We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole

Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole
96 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2503
+1 435-259-6555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 56 Restaurants in Moab
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
McKinney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Our large family was seated quickly. Everyone loved their food! We'd recommend it and return if we lived anywhere close.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    611
    598
    243
    53
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg FL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lot's of options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were in Moab for a couple of days and ate at Zax twice. We liked that they offered something for everyone, from pizza (their specialty) to burgers, chicken and fish. We ordered burgers and chicken the first visit, with all food tasting very good, and went with the fish & chips and pizza/salad buffet the second visit. Lots of pizza selections and if you don't see what you're looking for they will make it for you.
Overall, good selection and above average taste from everything we ordered.
RV FYI: Zax offers a large overflow parking lot one block West which will accommodate RVs and travel trailers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great service, fresh delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had lunch here 3 days in a row (the kids requested it every day). 2 days we were served by Christopher who took excellent care of us (never an empty glass, great rapport with parent and kids) and the last day by Gary (who helped us parents choose new things off the menu - great salmon Caesar salad and hummus veggie wraps) who is excellent at all things and was kind and courteous to the kids too. Very kid friendly and fresh, delicious food for all.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

It is more difficult in Moab to find a restaurant for dinner than any other meal - there are lots of cafe open for breakfast and lunch but not dinner.

We arrived at Zax's to find lots of people waiting and was told 20 minutes unless we wanted to eat in the Tavern, which we didn't mind, so were seated straight away. I had a BBQ burger and my boyfriend had the all you can eat pizza buffet. The atmosphere and environment are great, the food was good. The service was a little slow but we weren't in a rush so it didn't matter.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I went to Zax because of all of the wonderful reviews it received on TripAdvisor. I couldnt agree more with the reviews it has gotten and would like to add another highly positive review. Zax has a great environment, wonderful food and is very resonably priced. Looking for a good meal, go here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole also viewed

 

Been to Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.