We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer, no food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burley Oak Brewing Company

Burley Oak Brewing Company
10016 Old Ocean City Blvd, Berlin, MD 21811
443.513.4647
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 16 Activities in Berlin
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
baltimore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great beer, no food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We visited Burley Oak while the women shopped the antique stores in town. The bar has character and the beer was very good. Most of the beers i tried had quite a bit of flavor and you can tell the brewers must know what they are doing. You can sample the various beers available and then settle on a pint of what you like best. We asked about food and they do not have a kitchen yet and i don't think there are any plans in the near future to add one. You are able to have something from town delivered or bring your own in - this is more of a hassle - i'd prefer to order at the bar. They also do not have any bar munchies - pretzels, peanuts, etc. The bartender said that they put so much time and effort to create good craft beer that they didn't want to spoil the experience with crappy food. I like to munch on something when i have a couple of beers, and i think they will need to add some kind of food. I you want some good, quality craft beer on the MD eastern shore, this place is worth a stop.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Shore, MD
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Hurley Burley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

WE enjoy our visits to Burley Oak with a gruop of friends. They didn't have food so we ordered pizza and had it delivered to us there. The ber selection is good and we enjoy it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagsboro, Delaware, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local beer staple.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

One of the few local breweries, defiantly worth the stop.
Ask for it at local bars, most have at least on tap.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Terrific beer and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Some very unique beers, very flavorful, and the staff is very knowledgeable. We sampled a variety of beers including a double IPA, a couple of rye ales, and some Belgians. They were all excellent. The pub is very rustic and bareboned, no food, nothing but beer. Basically, a perfect environment for sampling a variety of great beers. Definitely worth the trip to Berlin and we will visit again soon.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“New Brewery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A new brewery we heard about from a waitress in Ocean City. We stopped in, sampled a few beers (create your own flight- $2 a sample). A pretty good variety of craft beer styles to choose from. We sampled about 6 of the brews available. The craft beers we sampled were good, not great. We did not go on the tour, since they are only offered on Saturday and Sunday and we visited on a Monday. I am sure the tour would be interesting, especially for those who are into craft beer or home brewing. No food is served. Homemade non-alcoholic root beer is also available.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burley Oak Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Burley Oak Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burley Oak Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.