We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of my favorites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Absolute Thai Restaurant & Patisserie

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Absolute Thai Restaurant & Patisserie
1381 Beverly Road, McLean, VA 22101
(703) 847-1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 97 Restaurants in McLean
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“one of my favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

I haven't found anything to dislike yet. I have been here several times and it is always a pleasant experience. The food is always wonderful and service is good too.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    12
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wasn't for us”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

Wanted to take my wife for a nice Friday night, ratings were good. Calimari was cut thick and not cooked, we couldn't eat it. Pad Thai noodles were hard, and the beef red curry not as expected in other places I have been to. We couldn't eat it, paid 40 and left. Probably its authentic but we have been to Thai many times before that we were happy with. For us, disappointing.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“I'll definitely go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

I was in McLean on business and am always willing to try a new Thai restaurant. Absolute Thai impressed me at all levels, the quality of the menu, the friendly efficient service, and the authentic flavors. But wait, there's more -- I had a window seat that overlooked a pleasant courtyard. Eating alone is always a challenge in a Thai restaurant because I want to try everything. I started with som tom -- a phenomenal green papaya salad. I followed that with garden rolls and poe taek soup. Both were tantalizing. By then I was at the bursting point. I'm looking forward to another opportunity to visit McLean so I can explore more of the Absolute Thai menu.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Authentic Cuisine, Terrific Soups and WOW Desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

This hidden gem in McLean offers sophisticated cuisine and amazing desserts. We love the Tom Yum soup - and the Massamun curry with Seafood ($13) is terrific. You basically pick the meat/fish and the type of curry (Panang, Green, Red/Jahe) you want and it's yours to devour. Try to Kaprao too. For appetizers - I'd recommend the Yun Talay - it's a scrumptious mix of shrimp, scallops, etc. and it's amazing. You might be able to split it.... but not if you are eating with me! I want the whole portion. Not a fan of the Pad Thai - it IS a bit sweet for my taste (I have to agree with others about that), but this is a great Thai restaurant... and try the caramel mousse or toffee crunch cake...unless you are allergic to coffee, dark chocolate, cashew nuts, toffee and coffee cream, that is!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My Go-To Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Absolute Thai is my favorite Thai restaurant in McLean. Their food is fresh and flavorful. When dining in the restaurant, the food presentation is fantastic. When I don't feel like eating out, they deliver. I've eaten every curry served here. My absolute favorite is the red curry with beef. The curry is just the right level of spicy for me. It's the perfect balance of heart and flavor. The Pad Thai is very good also. The Tom Kha soup is among the best I've had anywhere. I highly recommend Absolute Thai.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Absolute Thai Restaurant & Patisserie also viewed

 

Been to Absolute Thai Restaurant & Patisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Absolute Thai Restaurant & Patisserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.