We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Persian restaurants in Northern Virginia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amoo's House of Kabob

Amoo's House of Kabob
6271 Old Dominion Dr, McLean, VA 22101-4821
703-448-3868
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 116 Restaurants in McLean
Price range: $12 - $38
Cuisines: Persian
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“One of the best Persian restaurants in Northern Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Amoo's is a family restaurant. Every member of the family works either in the kitchen or serving guests. And, because of that, there is a friendly warmth and pride that is very special. The Persian dishes are superb, authentic. My favorite is koobigeh with shirin polo rice. The homemade Persian ice cream is to be savored. We are proud to be regulars. But, then, no one remains a stranger in this wonderful original and traditional Persian restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    12
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thank You....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

In town for a few days, treating friends in the area to dinner. Amoo's is the perfect combination of stellar food, fantastic service and geniune unpretenious excellence. Plan a party, drive the distance, make a memory. Thanks to Amoo's!! See you next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best lamb I ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This place is worth seeking out. Friendly staff- I can see why so many people keep coming back. Its lamb soltani was delicious!
I also had Persian tea and baklava for desert. The baklava was just OK- next time I will try their ice cream.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Amoo's House of Kabob”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Friendly atmosphere. The menu had a great variety to choose from. We had the lamb kabob that came with rice & salad. Fresh pita bread. Sebastian the manager was there to talk to us and very friendly. They only had wine when we were there, but were getting their liquor license soon.
The restaurant is Persian. I liked the warm welcome and each guest is treated like a member of the family. we had a groupon, that's how we found it. will certainly go back

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Exceptional Persian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've lived in DC for less than 2 years and Amoo's is already my favorite restaurant. The kebabs are wonderful, especially those with very tasty toppings on the rice (see three Polo dishes on the Specialties page), but the fesenjan (a chicken dish with sauce that includes walnuts and pomegranate) is one of the most delicious dishes I have ever eaten (and I'm over 60 years old). Amoo's is a family run restaurant. Mom and Dad do the cooking and two sons are waiters. Service is great and the sons are very welcoming and helpful. Well worth traveling from north of DC.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amoo's House of Kabob also viewed

 
McLean, Fairfax County
McLean, Fairfax County
 

Been to Amoo's House of Kabob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amoo's House of Kabob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.