We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay for family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 S Main Street, Moab, UT 84532-2503   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 34 hotels in Moab
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice stay for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We spent our Thanksgiving holiday on a long road trip and Moab was just an overnight stop. Our family was very comfortable here. There is nothing fancy or spectacular about the hotel, but it was clean and we slept well. The hot breakfast in the morning was nice especially with 3 kids. It has your usual hotel selection of food(cereal, toast, eggs, juice, coffee, fruit, yogurt) which was fine for us. What I liked most about the hotel was it's proximity to Arches National Park and it's location on Main St. We didn't get a chance to take advantage of the restaurants since we arrived late (most places close at 9pm), but there seems to be plenty to choose from even within walking distance. We would definitely stay here again if we return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoabHotelier, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with us. I am pleased to hear that you were comfortable throughout your stay. I do hope that you will visit again soon.

Thank you,
Cheryl Covey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    370
    304
    70
    19
    4
See reviews for
258
310
30
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It is just a short walk to many great restaurants from this Best Western. The staff was fabulous and when we arrived in the wee hours of the morning, gave us chocolate cookies! We had a very spacious room, nicely air-conditioned (a must since it reached 103 degrees). Fabulous breakfast buffet and a beautiful shaded outdoor eating area, in addition to inside. Kids loved, loved their breakfast. They could make their own waffles, way cool. Close to drive to Canyonlands and Arches. Moab is a great town to visit with families, we had a fabulous time on our first visit, can't wait to go back and stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoabHotelier, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience this summer with us. I am happy to hear that your children loved making their own waffles for breakfast. I hope that you and your family will visit again soon.

Thank you,
Cheryl Covey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prescott
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This has been my first trip since my wife past. While I was only able to spend two nights here I enjoyed the personable staff. There is a front desk woman named Candy that was very nice and on both mornings wished me a good day with a genuine smile! I haven't been through this area in a while, but I remember honest people. I have always considered service to be my top priority, but when people aren't just paid to be nice, that honesty shows. Thank you for being so kind. I appreciate it more than you may know.
Also the wonderful breakfast staff deserves praise. Jose, the gentleman that was there both days was kind enough to refill my coffee. He seen I had trouble getting up, and I am sure this is why he assisted without being asked.
I had room 129 a king suite facing the pool. The noise is not that loud and for an old man, it warms the heart to hear the kiddos having fun. Thank you Best Western Canyonlands Inn. I hope next year to bring my children to see an amazing area their grandma always smiled at.

Room Tip: Enjoy the patio by the breakfast area, the night staff are always willing to light the fire for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoabHotelier, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with us. Your review truly warmed my heart. I am sorry for the loss of your wife. I have passed on your kind words to our staff. I hope that you will bring your children back to visit again soon.

Warm wishes,
Cheryl Covey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

No absentee owner here. Excellent, spotless facility. Large, comfortable rooms with sitting area Great full breakfast. Personell are eager to insure your perfect stay. We've stayed there several times. Never been disappointed. Location is in the heart of Moab. good restaurants & shopping surround the inn.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoabHotelier, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
You are absolutely correct in your statement of "no absentee owner here". One of our owners visits the property 5 days a week. She is constantly looking for ways to improve the hotel and make it feel more like home. I am pleased to hear that you noticed! I hope that you will visit again soon.

Thank you,
Cheryl Covey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

There appear to be two Best Westerns in town, down the street from each other. This review is for the Best Western Plus - Canyonlands Inn. The location is central and you can walk to restaurants.

We had a pre-paid reservation for three nights that got delayed because of a snowstorm. We called ahead to keep the room for the remaining nights and Raphael asked the tour company for a refund, even without us asking him to do so. That was really kind and above and beyond the call of duty. Breakfast buffet was solid with waffles, eggs, and sausages, in addition to standard cold fare. The hot buffet was manned by two hard-working and attentive staff people when we were there. The service provided by the staff is as good as it gets for this price point (and even a little higher price).

Our only complaint is the noise from the floor above. The sounds carried when someone was walking above us, so we recommend if you are a light sleeper, ask for the second story room or grab some earplugs. In our experience, this was not a big deal because the hotel was not bus and the person stopped walking soon (hence, no downgrade for this for this visit). But, during the busy season, this could be an issue.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper, ask for the second story room or grab some earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoabHotelier, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience. I am happy to hear that Rafael was able to work out a refund with your tour company. I would like to apologize for the noise disturbance above your room. I thank you for bringing it to our attention. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Thank you,
Cheryl Covey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay, no question, this is the place. It has a covered, heated pool, hot tub, workout room, free internet, free breakfast, and clean rooms. The staff is friendly and the hotel is located right in the middle of the town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We book Best Western based on tripadvisor reviews, I wanted a hotel close to Arches , hotel is in the middle of Arches, Dead point Horse.
We arrive at hotel after an 8 hour drive from Las Vegas , (very good roads , it was not difficult)
The gentleman at the reception desk was very friendly, big smile , it was needed after all the driving. He explained where we were , and I was tire didn't want fancy dinner , he told us about the big market just 1/2 mile away , where we could get food, they have a take out, we did and brought to hotel , it was perfect. Hotel is very clean, excellent bed, comfortable good pillows, slept like babies. Very good size bathroom, good amenities , breakfast is served upstairs ,plenty of choices, and magnificent views, the hotel had heaters going up and sitting outside was a joy. Checking in and out took a few minutes only. I'm bringing grandchildren next year , and this will be our pick.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoabHotelier, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you were made comfortable after an 8 hour drive. I hope that you will bring your grandchildren back to Moab, I am sure they will love it. Please let us know when we can be of assistance in making your next reservation.

Thank you,
Cheryl Covey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn

Address: 16 S Main Street, Moab, UT 84532-2503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Moab
#4 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#4 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Hotel Moab
Best Western Canyonlands Hotel
Best Western Moab
Moab Best Western
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn Moab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.