We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel If Right Rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6845 Old Dominion Dr, McLean, VA 22101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McLean
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Hotel If Right Rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at the Staybridge Suites McLean over the Christmas holiday while visiting relatives. It is a pleasant hotel with good-sized rooms, a decent albeit not great breakfast buffet, excellent wi-fi service, and pleasant staff. We paid $95 per night, which I believe is a reasonable rate. We will be retuning to the area later in January, and I thought about booking at this Staybridge once again. The rate for the same room, however, would be $140 per night, nearly 50% higher than our December stay.

In my view, the $95/night rate is reasonable, but it is not worth $140/night. If on a business trip and your company is paying, I suppose it would be OK, but if out of your own pocket, I would suggest looking elsewhere for a better value, as did we.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLeanHotelier, General Manager at Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
InspectorT,

We appreciate your business! Yes, just like other hotels in our vicinity, our rates are much higher during the week and during peak times. The one big advantage for us is that we offer a suite, not just a guest room. Unlike other hotels, we also offer free internet, free breakfast buffet, free dinner three nights per week with beer and wine, free parking, free laundry and more. We offer special holiday rates for Thanksgiving and Christmas. I hope we have the privilege of accommodating you again on a future holiday visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    35
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
79
13
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Staff was hospitable, breakfast great, small evening meals inviting, free upgrade, family friendly, roomy suites, GREAT location walking distance to market, restaurant, and stores, internet good. Just a super pleasant stay with many amenities.

Room Tip: Choose one facing courtyard. Quieter and nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier22101, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Zeus Y,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so glad that you found our staff to be hospitable, and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and evening social, and that you enjoyed the free upgrade, and our spacious suites to be comfortable! Yes we do have a wonderful location walking distance to the market, a plethora of restaurants and stores. Thank for for your patronage and we hope we have the privilege of having you as our guest again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I hate to give a perfect rating as it could make it harder for me to get a reservation. The General Manager and staff of this hotel are second to none. Staybrige Suites is the brand I trust no matter where we go but this one is the example of how to do it all properly.

Room Tip: I suspect they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier22101, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
James M,

Thank you for a perfect review! We really appreciate your business and we are so happy that we met all of your expectations!

We do not link reviews, positive or negative, with any future hotel reservations! :>)

Happy to see that you love our brand. We love it too. We hope we have the pleasure and privilege of accommodating you again on your next visit to the Washington, D.C,. area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Staybridge McLean for 2 months in September and October 2013 and I would highly recommend it for both short and long-term stays. We honestly have very few negative things to say about the hotel. As such, I’ll start with the positives – from our point of view, of course.

1. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. We particularly enjoyed our interactions with the kitchen staff, who were great. The front desk staff was also very helpful. Given our extended stay, we had quite a few things delivered to the hotel and the front desk staff informed us immediately when packages arrived.
2. The kitchen staff, as mentioned, was always great, but it really was nice to have breakfast provided for free daily. We particularly enjoyed the biscuits and gravy Sundays! The hotel also provides free dinners three days a week, Tuesday – Thursday, and in general these were relatively good. There is even one day a month that is catered by the J. Gilbert restaurant down the road. Sometimes the meals were great (aforementioned J. Gilbert night) and sometimes mediocre, but did I mention they were FREE!
3. The suite we had worked extremely well for our needs. It was segregated into two basic areas. The first area upon entering the suite included a sitting area with TV, a desk, and a small kitchenette with two burners, a dishwasher, and a full-sized refrigerator. The second area behind a set of French doors included the bedroom, a vanity with sink, a closet, and the shower and toilet (behind a door for privacy). The bed was extremely comfortable. There was plenty of storage and the French doors separating the bedroom from the sitting room allowed for one person being able to sleep-in longer than the other without being disturbed!
4. While McLean is not the most exciting town on the planet, the location of the hotel was very good. The Tyson’s Corner Mall is 5 minutes away and there is a shopping center next door, complete with a large “Giant” grocery store for stocking that large refrigerator, a good coffee shop, a CVS, and a liquor store.
5. While we didn’t need it, the hotel had a shuttle bus that was available to take people to and from locations in the area, such as the Tyson’s Corner Mall just mentioned.
6. There were laundry facilities on-site, with 4 or 5 washers and dryers. Using them was free, but you needed to either have your own detergent or purchase it there. During our entire two-month stay we never had an issue being unable to wash our clothes whenever we wanted.
7. One of the best things, however, at least from our perspective, was that guests staying at the hotel could use the McLean Health & Racquet Club, which was a block away. The club is a bit dated, but it was full service, with very helpful staff, tennis courts, a lap pool, and a fairly extensive gym.

