We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aztec Ruins National Monument

Aztec Ruins National Monument
P. O. Box 640, Aztec, NM 87410
505-334-6174
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Aztec
Type: Ancient Ruins, Landmarks
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spectacular ruins where visitors can enter the only reconsructed kiva in the Southwest.
Simi Valley, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I liked the ruins tour very much. You are on your own so can proceed at your own pace. They have a nice gift shop and I bought a few things to take to my secretary.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    52
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Although it's mis-named as Aztec Ruins, it's really Puebloan, the history of the place is fascinating. It was very quiet when we were there & were lucky to have a ranger all to ourselves. She explained how it's thought that the site was built all at the same time & there were probably 2,000 rooms there. It was a highly organised society.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was about the 7th NPS site we visited on this trip and possibly our favorite. A great little park that helps history come alive for both the children and for the adults. This is a site that has easy to understand explanations and the ability for the children to go in and touch the buildings.
The park is small and easy to see the whole park/exhibit in less than 1.5 hours.

The rangers and volunteers were all very friendly and helpful. The junior ranger program was simple, but got the children thinking about what they were learning. This is a simple place, kind of reminded me of many of the California Missions (the way it was laid out and the simplicity).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great History Lesson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The pueblo people lived here 900-1000 years ago. You can see first hand how smart and practical they were in the buildings. Small, but well worth the stop, especially if you can't get to Mesa Verde National Park.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Mixed- nice ruins, not enough interpretive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Family visited here while I did something else. We've been to Bandelier and other similar sites. According to them, the ruins are nice but there could've been more explanation and interpretation. My wife was disappointed that the plants weren't labeled while my daughter said the bookstore was a little small. Those sort of comments. My son liked it and had a great time. He did the junior Ranger thing and got a badge. The ladies give it a "3", he gives it a "5", so I balanced that out with a "4". Might be more exciting in summer as I bet they run a little tighter ship, then. No complaints, mind you, just had the potential for more.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aztec Ruins National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Aztec Ruins National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aztec Ruins National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.