We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bye Bye Civilization” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Road to Needles District

Road to Needles District
Canyonlands National Park, Moab, UT
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 71 things to do in Moab
Attraction details
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Bye Bye Civilization”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We've been down this road many times and have enjoyed camping in the Lockhart basin, near the Needles entrance. The road is full of beauty and you need to watch for wildlife at dusk or dawn. Also you may as well turn off your cell phone. You will get no signal until you return to the main road. I was impressed with the way this road has been maintained. It is a beautiful trip. When we turn off to Lockhart basin the road is rough, rocky, and difficult. I recommend this trip.. not many people..... It's a well kept secret!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    21
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colby, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So desolate and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This road starts south of Moab, and takes awhile to drive. It is in very good condition, and during high tourist time, we saw only a few cars. Amazing, and so remote. Watch for the cows that free-range here. It is worth the drive.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Add Hart's Draw Road from Monticello to the route”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We approached the Needles District via Hart's Draw Rd. and stopped at Newspaper Rock. We saw at least 40 deer along the road at sunset on the way back to Monticello. This route must be gorgeous in the fall as the forest is full of aspen trees. There are great views of Canyonlands along the way.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Looking to get away from the crowds in Moab and have at least a half day?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you have at least a half day drive South on 191 about 40 miles and take the cut off to the Needles District. Newspaper Rock is only a few miles up the road - a wonderful rock art panel accessible to everyone. Another 20+ miles takes you to the entrance station to the Needles District of Canyonlands National Park. There are lots of short hikes with eye popping scenery. Bring your lunch and lots of water... There is no food available in the park but there are shaded picnic tables. The visitor center can help you with which hikes are suitable for your group.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The road driving to the Needles District is really beautiful with tons of rock formations, vistas, and scenery. I would highly recommend a drive on this road as part of your visit to Canyon Country.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Road to Needles District also viewed

 

Been to Road to Needles District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Road to Needles District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.