We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly Disappointed on New Year's Eve” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Atlantic Hotel to your Saves list
Atlantic Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 North Main Street, Berlin, MD 21811   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berlin
Naples, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Terribly Disappointed on New Year's Eve”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

My husband and i paid almost $300 to attend the New Year's Eve celebration at the Atlantic Hotel and were terribly disappointed in the evening. The event had been billed as upscale and sounded lovely. However, from the moment we arrived, things seemed less than had been promised. Instead of being seated with a group of people as we had requested when they asked our preference, we were seated alone. That, however, was the least of our disappointments. Upon ordering his first glass of wine, my husband asked our waitress to keep an eye on us throughout the evening and was assured that she would; however, there were instances that she disappeared for great lengths of time and we spent time waiting and searching for her. We were later told that our event was not their only job for the evening! Appetizers and drinks were to be served in a separate room about an hour before the affair began so that couples could mingle and enjoy. However, that was not the case. Appetizers were served in the same room as the event. This, too, could have been fine if there had been an adequate amount of appetizers served. There was not. In addition, the appetizers were weak and not up to par with the rave reviews the woman who booked our tickets had extolled. (We were not the only ones who felt this way.) Dinner was a disaster! Our lobsters were overcooked, rubbery and cold by the time they served. Whatever was in the stuffing was unappealing and undesirable, and the dessert could have been from a box! What a let down. i had to use the ladies' room and found that it was the same restroom that all the customers in the Drummer's Cafe AS WELL AS those who had come to enjoy the outdoor festivities out in the street were using which meant a long, cold (the door was constantly being opened and closed as those who had come in from the outside merely to use the restroom returned) wait. It definitely took all the glamour and class out of having attended what was billed as an upscale evening with entertainment. The entertainment was not bad but even in the tiny room designated for this event, one could barely hear what the girl was singing. At the end of the evening, everyone was surprised to learn that our credit cards had not been swiped upon our making the reservations and thus, we all had to go thru that with waitresses figuring out whose bill was whose. All bills were different depending upon the alcoholic beverages consumed. Needless to say, we shall not return again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    31
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
53
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Pines, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Everything was ok until I inquired about using my Solstice gift card (now defunct, but the restaurant was taken over by The Atlantic) in their dining room. She declined to accept it, stating that they 'honered the cards for about 6 months but there were so many of them given out that we don't accept them anymore'. (Our card wasn't 'given out' but purchased) I then asked if she knew where either of the former owners/managers (Nino Mancari and Sam Chmar) were working now so that I could attempt to use the gift, and that's when the attitude came, stating that she had no idea where they went. I suggested that some of the kitchen staff might know and she refused to ask them. Too curt for me.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Stayed one night as much cheaper then the hotels in Ocean Beach and what a find! Although the room was tiny it was clean and the bed was unbelievably comfortable and afterall that was all we needed. We found the staff very helpful and although the town is very small with charming old fashioned shops we found the evening sitting out in the rocking chairs on the front porch, with a cold beer watching the occasional car go by, very relaxing after a day at awful Ocean Beach.
If you want to go back in time this is the place. Shame that for the price breakfast was not included, would have rated higher.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

This hotel was originally built in the late 1870's and is furnished with pieces from that era. Adding to the charm is the fact that the movie Runaway Bride was filmed there and in the surrounding shops of Berlin.

The hotel is beautiful, and the service was absolutely perfect. The cheaper priced rooms are a little small, but what they lack in size they make up for in charm.

The staff was beyond friendly, always going out of their way to say hello and smiling.

The beds are super comfy and the hotel atmosphere was relaxing and calm.

There's also an awesome balcony on each floor, providing a wonderful way to relax at the end of a busy day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

Unless you want to be treated as something less than a valued customer. Our experience was horrible; horrendous wait, we were shoved around like cattle, then told we could leave if we didn't like it. While the food is good, they clearly do not appreciate your business or value their customers. They act like they are doing you a favor by taking your business.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed here for four nights. Our room and the hotel were clean and charming. We thoroughly enjoyed local musician Phil Knight who plays acoustic guitar in the small restaurant/bar on Sunday nights. (I highly recommend you go see this talented local musician! He plays other local beach locales as well). The bed had a feather topper and was extremely comfortable. The room did not have an alarm/clock or blowdryer. This hotel could be a real find and destination location in this quiet very small town close to the bustle of Ocean City beach. I was surprised that it seemed to be at least 1/2 vacant in the high summer season. However, the staff were not entirely pleasant which ruined it a little for us. For the price, I would expect a higher level of gracious service. Perhaps the staff needs training and the hotel should be marketed better. We were mostly ignored and treated not so nicely (in small ways) on two occasions.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

We have been vacationing at the Atlantic Hotel in Berlin, MD for many years. We were sorry to see the hotel go downhill with the previous owners, who seemed to focus more on running a "trendy" restaurant. Fortunately, the new owners have brought the hotel back to life! Our stay on the third floor was quiet and comfortable, with a huge bed, wall-mounted flat screen tv that could be rotated to face different sitting areas in the room, and a large bath. The antique furnishings throughout are beautiful. And Drummer's Cafe is re-opened with a menu that has both comfort food and interesting new creations. If you've been considering giving the Atlantic a try, now's the time! Just one thing ... I would recommend asking for a room that is *not* directly above Drummers as the music level can get a little high at night.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Address: 2 North Main Street, Berlin, MD 21811
Location: United States > Maryland > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic 1895 Atlantic Hotel, located in the Village of Berlin on Maryland’s Eastern Shore, has recently re-opened under new management with a totally new upgrade. Victorian Period guest rooms and suites, a Gardner’s Cottage and the return of the historic Drummer’s Café & Bar are but some of the exciting new features of the hotel.Positioned in the center of Berlin’s Historic District, The Atlantic Hotel offers visitors and guests authentic Maryland cuisine daily with lunch and dinner in the historic Drummer’s Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.