We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rustic Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rustic Inn to your Saves list
Rustic Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   120 E 100 S, Moab, UT 84532   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$59.95 Early-Bird Booking
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Scotland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

The Rustic Inn is a great value option in Moab. At a little more than half the price other motels were charging it has everything you could want, and more, for a few days in Moab. It's only a block from the main street but is very quiet. The room was a good size, very clean and comfortable. There was a fair sized kitchen area with a full size fridge freezer, microwave and double sink, as well as a selection of cutlery and bowls and plates.
Bathroom was small but clean, with a good shower.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and there's a nice covered area by the pool for sitting out.
It's maybe a bit dated but everything is in perfect order and here are baskets and tubs everywhere filled with plants to keep the place looking nice.
Internet connection was poor in my room, which was tucked under the stair, but fine when sitting out in the aforementioned area by the pool.
All in all, a great place to stay and a real bargain in what seemed to be a pretty expensive town.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    141
    46
    19
    10
See reviews for
68
121
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

It's your classic, built in the 50's/60's motel that has bveen recently updated. Nothing fancy, just basic and comfortable. The Bathroom/Kitchen setup is kind of odd, as you use the kitch sink area as your bathroom sink as well, but it works. The pool is a good outdoor one and the front desk staff (probably the owners) are a wealth of local knowledge. In a town where most places charge well over $100 a night during the summer months, this place is a great deal (I paid $85).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

After finding no vacancy at a number of inns recommended in lonely planet, we were recommended Rustic Inn. Delighted to find a place off the main street, the staff was very friendly and we ended up staying two nights instead of one. After a night of bad sleep near Bryce Canyon, we needed a quiet place to stay and found it at Rustic Inn. The interiror was clean, the beds comfortable, and while it was a little bizzarre brushing one's teeth in the kitchen sink, we really did not care. The location allowed us to walk to various places as well, always a plus!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

For the price and the location this is the best deal in Moab. The rooms were very large, very clean and quiet. It is only a few yards away from mainstreet. We stayed five nights in this motel and loved it. We will return next year.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Our expectations weren't too high for Moab after reading many reviews for different motels, all of which seem to have a mixture of positive and negative reviews, but we've had a wonderful time at the Rustic Inn (3 nights).

It's a basic motel, very reasonable priced. One block off main street, so it's quiet, but still close to shops and dining. Outside of motel doesn't particularly look attractive, but room was clean with a large fridge and microwave. Laundry room was clean as well. Friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay, would stay at this motel again and can recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Or
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We Loved the Rustic Inn!
The rooms are clean, large and quiet. The queen beds are very comfortable! Full sized frig. The staff were helpful, accomodating, fun and friendly. Located a block from the center of town. We just loved this place for the three nights in May we stayed in Moab - one night before a rafting trip down the Green River and two nights afterwards. Also went to Arches and Canyonlands for hikes. The area with its outer-worldly red rock formations and canyons is incrediable. A must see!

The rooms have a well used look about them so don't expect a new, shiny, sterile motel experience at the Rustic. There are a couple chain hotels in Moab for that experience. But if you want a quiet, comfortable, clean and friendly place to stay right downtown at reasonable prices (complete with real glasses and cups (no plastic!), come to the Rustic Inn!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Our family of three stayed here in the one-bedroom apartment. My overall perception of the Rustic Inn is that it may be a good value for some wishing to find a cheap, clean place to sleep. The staff was friendly. However, we won't book this hotel again.

The old room was clean, but the aesthetics were missing. For example, the screen on the window left giant gaps that bugs came in. None of the doors (inside or out) could be closed without pushing hard. The toilet seat slipped, and there was no operating fan in the bathroom (there was a fan - we could unfortunately see it by a bare light bulb). The tv was placed on top of the full size refrigerator. The sofa bed was the least cushioned I've ever seen (our daughter had to sleep on top of pillows so the bed wouldn't hurt her back). Paint was sloppily sprayed partially across the entry door on the inside. And, it felt quite dark (only the front door and the poorly screened window in one bedroom could be opened). My wife commented that "this is like camping - only with an oven" (later she mentioned something about camping next time instead).

In terms of noise, every flush in the rooms above us went down through pipes immediately behind the headboard of our bed (i.e. it wasn't quiet so we didn't sleep well). Frankly the "apartment" felt like an extra area that was converted into rental space - except without adequate utinsels (three motley spoons?).

The pool was still quite cold (even in mid May) and clearly not heated. However, it was nice to have it to ourselves. The area around the pool was a bit like our room - some places there was only a foot or two space between the pool and the fence to get by, with a wall/building cobbled together as the back wall. One of the two lights in the pool was burned out. However, the pool was quite clean. The location of the Rustic Inn is excellent for walking to downtown. And, as mentioned, the staff is quite friendly.

If you're looking for old, partially functioning, clean, and cheap, this might be an ok choice. But based on the overall value and functionality, it's our opinion that there are better places to stay in town.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rustic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic Inn

Address: 120 E 100 S, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rustic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rustic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rustic Hotel Moab
Rustic Motel Moab
Rustic Inn Moab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rustic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.