desk is not manned after 10:00pm, so there was no one to complain to. We complained the next morning and were given $10 off the room.....a $90 room. I wrote a letter to the proprietor and explained the situation. He/she sent the letter back with a note saying we should stay somewhere else in the future. I guess blood-stained sheets, covered with someone else's pubic hair is the normal there. That type of reply from an inn owner tells me that's the way it is and we are not going to change our standards. If you're in the area, just drive on to Durango or Farmington, don't stay in a dirty hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Step Back Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step Back Inn

Address: 103 W. Aztec Blvd., Aztec, NM 87410
Location: United States > New Mexico > Aztec
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Aztec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Step Back Hotel Aztec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Step Back Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.