We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great natural attraction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Falls National Park

Great Falls National Park
9200 Old Dominion Drive, McLean, VA 22102
703-285-2965
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in McLean
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: National Parks, Bodies of water, Nature & Parks
Activities: White-water rafting, People-watching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An 800 acre park located just off the Potomac river.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great natural attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

we visited the Virginia side.the view from overlook 1 was somehow difficult as the rocks are not perfectly arranged.we visited there twice,the first day it was rainy..so we couldn't enjoy properly.and found that place really dangerous in a rainy day as the rocks were so slippery.but the next day,we visited,it was sunny and the place was just glowing..it was just more than awesome..the green mountain,white falls and fully sunny blue sky made my day the great one.Enjoyed a lot!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    153
    23
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coarsegold, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a wonderful gem just outside DC. The river is spectacular and you can choose between walking a little or a lot. Great Falls Park is a very pleasant diversion from the hectic pace of the city!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great falls
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This park is wonderful for family visits, hiking, running, bird watching and wildlife watching. The park rangers are always helpful. The falls are beautiful to see and photograph. The trails are well kept and you can hike for miles in either direction from the main park.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
506 helpful votes 506 helpful votes
“Get outside DC and enjoy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a park that's a bit outside DC but it is fascinating because it offers a bit of nature to counter balance all the amazing architecture that DC is famous for. Trust me, it's worth the challenge of getting there. If you go, take a picnic and comfortable shoes. Last time I did a hike here it was on a day trip I organized with colleagues. It was on a weekday and so relaxing! Weekends are more busy so keep that in mind.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Visit the Maryland side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We visited the Maryland side and had a great view of the falls, and saw several kayakers navigate the rapids. By visiting the Maryland side, we were able to walk along side the C&O (Chesapeake and Ohio) Canal. You are able to view locks 18 and 19. There is a small snack bar near the parking lot. The day we arrived, they were not collecting fees.

Be sure to watch out for geese droppings!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Falls National Park also viewed

 
McLean, Fairfax County
 

Been to Great Falls National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Falls National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.