We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds, clean room, great setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Berlin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic Hotel
Save
You added Atlantic Hotel to your Saves list
2 North Main Street, Berlin, MD 21811   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berlin
Oradell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Comfortable beds, clean room, great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

We stayed here Good Friday evening. It was the start of a couple of days biking on the Eastern Shore. We booked a couple of weeks early, and since we were running late, we called ahead to confirm our reservations. They had us for the next night, but were happy to move their reservation to that night.

We checked in at about 9, and were above the kitchen. We asked about the noise level, and were told the kitchen will quiet down in an hour. Since we were headed to the restaurant, we accepted this. At about 11 PM, the kitchen was still going strong, and we weren't sleeping. My wife went and talked to the manager, and the kitchen noise decreased, and by midnight was done.

The hotel was pretty much empty, they could have easily placed us somewhere else. But we went with the flow.

Overall the hotel is very nice. It's like stepping back in time. The rooms were clean, the hotel is quiet after the kitchen shuts down, and we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    31
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
12
51
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ocean city maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

the hotel was closed jan. 1 '09 and was reopened march 15 '09. under new management.we found it completely restored to its former glory,rooms reasonable and clean. the cafe was a treeat.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

This is a lovely, quirky hotel, more like staying in someone's period home than in a hotel. And the small town is as if you had stepped back in time, with a true soda fountain next door. The furnishings were beautiful, not over the top, but there were some odd touches. The television was extremely small and so outdated that there was no remote control. And the linens were as if they were period as well--thin and rough towels. The walls are thin, as are the windows, you can hear what is going on outside. But it is a short drive to Assateague, a beautiful national park, and a much nicer choice than hotels in Ocean City, Maryland. Not really a place for children, as it is quiet, and much like an older home that has been loving cared for.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

Booked over phone, website not working. Hotel unique but over-priced. Could use better towels and bed linens. No tissues in room. Generally, service was friendly and polite. Bathrooms need updating. Size of TV not comensurate with price point of room. Would stay there again but not at this price. I had the feeling that the hotel did not measure up to the excellent quality of the restaurant.

  • Liked — historic uniqueness
  • Disliked — poor quality of linens and towels, substandard bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

Background: We booked a stay for a full week as we were in the area visiting family.

Check-In
-Did not share any hotel info, coffee times, etc. Very weak.

Room
-Had cobwebs in corners
-Very musty

Service
-They could not care any less regarding their hotel guests. Our room was not made up one day. No new towels, etc. I went to front desk - they said housekeeping had gone home for the day. Then said they would come up. Phone rang in a few minutes and they told me that either my wife or I had told housekeeping that we did not need anything. Since we left the room that day at 8am there was obviously no way we told anyone that. They basically argued with me - I said I just want some towels. They brought up 2 towels. Wash cloths had holes in them. And the staff had an attitude. (Remember I paid for a week long stay - you would think service would recognize that).
-Housekeeping never left any new soap or shampoo. Never took any used glasses from the room - or left new ones. Wet towels were left on another day. (Luckily we found the storage closet with towels and soap). I did ask for more soap one evening - it took 3 people to try to find it.
-Bathroom sink was never cleaned.
-No spare roll of toilet paper.
-Several of the rooms (two for sure) had permanent occupants. I think they were staff at the hotel, or family of hotel staff.

Bar/Food
-Service was weak to say the least. If you sat outside (where they have tables) - they never came to wait on you. You had to flag them over like trying to get a cab in the city. This happened on more than one occasion.
-Not one chocolate item on desert menu - just seems odd.

Coffee in the morning was not available until 8am. Forget it if you are an early bird.

No one was around for check out. Office was locked and I just slid keys under the door. Upon exiting we ran into another hotel guest who was locked out with his young daughter. Their key did not work - he said the front desk told them they would have to "jiggle" it to get it to work. What an operation they run.

They obviously focus more on bar patrons than they do any of their guests.

The hotel has so much potential - but it is clearly being run into the ground. No facility up keep. Ceilings have water stains and leaks.

We will not be staying here again - and do not recommend it for anyone.

  • Disliked — Staff did not care one bit about hotel guests
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

Wife and I stayed at the Atlantic several years ago, enjoyed a memorable stay and decided to return with high expectations. It was not to be. In general, the Hotel showed signs of wear and tear and neglect. Carpets and furniture were old. Some rooms seemed permanently occupied by staff personnel. Elevator certificate expired last February. A/C unit in room was not working but we survived by opening the windows-no sash they fall back down if not careful. No one escorted us to our room or made inquiry during our stay as to how we found things. Amenities are bare bones. No on site internet service. We were told to try to catch the signal from an adjacent establishment, which we could not. They used to include breakfast, but no more. Two containers of coffee and cups is all you get. Fortunately breakfast can be obtained at local establishments near by for a reasonable cost. Some entertainment at night but the volumn of the music was way too high for the size of the bar room. Bar service was good but the dress code could be improved. Main dining room was set up for a wedding so we decided both nights to dine at the number one spot in town, next to the Hotel named the Globe Theater. Hotel has seen better days I'm afraid and it is not worth the money to stay there.

  • Liked — Bar
  • Disliked — As guests, were never made to feel special.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, NJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

I was told about this hotel by a friend who lives in the area. We had a very enjoyable stay over the Easter weekend. There was a great deal of activity going on while we were there, but I understand that it is usually a quiet little town. The staff at the hotel were very accomodating. When we checked into our room, we were a little disappointed in its size. We asked for upgrades to a larger room and they took care of it right away. I would recommend booking the larger rooms, as the smaller rooms are very small. The restaurant and bar on the property are excellent. The food is great and the bar serves the best fresh squeezed juice drinks I have ever had. The town itself is very clean, friendly and safe. The downtown area has been beautifully preserved. The townspeople have obviously worked hard to preserve the architecture and overall feel of the place. I would recommend a stay at the Atlantic, but it is probably best suited for families and retirees.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Address: 2 North Main Street, Berlin, MD 21811
Location: United States > Maryland > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic 1895 Atlantic Hotel, located in the Village of Berlin on Maryland’s Eastern Shore, has recently re-opened under new management with a totally new upgrade. Victorian Period guest rooms and suites, a Gardner’s Cottage and the return of the historic Drummer’s Café & Bar are but some of the exciting new features of the hotel.Positioned in the center of Berlin’s Historic District, The Atlantic Hotel offers visitors and guests authentic Maryland cuisine daily with lunch and dinner in the historic Drummer’s Café. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.