We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and quiet atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Bistro

Desert Bistro
36 South 100 West, Moab, UT 84532-2457
+1 435-259-0756
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 71 Restaurants in Moab
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Southwestern, French, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Now located in the heart of downtown Moab. We've moved out of the Ranch House and into our own charming, turn of the century building. Our new location offers quaint indoor dining combined with a beautiful, private outdoor patio. Our goal, as always, is to provide fresh, high quality, innovative food with friendly and attentive service. We appreciate you taking the time to visit us while in Moab! Reservations, while not always necessary, are highly recommended to ensure we have a table for you. November Hours: Open Wednesday - Sunday nights, Closed Monday & Tuesday nights. Last night of 2014 season: Saturday, November 29, 2014. Closed December - February Reopening in early March 2015
Logan, Utah
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and quiet atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were lucky enough to have warm weather in April and could sit on the patio. We had a terrific fish special, along with appetizers. My friend enjoyed a margarita. We were so glad it was off Main Street, which was packed with a "Jeep Fiesta." The restaurant was quiet and uncrowded; I guess the jeepers prefer other kinds of restaurants. I would definitely return and recommend the restaurant to friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    90
    34
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
“Excellent food and unique setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been to the Desert Bistro three times now, and it has never failed to impress! Upon entering the restaurant, I was enamored by the subtle and calming desert decor- this set the tone for the meal. The Desert Bistro has a diverse wine selection at affordable prices as well as a great selection of cocktails. The staff was incredibly friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Moreover, the menu was seasonal, full of fresh ingredients combined creatively (and tastily), included appetizing options for vegetarians (demonstrating an understanding of the clientele), and excellent desserts (which I have ordered every time). I only wish that I lived closer so that I could go here more often!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our dining experience at the Desert Bistro. The staff was very informative on food and wine and thier service was excellent. The food was elegant. We had several courses including some wonderful desserts. I believe this is the best restraurant we tried in Moab.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Moab oasis of serenity and superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Moab, while surrounded by great beauty, is, sadly, yet another town of your typical tacky tourist shops. No thanks. However, dining options are good and the Desert Bistro is exceptional. Great service, peaceful surroundings, and wonderful food. Is it expensive? Yes. Do you get what you pay for? Yes. We tried several items the two nights we dined there: the fish special ($32), the elk tenderloin ($40), the vegetarian choice, the chocolate mousse cups for dessert, and all were superb and plentiful. The margaritas are also excellent, clean and crisp. No need to dress up, casual dress was fine. Be sure to make a reservation, and enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Expensive but tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The food was delicious and the servings were ample. The service was excellent. But the price, well you get what you pay for.....or shall we say you pay for what you get.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.