We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge and crowded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tysons Corner Center

Tysons Corner Center
1961 Chain Bridge Road, McLean, VA 22102
888-2TYSONS; 703-893-9400
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in McLean
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest shopping center in the Washington, DC area and one of the top 10 largest in the country, Tysons Corner Center offers an unbeatable mix of more than 300 department and specialty stores. Our "who's who" of retail includes Nordstrom, Bloomingdale's, Macy's, Lord & Taylor, L.L.Bean, Apple, Restoration Hardware, Coach, Crate & Barrel, Gap, The Disney Store, H&M, Talbots, Pottery Barn and Pottery Barn Kids, Sephora, Williams-Sonoma Grande Cuisine, Kenneth Cole, Brooks Brothers, Ann Taylor and Bang & Olufsen.
danville va
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Huge and crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Nice selection of stores, mostly high end. Very, very crowded. Nightmare traffic and you must have patience, but if you want to shop it's one of the places to go!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    28
    9
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“best place to shop in VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

One of the best places to shop in VA, i really enjoyed spending most of my time there.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Sure beats the other suburban malls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I write this w/o having visited Potomac Mills or Columbia Malls, which I have heard area also great for shopping to make a day-trip out of it if you're more than a short distance out. Tysons Corner does need to do a better job of separating its neighbor across the street (Tyson's Galleria) since the first time we went to look for it many years ago as newbies to town, we didn't know the difference and wondered what the fuss was all about. That meaning Tyson's Galleria seemed like a snobbatorium of high-end shops with no food outlets except some high-end places you could hardly afford on an average family budget.

So....things I like about this place....it's big, and has a lot of variety. Visiting yesterday, we found a new Olive Oil and Balsamic vinegar shop that specializes in only those two items. Who'd have known there were so many fantastic varieties...and the owner knows his stuff!!! Then there's L.L. Bean. Since the outlet in Hagerstown closed their L.L. Bean outlet, it's the closest one other than Columbia mall (equally distant). There are plenty of places to get food ranging from low-end cost (Mickey-D's) to higher end, and then Gordon Beirsch for a great craft brew and some decent items. I haven't visited the movie theater, but it seems like it's got a great selection and lots of screens. The food court isn't your run-of-the-mill garbage you find in every other suburban mall either. The American Girl store is hard to keep any pre-teen girl out of, but prices there are asinine for a stupid doll and all the trappings that go with it. The Apple and Sony stores are something you don't see in every mall either. I heard there was supposed to be a Microsoft store, but I guess I must have missed it...sorry MS....you need to have better signage and marketing for me to really even care.

Getting in and out is what can be a big pain in the butt. With all the road work, it's not really hard to find your way in, but getting out and back to 495 can be a pain. Nothing is really well marked, and if you're not familiar with the roads around there, it's simply a maze of similar-looking routes that could lead just about anywhere. Even I got turned around yesterday and I've been there enough to know better...but the major in/out routes and construction around the area has again made getting around not the easiest thing to do. There's a lot of parking, but depending on when you arrive it could be a ride around the merry-go-round of lots to find a spot, but at 11am on Mother's Day it was a snap. I'd avoid the place like the plague on Black Friday...though they do have hotel deals that include early AM shuttle in the area (pretty expensive...but if you're a die-hard BF shopper...that's for you).

Then, just the area itself has a lot of other unique shops you just don't find unless you're an urbanite in some inner-city area that's high- end (i.e. Tiffany, Equinox, and more) and you're a couple minutes from Whole Foods too. Enough in the area to make a day of it.

All things conisered, it sure beats a day at the rip-off so-called outlet malls (which are nothing more than a glamorized strip mall with brand name stores that really don't have much in the way of discount pricing) and the rural redneck malls like Hagerstown or Martinsburg...or the near-dead malls in Frederick. Also beats Gaithersburg's mall as far as overall better selection of stores and overall shop-ability. Restrooms are also clean, unlike most other malls I've been to.

DO watch your kids if you have young ones....it's very easy to lose track of them (I found a 2yr old wandring around by himself and it took 20 minutes w/security assistance to find his parents). It's also easy to forget where you park if you aren't paying attention.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great malls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Great shops.. Bright, light and airy. Fab yogurt place. Pink berry,,,,

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Corners, Virginia
Top Contributor
433 reviews 433 reviews
129 attraction reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Everything a mall should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

As was noted this is the largest shopping center in DMV area. It technically consists of three levels, although the 3rd one is taken by a AMC movie theater multiplex. You have four major department stores: Bloomingdale's, Nordstrom, Lord&Taylor, and Macy's. In addition to that you have a huge double-level LL Bean store which is one of my favorites, along with Eddie Bauer. The latter is preparing to spin off their First Ascent brand into a separate store there. Every store you can think of probably has presence in there. You have a multi-level book store (B&N) and lots&lots&lots of places to eat and drink. And I am underestimating it. There's a huge food court next to the movie theater along with TGI Fridays, there're upscale restaurants with brewery on the first floor and more of the same in cul-de-sacs on the other side of the mall.
There's plenty of parking in multi-level garages surrounding the mall. It may take a while to cruise through them and find a spot on a busy day, and you may be forced to park across the street, but no one is turned away by lack of parking.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tysons Corner Center also viewed

 
McLean, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Tysons Corner Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tysons Corner Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.