We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Falls Park

Great Falls Park
9200 Old Dominion Drive, McLean, VA 22102
703-285-2965
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 attractions in McLean
Type: Parks, National Parks, Bodies of Water
Activities: People-watching, White-water rafting
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: An 800 acre park located just off the Potomac river.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Thanks to someone on Tripadvisor I learned of Great Falls. We stopped with our pet on our way to Gettysburg and happy that we did. It is a nice walk to the different look out points and the views are just beautiful. So glad that we found out about this place!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    133
    21
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“W O W What a fantastic water view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Well worth the parking and hike out to the falls. Bring your dog for the walk, some rock climbing required but not too difficult. The view is definitely worth the hike and effort.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Really Cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Definitely a great place to hike/bike and enjoy the outdoors.

The Maryland side has better views of the actual falls than the VA side in my opinion.

If you are looking to do something outdoors with your significant other, family or whoever this is a great place to go

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ive been there twice and was a great experience both the times. Can be a really good family place. BBQ spots. lots of sightings areas. moderate level trails. good place for kayaking n water rafting. Could be a great picnic day for a family.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“breath taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It's such a beautiful place, absolutely wonderful! I went in summer time but I bet that in Fall it looks 10x's better! It's a great place to distract yourself from reality, to enjoy some alone time, hike or even walk your dog.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Falls Park also viewed

 

Been to Great Falls Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Falls Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Great Falls Park to your Saves list