We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great inexpensive restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Taj

Cafe Taj
1379 Beverly Rd. (Old Dominion Dr.), Marketplace, McLean, VA 22101
703-827-0444
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Taj is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 117 Restaurants in McLean
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Old Dominion Drive
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great inexpensive restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The food is always good and they have a very good lunch buffet. It has convenient parking and good take out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't order takeout!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Usually this is a pretty reliable restaurant, but we just had a bad experience with a takeout order. Our butter chicken was not at all like what they serve in the restaurant. It was dried out, probably leftover chicken with bone, gristle and who knows what else! They have lost a customer.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was the first time I visited Cafe Taj. Nice ambiance. It had both indoor and outdoor seating. The service was very good. Friendly staff. I ordered Chicken Dhania Korma which was excellent. I also ordered the Butter Chicken which was not good. It had no spice or real flavor. I felt I was eating spaghetti sauce with chicken. We also had the vegetable Samosa which was great and a healthy appetizer portion. Overall a very good restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious, affordable Indian food, in a pleasant ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

One wouldn't expect McLean, VA--a high-end community next door to Tysons Corner--to harbor a restaurant offering high quality food at very reasonable prices, but if you're a fan of high quality Indian food, served in a pleasant atmosphere by attentive servers, then you'd be as much of a fan of Cafe Taj as I am. I've eaten there several times, and every meal, including those had by my companions, was excellent.

Our most recent appetizer--the chef's special platter, which consisted of spicy chicken tikka, tandoori shrimp, and seekh kabob--was delicious. Our bread--the onion tulcha--was soft, warm, and flavorful. Meat lovers would love my entree, the Tandoori Lamb, and all would enjoy my companion's entree, the Tandoori Salmon, as well as the various chicken dishes I've had on previous visits. Their rice pudding was the best we'd ever had, though we didn't care for their carrot halwa dessert.

Oh, I almost forgot, we used a groupon for our meals at Cafe Taj, which made our meals even more of a deal than they would have been otherwise.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
598 reviews 598 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT INDIAN CUISINE, GREAT SERVICE, REASONABLY PRICED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We went here with very good friends who wanted to introduce us to Café Taj and superb Indian cuisine. They were right on the mark! The food was excellent and the service was impeccable.
We enjoyed the Tandore Salmon and Tikka Chicken. The accompanying sauces augmented experience immeasurably. The restaurant is relatively small and is located in the Beverly Road area of McLean. Service is appropriately attentive and cheerful. Reservations are available at 703-827-0444. The price for this meal was very reasonable and represented a good value. We recommend that you give a try!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Taj also viewed

McLean, Fairfax County
McLean, Fairfax County
 
McLean, Fairfax County
McLean, Fairfax County
 

Been to Cafe Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Taj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.