We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three strikes” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tag-A-Long Expeditions Day Tours

Tag-A-Long Expeditions Day Tours
452 North Main Street, Moab, UT 84532
435-259-8946
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 83 Activities in Moab
Attraction details
Moab, Utah
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Three strikes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We signed up for a 4x4 tour of Canyonlands. Imagine our surprise when the vehicle was an SUV. Technically it IS a 4x4, but the picture on their sign is of a Jeep, so we expected to go somewhere we wouldn't take our own vehicle. That was our first warning.
The second, and more disappointing strike, was the dirt roads were all ones we'd taken our own Subaru on, so certainly wasn't a 4x4 experience. We didn't expect rock crawlers, but something a little more off the beaten path...which brings us to the third strike, and possibly the most disappointing...
We didn't even go on a dirt road in Canyonlands! The company has apparently had some infractions and has been banned from the dirt roads. This was not shared with us--we certainly would not have done the tour had we known.
Full disclosure would have been appropriate when we made the reservation, especially as we discussed some of that we'd like to see--Shaffer and White rim Trails. Not a peep.
As it was, we went on the main road into the park, then stopped at Dead Horse on the way back.
We did two dirt roads, for a total of an hour out of the 4.5 hours we were on the tour.
And to add insult to injury, we weren't told ahead that we had to pay to enter the park. We thought the fee would be included in our trip. Fortunately, we had a park pass in our room and were able to go get it before the tour. Again, a head's up would have been appropriate.
Overall, an incredibly disappointing day.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoabRiverlover, Owner at Tag-A-Long Expeditions Day Tours, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
I have been very concerned with your comments and simply apologize for the disconnect in what you wanted and what we provide. Our mission and intent is to offer “Interpretive” guide trips into the canyonlands area. Some of the itineraries have rougher roads than others, but none of the itineraries are based upon the trip being a way to show off the extremes of 4 wheel driving. They are to show off the beauty of the area and explain the history, geology, desert ecology and discuss the ancient cultures that have lived in the area. We use vehicles that offer as much comfort as possible during these 1 day and ½ day trips. Because we are on 4 wheel drive “roads” that are not maintained frequently, 4 wheel drive gives us the assurance that the trip can be operated successfully.

Unfortunately, the art work on the sign is supposed to represent a SUV in the Excursion or Suburban style. We are changing that art work as a result of your comments. We removed the word “jeep” from our promotional literature and website 20 years ago. Our staff should have made clear the nature of the trip and that park fees are not included (because many guests have park passes that would be a redundancy of fees). We have chosen to make the more rugged part of the trip outside of the park and do a walk to Mesa Arch because of the value of that unique view and to actually get away from the vehicle and road for part of the trip.
We certainly have no intention to “deceive” our guests. Because we do not know exactly who you are, all I can do is assure you that we have tripled our efforts to make sure this does not reoccur. Our guests are very important to me.
Bob Jones
Owner—Tag-A-Long Expeditions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    48
    18
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Definitely the place to book your trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a great time with TagALong! Booked our trip in July and loved every minute. We did jet boat down the Colorado River and Island in the Sky 4 X 4. We had great guides who knew everything about the area. My favorite part was the stop at the cliff art along the highway. The next time we are in Moab we will be booking all our tours with TagALong.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Well worthwhile!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We turned up as a fanily group including pre-teens to seniors. They put together a great package, 3hrs rafting on the Colorado river in the morning (not too rough), lunch in the park, and 4hrs 4x4 tour of Canyonlands in the afternoon - amazing! Although note that they subcontracted the 4x4 tour to Navtec as they don't currently have a license to go into the park. Highly recommended. If you want just the 4x4 tour then go to Navtec direct.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Time, Well Organized”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Tag-A-Longs office people, bus driver Rick and guide Jay were a well organized great group of people. Our party of 4 had a couple of somewhat experienced people but two were unsure about going and one had never rafted. It was a great last minute adventure. We look forward to visiting Moab again and trying Tag-A Longs class 3 and 4 raft trips.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essxe
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Colorado River Rafting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We did a one day rafting trip with Tag Along. It was much better value than the other more glossy outfits in town and we had a superb day. Special people to note.: Jessica on reception for her sense of humour and efficiency, Warren our driver who collected us from our motel for his cheery, funny attitude and not least Joe our oarsman who worked damn hard for us all day and demonstrated a great knowledge of and sympathy for the local area. In fact all the staff were great, it's just that we cannot remember all the names!

Top memories were floating/swimming in the river in our life jackets and shooting rapids as a family linked arm in arm. The scenery during the morning section of the trip was stunning, with a much more peaceful atmosphere than the p.m. Section below Red Cliffs Lodge which was a lot busier.

This is not a hardcore white water trip, but there were a number of fun rapids where you get wet.

Lunch was ok considering the price, but prepare yourself for a decent snack rather than a full meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tag-A-Long Expeditions Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tag-A-Long Expeditions Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.