We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could not have been better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunflower Hill
Save
You added Sunflower Hill to your Saves list
185 North 300 East, Moab, UT 84532   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Moab B&B and Inns
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“could not have been better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

the rooms at this family run b and b are clean and nicely furnished. the guest pantry is well stocked. the morning coffee was ready early and very good. the breakfast was excellent.the kitchen staff were friendly and accommodating. the suggestions the owner gave us were spot on. spend the evening relaxing in the gardens or around the pool,you can't get any better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyMan-9, General Manager at Sunflower Hill, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review. Glad you enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Although not a coffee drinker myself, I love to hear guests say how much they enjoy the coffee. My cook, Tauni, is wonderful. She gets up really early (well before 5) in the morning to make sure there is coffee out fresh and hot, then she begins baking all those wonderful creations (breads, pastries, granola and cookies).

I have a special fondness for folks from Tennessee (especially Nashville). That is where my daughter is currently serving a special church/service mission. She loves it there, and especially loves the gracious people see works with every day.

If you're ever back this way, we would enjoy having you with us again. Warm regards, - Gregg Stucki/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    40
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
191
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights at The Sunflower Hill Inn and absolutely loved it. Having previously always stayed in hotel accommodation this small B & B was a pleasant surprise. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The breakfast was delicious with a personal service. The pool and hot tub were just what you need after a long day in the National Parks. The rooms are all unique with free laundry facilities and help yourself coffee, cookies, peanuts and M&M's in the guest loung. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyMan-9, General Manager at Sunflower Hill, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased you had such an enjoyable time here with us. One of the highlights for us, is all the great people we meet and get to rub shoulders with from all over the world. Thank you for trying something different, and choosing to stay with us. Best regards, - Gregg Stucki/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just last week we spent three lovely days in Moab at the Sunflower Hill Inn. The Inn was charming, comfortable, very welcoming and complete! The Inn was well appointed, our room was very cozy. The staff could not have been more gracious and helpful. Breakfasts were consistently a treat--the staff thought of everything before we did! Our stay at the Inn added much to our overall vacation. I highly recommend staying there and we hope to return there oneday!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyMan-9, General Manager at Sunflower Hill, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for all the kind things you had to say about the inn and staff. It means so much to all of us. We hope to have the pleasure of having you with us again in the future. Best regards, -Gregg Stucki/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh,Pa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very attractive grounds and common rooms

All of the staff were pleasant and genuinely seemed to be glad to be working there and happy to help make your visit as nice as possible

My husband would have preferred a sit down breakfast, but I enjoyed the many yummy, and healthy, choices of the buffet. This also gives you lots of flexibility for when you eat breakfast

The only thing keeping me from giving this a 5 star review was the bathroom. We stayed in the Garden room, and the bathroom was minimal and not what would be expected in ANY room in a luxury inn. There was very limited shelf space. Once my husband put his travel bag on the tiny shelf, the only place for mine was over the toilet. Unfortunately, our only toothpaste tube fell out and splashed down into the toilet, making necessary to make a trip to the grocery store in the morning for a new tube.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyMan-9, General Manager at Sunflower Hill, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive review and helpful feedback. It gets my mental wheels turning on ways to make improvements. Sorry to hear about the toothpaste plunge that inconvenienced you. Thanks for choosing Sunflower Hill. - Gregg Stucki/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We went back to moab as we enjoyed arches and canyonlands so much. We looked through other properties, but there was nothing wrong with it the first time. There is nothing wrong with it the second time. A nice relaxing place, good breakfast, walking distance to the main street. The pool is a nice touch after a hot day. The pool is well kept, as are the gardens. We loved watching the humming birds in the garden.

This time we slept in the garden room. It is next to the kitchen and i thought it might be noisy...not at all!

Parking is no problem, and you are given lots of ideas for things to do. You need to get into arches early to do the garden trail as it gets busy and parking has all gone. We enjoyed looking for rock art which takes you off the beaten track.

Twisted sisters is a close restaurant...they cant do alcohol happy hour, but they do it on food! The state alcohol shop is tucked away off the main street. Hunting alcohol in utah is funny!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyMan-9, General Manager at Sunflower Hill, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sunflower Hill once again and for another wonderful review. The highest compliment any business can receive, is a repeat customer. Your advice about Arches and the Devil's Garden trial is spot on. So glad you had another great time in Moab and visiting the parks. Best regards, -Gregg Stucki (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

During our 3 weeks-trip from Denver to San Diego we were glad to have 4 nights in the really unique Sunflower Hill in Moab. We, that's myself (44) my husband (45) and our 2 sons aged 17 and 14.
Although we had 3 fantastic weeks altogether, we really can tell, that these 4 nights in Moab had been the absolute highlight during our whole trip. (OK, our teens favored Las Vegas - but that's really another thing...) We lived in the "Garret" and this spacious 2-room-suite with a wonderful bathroom was absolutely perfect for the 4 of us.
We really do not have one thing, that was not minimum 5-star (except the weather, but ... afterwards ... that was also ... "OK")
+ new decorated room with 1 queensize-bed, 1 fullsize-bed and 1 extra rollaway-bed
+ fantastic country breakfast each morning
+ all staff was so friendly - it really was like being part of a family
+ wonderful gardens with beautiful flowers
+ fantastic, shady pool and hot tub
+ terriffic home-made snacks and m&m "flatrate"
+ free laundry (we had one rainy day ... so we had time to do some laundry ;-)...)
Dear Gregg and team - once more we want to say "thank you" for all - we really had a great time in Moab and we hope to come back again some time...

Room Tip: If you are a family - choose the "Garret". Either with a rollaway-bed or without, you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyMan-9, General Manager at Sunflower Hill, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
What a wonderfully enthusiastic review! We are very pleased to hear you had such a great time in Moab, and staying with us. We enjoyed your friendship and also look forward to seeing you again in the future. In the meantime, take care and may the memories of your time here continue to bring you joy. Vielen herzlichen Dank! -Gregg Stucki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 1 night in the Bovery Room- great room. Big but cozy, nice bed and bathroom and a own terrace. i regret that we only stayed 1 night there, 'cause there's a pool and a wonderful garden to discover.. Breakfast was very good. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyMan-9, General Manager at Sunflower Hill, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. Being it was a busy Friday evening, I'm pleased that we had a room available and could accommodate you. The Bowery is a nice room, but perhaps a bit more expensive than what you were hoping for. I'm sorry I didn't get a chance to meet you during your brief stay. My great grandfather (paternal side) immigrated from Switzerland. For me, this creates a special connection with any guests (new friends) from Switzerland. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Warm regards, -Gregg Stucki (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunflower Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hill

Address: 185 North 300 East, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm and attentive service, superior comfort, and uncommon style combine for an exceptional getaway experience. Beautifully appointed rooms, some with jetted tubs and private balconies. Situated in a spectacular garden setting with wooded pathways, flower gardens, shade trees and a pool, the inn provides an oasis of peace, relaxation and beauty. Enjoy a sumptuous breakfast buffet each morning, refreshments in the afternoon. Perfect location just three blocks from downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hill Hotel Moab
Sunflower Hill Moab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunflower Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.