We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for special occasion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
11501 Maid At Arms Ln, Berlin, MD 21811
(410) 213-9444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 55 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Welcome to Ruth's Chris Steak House located in West Ocean City/Berlin Maryland. We welcome you to enjoy the very best in cuisine and hospitality. Ruth's Chris is the number one Steak House In America. We look forward to serving you.
Salisbury, Maryland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“great for special occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

food and service is very good- on the expensive side but worth it for special occasion. not anythong else anywhere near as good in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    16
    9
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishopville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Ruth's Chris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Beautiful atmosphere! This restaurant stays true to the Ruth's Chris Franchise, food is consistently good, but expensive. Love the bar offerings as this is truly an upscale place to eat. Great off-season specials too

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Md.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great off season deals for great steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We have been here at least 8 times since they open. We go off season for their dinner specials. Steaks are always top notch. Service is always outstanding. Cream Burl. (sp. eek) is the best my husband has ever had. Off the beaten path but truly worth it!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, MD
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Best fine dining restaurant in O.C. -- or anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Our first visit:
For the longest time, I had been talking with my husband about dining at Ruth's Chris Steak House. He's a steak and potatoes kind of guy. While on one of our many trips to Ocean City, Maryland, we dined for the first time at Ruth's Chris. The Steak House immediately became our favorite restaurant not just in O.C. – but of anywhere! We love Ruth's Chris so much that we purchase their gift cards using our American Express Rewards points.

Location:
First of all, even if you're not a golfer (we aren't) you will love the beautiful, quiet and serene setting overlooking the greens and tall swaying pine trees from the large restaurant windows. The Steak House is tucked away about a mile off of Route 50, so you're away from the hustle and bustle of the beach resort. Look for the large Ruth’s Chris billboard on the (outbound) north-side of Route 50, located just a few miles past the Route 50 bridge in West Ocean City.

Nature:
As you meander around the winding forested road alongside the golf course to Ruth's Chris, you will pass by numerous ponds, lakes and a stream. There you might see a Great Blue Heron spearing for food, Cormorants, a variety of ducks, Canada Geese, Ospreys and hawks flying overhead. Earlier this spring we saw a brood of goslings and ducklings in the pond just beyond the restaurant parking lot.

History:
If you are one who appreciates historical preservation, the O.C. Ruth's Chris is the place for you! The restaurant is located within the GlenRiddle Clubhouse and is open to the public. The clubhouse was built in the 1920’s and was home to the legendary race horses Man Of War and War Admiral. You will pass by a preserved water tower with historical marker near the restaurant entrance.

Restaurant decor:
Much of the original woodwork was restored and is used in the decor of the restaurant. The stall doors are used as table tops in the bar and grill and you can also find some original woodwork throughout the clubhouse and restaurant. Plush leather chairs surround the dining room tables. There a long hallway in the restaurant filled with paintings, photos and articles about the famous race horses trained and stabled at GlenRiddle. At the end of the hallway is a souvenir shop for golfers.

The Fare:
Ruth's Chris ‘signature’ is serving USDA prime steaks that are seared at 1800 degrees Fahrenheit and served on ceramic plates heated to 500 degrees Fahrenheit. A tablespoon of butter is added just before the plates leave the kitchen to create the signature ‘sizzle’. Another ‘signature’ is their Peppercorn Brandy Sauce which my husband loves on his Filet Mignons. Our steaks (Filet Mignons) were cooked to perfection and the mouth-watering taste is us unlike any steak we have ever eaten.

The À la carte side-dishes (vegetables & potatoes) are large portions enough for two people. We have become fond of the scalloped potatoes and enjoy the seasoned string beans. As an appetizer, we order the lettuce wedge (split/shared) with thick, delicious blue cheese dressing. Tasty bread is also served with your meal.

Service:
Impeccable! The servers are personable and very knowledgeable about the menu & wine selections and offer suggestions. They pay close attention to how you wish your steak to be prepared. In addition to your server, another restaurant staffer offers various bottles of sparkling water and discreetly removes the crumbs from your table with a butter knife.

Hours:
One thing we really like about the O.C. Ruth's Chris is that the restaurant opens at 11:30 a.m. for lunch, instead of the usual 5:00 p.m. You can order most dinner items during lunch with a few exceptions. Your server can advise.

Directions:
Visit the website: www.ruthschris.com -- There you can search Ocean City (Berlin), MD, Ruth's Chris Steak House. You will see a Google map on the left where you can search for directions. Also on the website are menu selections and general information. The street address is: 11501 Maid at Arms Way, Berlin, MD 21811.

Fine Dining:
Remember, Ruth's Chris is a fine dining restaurant. You'll pay more for the food, but it's worth every penny. You won't be disappointed and will keep coming back each time you visit Ocean City, Maryland. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellently prepared food, great service, warm & lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband & I loke Ruth's Chris - he loves their lamb, I like the steaks and we both like many of their sides. We were celebrating our anniversary with a long weekend stay in O.C. We saw most local restaurants have mixed and many poor reviews, so we decided to go with what we know as far as experience t other locations of this chain. So happy we did. It sits amidst a development (GlenRidge if I recall correctly) which is very near Ocean Downs horse race track, so the theme of the buildings in the community are stables, etc...and this restaurant shares the theme - a nice difference as compared to the 'shopping-town' style of the ones we usually go to for special occasions (Tysons Corner or Arlington, VA). The interior was warm, the stqaff welcoming and very attentive (we love that the servers are truly trained to serve and be attentive without hovering and seeming to push you out the door). Svetlana was our server and Timber was her assistant. Both were personable, efficient, and courteous. Our appetizer was the lump crab cakes and I make them very similarly...virtually no filler, lovely sweet crab...could eat them right this moment again! We both selected the classic chopped salad to start and it was delicious - the only thing is next time I get it, i would asked for a bit less onion (the onion quantity was probably perfect; I do not like raw onion quite as much so forgot to mention that when I ordered it). Rod got his lamb fix and I ordered a surf & turf (petit filet of beef and small lobster tale) Our sides were au gratin potatoes, creamed spinach, and the mushrooms. Everything was cooked and presently well. Rod's lamb was a perfect medium and he shared a bite - divine...my filet and lobster were excellent ...served with melted (drawn) butter and freshly-squeezed lemon. We were gited with a dessert to share in honor of our anniversary (sinful chocolate (pure ganache?!) cake...Lovely meal, great selection (oh, the Beringer meritage wine was wonderful, too).....

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.