There weren’t too many negatives, but there were a couple minor ones.
1. The housekeeping was pretty good, coming in daily and changing out the sheets twice a week for extended stay guests, but there were days when they didn’t service the room until quite late after we’d returned for the day. There were also times when they forgot to provide additional products for the room (e.g., soap, dishwashing soap, etc.).
2. As mentioned, while the breakfast each morning was great, after two months it did get a bit repetitive and a change would have been nice. Although, as I said, this was after two months, so anyone staying either short or medium-term will probably not experience this.
3. And finally, the parking at the hotel was a bit limited at times. With this said, however, we only found finding parking difficult a couple of times, and even then found parking on the side of the building.

Overall, the negatives were very minor, and as I said previously, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting or needing to stay in the McLean area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier22101, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
NoneNixNada,

Thank you for your wonderful review and your great feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed your extended stay with us. We try to change the breakfast buffet periodically and I have informed our food and beverage dept of your comments.. It was great that you were able to use the health club across the street. That is a great free amenity that we offer all of our guests. We hope we have the privilege of accommodating you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

stayed there with family in October for an extended weekend. always great to stay there when you are a family group or have to stay for an extended period. staff is so friendly, they sure try to make you feel at home.

Room Tip: if you need HC accessible suite, they only come in studio format, so you can arrange your suites acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier22101, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Sherrinester,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of serving you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our room was really spacious, clean & comfortable.

It had a kitchenette with a fridge, microwave, plates & stuff.

The breakfast buffet was excellent & the breakfast-bar was charming!

Their shuttle service to the subway station and to Tyson corner came in handy.

All of that at a good price as well. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier22101, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Sandeep,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at the Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner. We are glad we exceeded your expectations! It is nice to know that you enjoyed the daily breakfast buffet and van shuttle, and that you found your accommodations to be comfortable and spacious!

The next time you plan on staying in the Washington, D.C. area, we hope you will consider us your home away from home again.

It was a privilege having you as our guest. Thank you very much for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My very first night ever in the DC area was spent in this hotel. The room was extremely clean and the staff very friendly! Considering how tired I was from a long flight, the beds were super comfortable. I WILL be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier22101, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Sara, we are so glad you were a first time guest at our hotel and to the Washington, D.C. area!
It's nice to know that your stay with us was very comfortable. We strive on keeping our suites very clean and hiring friendly people that will make you feel right at home! We look forward to your next visit. Thank you for giving us the privilege of serving you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner

Address: 6845 Old Dominion Dr, McLean, VA 22101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > McLean
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McLean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Comfortable at the Staybridge Suites McLean Tysons Corner in McLean, VA. The Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner is located close to the METRO RAIL SILVER LINE at the MCLEAN STATION. The hotel is located in the heart of McLean, Virginia within a few short minutes from the CIA and major corporations like Northrop Grumman, Mars, BAE, IBM & Mitre. Our location offers convenient access to Tysons Corner (shopping), Downtown Washington, DC, I-495, I-95, Route 66, Washington Reagan (DCA) and Washington Dulles (IAD) Airports. The AAA Staybridge Suites McLean Tysons Corner offers Apartment-like suites featuring free wired and wireless Internet access, fully equipped kitchens and all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term real estate needs. Our smoke free, pet friendly hotel offers Studio, One-bedroom, and Two-bedroom / Two-bathroom apartment-like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work areas, TV with in-room entertainment, free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, two phone lines with a direct dial phone number and personalized voice mail. Other apartment-like conveniences include 24-hour business center which offers free Internet access, printing, faxing, and copying capabilities, library, complimentary guest laundry facilities, fitness center, outdoor pool, courtyard with guest accessible BBQ grills, daily complimentary deluxe breakfast bar and evening SOCIAL receptions (Tuesday-Thursday). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Mclean-Tysons Corner Hotel Mclean
Mclean Staybridge Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.