We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fried Oysters on the Eastern Shore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Hotel Restaurant

Atlantic Hotel Restaurant
2 N. Main St., Berlin, MD 21811
410-641-3589
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 55 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Salisbury, MD
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best Fried Oysters on the Eastern Shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We drove to Berlin to the Drummer’s Café in the Atlantic Hotel for our 8th lunch visit. Margaret had a Dewar’s and Soda (6), while Lyd had Club Soda (2.50) and I had Iced-tea (2.50). Lyd and Margaret each had the Fried Oyster Appetizer (12.50) while I had the Seared Tuna Appetizer (13.95). The ladies then both moved on to Crab Cake Sandwiches (12.95) and I had a cheese burger (9.95) sans bun, but with sautéed onions added.
These are, in our opinion, the best Fried Oysters on the Eastern Shore. Rather than a breading or a meal, Chef Daleo uses a seafood "dust" and the natural "liquor" from the oysters.
Chef Daleo is also the chef de cuisine at Fager's Island in Ocean City.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    23
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
crittenden,virginia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“great setting, great food, good price for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We always stop for lunch when ever we travel on rt 113. We try to plan it so we can go by Berlin and stop at the Atlantic hotel for lunch. It's a very pretty area, and great atmosphere for lunch.The food is always good. There are also cute shops in the town to walk around after lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“For The Taste of Berlin MD, Start Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Get in your Time Machine and be transported back to a better, more civil time at this restaurant. Was the quaint town of Berlin built around this restaurant - or the other way around?
The restaurant decor, service, and of course the food, are all A+ in every one of our visits the The Atlantic.
It's a few miles from the beaches of Ocean City, but the laid back resort town feel is there. Perfect casual service without being stuffy.
Start your walking tour of this tiny town from here.
You'll love it. Go.
TIPS: For a little history, ask your bartender why the cafe is named "Drummer's". Also...Don't be shy about asking for a tour of the hotel upstairs. Check out the rooms. You just may want to stay.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
23336
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Oh MY yes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Lunch with the girlfriends, drinks and appetizers with adult children or dinner with my love- it's sometimes fabulous and ALWAYS good. We have most recently enjoyed Thanksgiving there -- looking forward to our return visit. ( Psst - you will also).

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We are "locals" who decided to have our Thanksgiving dinner here this year. Both the kitchen and dining room staff were well prepared for the Thanksgiving crowd and we enjoyed a superb meal. The food, as always, was excellent, as was the service! It was also nice to be able to order from the regular menu if you didn't want the traditional turkey dinner. The Atlantic Hotel is always a good choice!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Atlantic Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.