We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend roadtrip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 S Main Street, Moab, UT 84532-2503   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Riverton, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Weekend roadtrip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel was fantastic!!
It was a very busy weekend in Moab Utah and we were afraid we wouldn't be able to find anything.
The hotel was full except for a few suites.
We got a family suite that was really great. A king and 2 queen beds and a living room and kitchenette with microwave and fridge and freezer.
This large room (is a large studio) can sleep 6+ and is normally pretty costly.
Join the Best Western Rewards program. It's worth it!
The only down side to this room, well 2 things.
There is only one bathroom. But to make up for it there is a second vanity area.
The only other downside is it's up a couple flights of stairs and if you or someone in your party can't do stairs this room won't work.
The beds were very comfortable and the large room had plenty of room to move around.
There is also an outdoor patio area (common area for the 3 family suites).
Walking distance to just about everything and right on the main street. Get set up in your room and go for a walk down main street and check out all the shops and places to eat.
There are 2 restaurants in the parking lot.
Breakfast is included which consists of scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, waffles, breads, cereals, fruit. Much better than a continental breakfast but not a cooked to order one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoabHotelier, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Ken K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you,

Cheryl Covey
Marketing Director
BEST WESTERN PLUS
Canyonlands Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    365
    83
    23
    5
See reviews for
344
373
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

What you would expect from a Best Western Plus , but you will pay a premium price for it. Great if you want to be within walking distance of much of Moab. There are properties closer to the National Parks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoabHotelier, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
William S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I am happy to hear that you were overall pleased with your stay. While there are a few hotels in closer proximity to Arches National Park, I find that our guests are always happy with our downtown location. I hope that you will visit again soon.

Thank you,
Cheryl Covey
BEST WESTERN PLUS
Canyonlands Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel staff is the friendliest I have ever met, and that includes hotels all over the world. Breakfast is plentiful. Well Located within the town. Room tastefully decorated. Highly recommend. Cycle storage is in a locked basement. Cycles not allowed in room which is inconvienent, but staff is prompt when called to unlock storage....

Room Tip: second floor in the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoabHotelier, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
NKB56,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I am so pleased to receive the kind compliments on our staff. We pride ourselves on superior customer service and I am glad that you felt we were doing our very best. We invite you back to visit again soon.

Warm wishes,
Cheryl Covey
BEST WESTERN PLUS
Canyonlands Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This motel is right downtown, walking distance to much dining and entertainment. Hotel staff was very friendly and the complementary breakfast was worthwhile. We got the larger room, "suite", but although decent size, not much of a suite. Access to the rooms via elevator was odd. Some stairs could not be avoided, which deemed the baggage carts worthless. It was a little pricey at 170, getting a little higher in subsequent nights, as a Jeep Jamboree was coming in at the end of the week. Overall. Nice, Clean, would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoabHotelier, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Cardwrll,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I am sorry to hear that there was some confusion about the one room suite vs. the standard rooms. Our one rooms suites offer a more spacious bedroom environment as well as the sofa (pullout) seating area. While our standard rooms are quite large the extra seating area makes for a more comfortable stay. I hope this helps to alleviate some of the question. I hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Thank you,
Cheryl Covey
BEST WESTERN PLUS
Canyonlands Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was very impressed with this hotel. The public spaces and rooms are attractively designed and tastefully appointed. The included hot breakfast was very good. The desk staff were efficient and helpful. For example, I left the charge cord for my iPad in the socket and didn't discover that until the next evening at another, very remote from services, Best Western a couple of hours away. I really needed the use of that device so I called and asked if they still had it. The desk clerk found it but wisely and with good humour talked me out of backtracking. He told me that people leave those all the time and the hotel I was staying in should have a few around. They did.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoabHotelier, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Stephen K,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive detailed review of your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here. I hope that you will visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Cheryl Covey
BEST WESTERN PLUS
Canyonlands Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn in Moab is one of the most centrally located hotels in Moab right on the corner of Main an Center Street. There are a lot of restaurants, shops and pubs within a five minute walking distance. The rooms are large with a separate living area. The front desk staff is professional and helpfull although I missed the personal touch as experienced in so many other hotels all through the USA. Probably because Moab is a touristic destination and the staff at reception is just going through the motions when mass-processing guests and therefore is lacking a bit of an individual touch that makes a guest feel special and at home. The many tourists that visit Moab also make this place rather expensive and at more than $200 a night, the Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn is certainly within the highest price category in Moab. You will pay less at certain hotels in New York City. But with a good breakfast included in the room rate, a heated swimming pool that is quite large for a hotel and a jacuzzi combined with a large and clean room, this hotel is worth the money. I would consider the Best Western Canyonlands Inn when visiting Moab a next time, even though they forgot to give me the welcome package that you usually get as a Platinum BW Rewards member. Moab itself, though a tourist-trap, is worth a visit. The place is a gateway to the Arches and Canyonlands National Parcs and is surrounded by national beauty. And there is a lot to do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoabHotelier, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
William S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you,

Cheryl Covey
BEST WESTERN PLUS
Canyonlands Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The main thing that the Best Western Canyonlands has going for it is its location in the centre of the main street of Moab. Also the room we had was reasonably spacious. Other positive aspects were the friendly and helpful staff and the great laundry facilities. However despite these we hated our stay here and after four nights could not wait to leave. The main problem was the very thin walls and ceilings. As other reviewers have commented there was very little soundproofing and it was possible to hear a variety of noises from rooms on either side and above. The cars park right outside the main windows of the units so for ground floor units there is no privacy unless the curtains are shut, which means that the room was too dim with no natural light and insufficient artificial light. Also, as many US cars beep or toot when they are locked we had a lot of that type of noise along with noise from people coming and going. The air conditioning unit was massive and made a massive amount of noise. This proved handy as we ran that monster all night to block out the other noise. Aside from this benefit the air-conditioning unit was not terribly effective. Unruly guests were a particular problem during our stay, and admittedly this can be difficult for a hotel operator to control. Examples included children running up and down the corridors, doors slamming, and loud conversations in the corridors such that the enjoyment of other guests was negatively affected. The gym facilities were poorly fitted out and maintained. For example, the exercise bike did not work properly. There was free Wi-Fi but it was incredibly slow. The slowest I have experienced in recent years. The price that we paid, $242 per night including taxes, was in my opinion about $100 per night more than would have been a reasonable rate for a motel of this standard. Other reviewers commented that there was a good breakfast and indeed there was a reasonable selection of hot and cold foods as well as a pleasant outside deck to eat on. However, on our final morning we could not wait to leave and bought bagels at the supermarket instead. Obviously I could not recommend this place and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoabHotelier, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Runningguy1011,

I am deeply apologetic that you were unable to sleep during your stay with us. I am thankful that you took the time to share your experience with us, as we will use your feedback to implement necessary change. Just this week we replaced some of the equipment in the fitness center. Customer satisfaction is very important to us and again I apologize that you were less than satisfied with your stay. I hope that you will give us another chance to serve you in the future. If I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best Regards,

Cheryl Covey
BEST WESTERN PLUS
Canyonlands Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn

Address: 16 S Main Street, Moab, UT 84532-2503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Moab
#2 Family Hotel in Moab
#4 Romantic Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Hotel Moab
Best Western Canyonlands Hotel
Best Western Moab
Moab Best Western
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn Moab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.