We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated decor and slow service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Grill

Sunset Grill
900 North Main Street, Moab, UT 84532
+1 435-259-7146
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 71 Restaurants in Moab
Price range: $12 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Sunset Grill is in the former home of Uranium King Charlie Steen. In the early 1950s Moab was a small farming community. Arches and Canyonlands were places only a lucky few experienced. In 1952 Charles A. Steen, geologist and prospector, put Moab on the world map. The Sunset Grill specializes in hand-cut steaks, prime rib, seafood, and other traditional dishes.
Cortez, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Outdated decor and slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Management needs to view this restaurant with "fresh eyes", and listen to what their customers are saying in candid reviews. It was our third and unfortunately, last time eating here. It was my husband's birthday and he wanted prime rib, and the Sunset Grill is known for this as their specialty. While the food was good, our experience was not. We had reservations for 6:00 pm, arrived at 5:50, with no-one to greet us at the hostess stand for over 5 minutes. Then, the host appeared, and couldn't seem to understand that we had a reservation, and wanted to seat us at a "reserved" table not currently occupied. Thought that was a bit "odd". Our server was Brad. First thing we noticed was the dead plant on our table. Hmmm, not a good start to our evening, that and the air conditioner blowing directly on our table. Brad was nice enough to turn down the cooler and eventually turn it off totally upon our request. The neighboring diners thanked us for requesting this. Our drink order was taken after 10 minutes at our table, and our water and coffee did not appear for 10 more minutes. My lemon request required another 10 minutes. Our order was taken, and we waited, and waited... watching tables that had been seated after us receive their appetizers and salads. Our soup and salad arrived after a total wait of 30 minutes, and we had to request bread to appease our hunger during our wait. Dinner was served at 6:50 pm. A tray was brought out with our food, and another table's salads. Brad served them their salads first, allowing our food to not arrive piping hot. While he apologized for the long wait time, the only excuse was "he had to get caught up". He was responsible for 7 tables in our seating area, and when we arrived, only 3 of them were occupied... Not sure what the problem was, unless they were short-staffed that night. Have no complaints with the food, just the wait time and the atmosphere. The décor is very dated, lighting is terrible (a mixture of floor lamps, fluorescent overhead fixtures, and several burned out can lights in other parts of the dining area), mismatched painted walls, horrible artwork, chipped floor tiles on the steps, dingy carpeting in the dining rooms, and overall - in need of a total make-over. Although I realize the setting is in Charlie Steen's historic home from the Golden Days of the uranium bonanza, surely the place deserves updating, especially the restrooms. Lighten it up a little, please? We are Moab locals and wish to support local businesses, but we won't be going back to the Sunset Grill. Thank goodness they finally repaved the long uphill driveway, which was an eyesore for many, many years, but why have what appear to be permanently parked storage trailers in the limited lower parking area, at the expense of valuable customer parking spaces?

I see from other not-so-stellar reviews here that the manager staunchly defends his restaurant and does not appear willing to accept constructive criticism from his customers. Our "special birthday dinner" was memorable for all the wrong reasons. It is just too bad that management does not realize that there is definitely room for improvement. They obviously cater to the tourists who are just passing through and are lured up the hill for the expansive views, not caring that they won't be back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emoab, Owner at Sunset Grill, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
The 30 foot trailer is a mobile kitchen used during the wildfire season. The Sunset Grill is a rapid response mobile wildfire kitchen. Usually within 24 hours we are on location in very remote areas preparing several hundred breakfasts & lunches all before 0600 followed by dinner at 20:00 hrs

Once the fire season is over it will be taken to a storage facility. The National Park Service has informed me that wildfires can occur during the winter months so be prepared. The trailer is on premise to meet the needs of the NFS, BLM, and Utah State lands. The trailer is usually in storage prior to Thanksgiving. http://www.sunsetgrillmoab.com/SunsetGrill_FireInfo.pdf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    125
    42
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Clairsville, OH
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Million Dollar View and Good Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was the second time my wife and I dined at the Sunset Grill. This time, the restaurant was a good deal less crowed and the service was (therefore) much better. Our server (Alisha) was very helpful and attentive. Our food was excellent and the wine perfectly complimented our entree. We will definitely dine at the Sunset Grill during our next stay in Moab. The view speaks for itself.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emoab, Owner at Sunset Grill, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thanks for the review.

Alishia does a wonderful job at the restaurant. She was once a NJ bartender who loves to give me a hard time since I'm her uncle. She also reads the reviews and makes me buy her a dinner whenever someone writes a glowing review of her service. She of course like Filet Mignon. and she thanks you very much :)


Thank you

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herriman, Utah, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

First time at the Sunset Grill. Great personal service and outstanding food. Best steak in town. Awesome view of the Moab valley and surrounding hills. Historic setting of one of the founders of the area and a well known industrialist in mining.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emoab, Owner at Sunset Grill, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hello Gary,

I see that you live in Utah and enjoy the Charlie Steen history. On a monthly bases we add more historical information about the Uranium Boom of the 50's.

I never thought of Charlie & M.L. Steen as being one of the founders of Moab. But that makes sense. Charlie's uranium discovery in the Mi Vida mine made world wide news. The town exploded to a population over 10,000 in a few years. Hundreds of miles of trails were created and now guest from all around the world come to enjoy Moab.

On a side note I will let the chef know you love his steak. All of our steaks are fresh and hand cut daily.

Next time in Moab poke your head in the kitchen and you should find me.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, OK food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

You only eat here for one thing - the view at sunset. Our food was OK but they didn't have our first choices (even though there was barely anybody in that evening) and it was more quantity than quality. The prices are very expensive for the standard of food served and if we returned to Moab, we would not go back to this restaurant. Friendly service but overpriced.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great view and good food, but the service was the worst I have ever had. Waitress Allison was condescending, insulting, and acted like it her her first night on the job. She didn't know what the corkage fee for wine was, forgot several plates that we had ordered, and was extremely slow. Probably the worst service I have ever had, I will definitely never go back to this place. The view is nice, but save your money and head to the Castle Creek Winery instead.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emoab, Owner at Sunset Grill, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hmmmm, something looks fishy? No Allison but lets blame Alisha!

Alisha's TripAdvisor reviews:

July 1, 2013 Inviting, easy, beautiful view, and excellent service. John, Alisha is superb! We had a wonderful time!

July 5th Our waitress Alisha was very good and very accurate and spot on with all her recommendations. The recommendation about the food and wine was excellent and very honest, so our expectations were met,

July 23, 2013 Alecia was an excellent waitress. Tables all have excellent views. Road up the hill is newly paved. Nice display of history of site

Aug 8th the view was great especially at sunset . Our waitress, Alisha was wonderful. Very attentive !


I spoke to Alisha who is my niece, she remembers charging one corkage fee to a table when she opened two bottles of wine. She also remembers giving a free birthday dessert to that table and received a 20% tip.

If you are upset because the parks were closed, the US Government is the responsible not Alisha

Til we meet again...

John Clayton
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.