We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jailhouse Cafe

Jailhouse Cafe
101 N Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2340
+1 435-259-3900
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 71 Restaurants in Moab
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Moabs Breakfast Restaurant! Open 7:00a.M. - 12:00P.M. Wednesday-Monday. Closed TUESDAY.
Cottonwod Heights, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just ok....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Food was just ok, service was awful!! Our server was very friendly and maybe they were understaffed but it was enough of an annoyance that we probably won't go back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    111
    43
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“First-rate breakfast place with terrific ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I don't believe I have ever given a five star review to a breakfast place (but then I haven't been to the Court of Two Sisters since I started using Trip Advisor), but this place rates them. We ate here on our last day in Moab and were sorry we had not eaten here every day. There is indoor seating but with the chance to sit outside I cannot imagine why anyone would. This place had history -- it used to be the local courthouse and jail -- but the food is the reason to come. My wife had the whole wheat waffle and I had a ginger pancake -- so good that I was pleased to have leftovers for lunch while hiking over the next two days, And it lasted that long because the quantities were very substantial, while the price was very reasonable

A review, with more info about hiking in Arches, is here: http://paulalanlevy.blogspot.com/2013/06/from-arches-to-capitol-reef-by-way-of.html

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc mountains
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Yummy Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Wonderful young people serving delicious breakfast and they do it in a hurry! Be sure to try the Swedish pancakes with lingonberry sauce. Inside is noisy, but outside is pleasant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Breakfast Anyone?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Jailhouse Cafe opens for breakfast at 7am and we arrived at 7am so we could hit the trails as early as possible. Fairly cool so we enjoyed sitting outside watching Moab's main street wake up. I had the Spinach, Feta & Mushroom Omelet. It was sooooo good - I would order it again. It was made from 3 eggs and what I considered a lot of food so i didn't even eat the potatoes that it comes with. I was determined to eat the entire omelet it was so good. My husband had the Bacon & Cheddar Cheese Omelet and he really like that also. The bacon was thicker style bacon with a great taste. He also ordered a Ginger Pancake on the side since he loves ginger. We agreed that it was good as a side (one pancake) but that the ginger taste might become overpowering with a stack of three. It started to get busy as we were leaving so you might want to enjoy the early morning like we did.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Worst eggs ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We ordered 2 eggs over easy with canadian bacon. The eggs were very greasy, the potatoes were unedible, the canadian bacon was regular ham. The best part of the meal was the toast. The most shocking part of the meal was that it was $12 each ($25 for 2 after taxes, not including tip or drinks). For that price you would expect something excellent, with fruit on the side and other extras... not the greasy stuff.
The other thing that I found surprising was the amount of flies in the eating area... at least 30 I would say.... they keep wanting to land on your meal... and then I wondered how many flies were in the kitchen, if they had such a bad flie problem in the eating room.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jailhouse Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Jailhouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jailhouse Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.