We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small town, lots of info and hands on at the museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aztec Museum and Pioneer Village

Aztec Museum and Pioneer Village
125 N. Main Ave, Aztec, NM 87410
+1 505-334-9829
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Attractions in Aztec
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Aztec Museum and Pioneer Village let visitors experience pioneer life in the American West. Aztec's history of human habitation goes back a thousand years, when Native Americans settled along the Animas River. Pioneer Village gives visitors the opportunity to revisit a community of the early American West. Children will enjoy climbing aboard the caboose and going in a one-room schoolhouse, just two of the many Pioneer Village buildings and exhibits. Visit Aztec Museum and Pioneer Village to learn about modern Aztec's early days.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Small town, lots of info and hands on at the museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

It may look small from the outside but fully loaded and extends outside. So much to see from history and culture to the oil industry and geology.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aztec, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An amazing look back in time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

What a great place! So much history right in downtown! It is also very affordable. I would highly recommend checking out the museum.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anahuac, TX
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“WE LOVED IT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a nice surprise. My husband's great uncle was the sheriff in Aztec, NM from 1909-1916 so while in this area we decided to stop at the museum and see what we could find out. The lady there was wonderful. She pointed us to the Pioneer Village where there was several reconstructed buildings to check out, a General Store, Post Office, Doctor's office, Jail and Sheriff's office. When we went into the sheriffs office we found a photo of my husband's uncle on the desk. When we walked back through the museum the lady had pulled a file with alot of information on the sheriff and our family. We really appreciated all her help. If you like history. You'll love this place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“early 1900 reconstructions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Inside there are a couple of rooms of limited interest, to me at least.
Except for the barber's including a bath tub as would have been used.
Outside there are a collection of 1900 era buildings; school ,shop ,post office
,sheriff's office, bank, church rec
Very intrredting, could have Bern made better by employing actors to bring the town to 'life'.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Aztec Museum is a great place to learn the history of Aztec and surrounding areas. It has both inside and outside exhibits that will appeal to all ages. It has a friendly, helpful staff that are willing to tell you stories of the colorful past of the area. Children enjoy the out buildings, expecially getting to climb into the caboose.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aztec Museum and Pioneer Village also viewed

 

Been to Aztec Museum and Pioneer Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aztec Museum and Pioneer Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.